59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Soo much better than Kraft. I only used half the milk, and that worked well for us thickness wise. Great flavor, and so simple to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KillerTasteBuds December 29, 2009

Ooooh, thank you so much for posting this recipe! I am trying to avoid msg and I really missed ranch dressing. I have a taco soup recipe I have been avoiding since it calls for a packet of dressing mix and its not quite the same without it. This is very close if not identical to the real thing. Plus it is waaay cheaper. Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kalija November 29, 2009

Delicious! I wish I had read the reviews which cautioned to add milk a little bit at a time to achieve the consistency you want, as yes - 1 cup of milk makes it much too thin for my preferences. But the flavor is fantastic! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tobey_day September 28, 2009

Made this today for the first time, and will definetly keep it as on hand! Being that I can never leave anything 'as is', I added a dash of cayenne to the mix. Then, for the dressing I mixed 1 T. of mix, 1/2 c. sour cream, 1/2 c. kefir (kind of like a runny yogurt), 1 clove minced garlic, 1/2 T. lemon juice, 1/2 T. cider vinegar, 1/2 tsp. instant clear jel (to thicken it up). Turned out super! My kids thank you, thank, you, thank you for sharing! Me too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'-4-5 December 16, 2008

This is really just like the original. I used nonfat dry milk powder, half the amt of dill salt. Mixed it with some nonfat sour cream for a veggie dip! It's chilling right now & am excited to try it. Thank u for sharing this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS December 07, 2007

My son and I were craving some ranch dip, but found we didn't have enough Hidden Valley Ranch Mix left in the container (we buy it in a canister instead of packets). I found this recipe first and had everything on hand. I wish I could say we were blown away, but it just lacked a lot of flavor. Since we do have about 1/2 a teaspoon of HV mix left, I did a sniff test and felt the homemade mix was missing a distinct garlic scent that the HV has. I added some additional garlic powder, but there is still some flavor missing and I don't want to add any more for fear of overpowering the dip. The recipe I found on F.com after this one uses vegetable bouillon. That may be where we could increase the ranch flavor without making it taste like garlic dip. Thanks for sharing the recipe with us. It definitely has promise, and I think I'll just keep tweaking until we love it. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** April 18, 2015

Exactly what I was looking for. I use this in the 3 packet roast for the ranch packet of course

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dixie from Kansas December 07, 2014

This was OK...not one of my favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl May 14, 2014

Awful, I did a side-by-side with the real thing and this wasn't even close. Too much dill, not tart enough, the base flavor wasn't there either. I would like to recommend how to fix this but it's so far off I'm just throwing away the mix I made and look elsewhere. For all those 5 star reviews, I really believe one of two things is true; either reviewers just don't have taste buds or they didn't make it (obvious from some of the language they used). Good luck with this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vincef329_2199747 February 07, 2014

Made this as directed except for 2 small changes. I used dry nonfat milk instead of dry buttermilk since it's what I had on hand, and I omitted the salt since I'm on a low sodium diet. I then reconstituted with 1 cup of buttermilk and 1 cup of Greek yogurt (in place of mayo). It turned out great and only had a tiny fraction of the salt in the store bought stuff. My only complaint is that it turned out a little thin, so next time I will be experimenting with the consistency. Thanks for a fabulous recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kyhenderson06 August 06, 2013
Ranch Dressing and Seasoning Mix