Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ranch Dressing and Seasoning Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ranch Dressing and Seasoning Mix

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on October 19, 2010

      My daughter was just diagnosed with a milk allergy, but she LOVES ranch dressing (it is the only one she would eat). She enjoys salads, but won't eat them without dressing and it is impossible to find one that doesn't have milk and/or soy. This is the first one I tried and my family loves it. I omitted the buttermilk powder (obvious reasons) and mixed it with Veganaise and rice milk. I didn't follow any specific measurements, just had her taste it until it was the right amount, but she loves it and my anti-vegan husband thought it was delicious too! I did add a splash of lemon juice, to add that extra tang. You will note on all commercial dressings, that there is vinegar and/or lemon juice in them and some of you not happy with the flavor may find that adding an acid (vinegar/lemon juice) would put it over the top for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      Absolutely perfect! Don't be fooled by the ones that use crackers, or don't have buttermilk in the mix. You can tell by looking at this when you're done that it's the one you want. Warning: Add the milk a little at a time when making a dressing, till it's how you like it. It can be a little thin...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      They were out of dried buttermilk at my local Walmart, so I looked up the conversion from dried to liquid buttermilk and it's simple. All you need to do for this recipe in order to make one bottle of Ranch dressing is to shake up 1 cup each buttermilk and mayo in a mason jar with the same exact amount of spices that the recipe calls for. I used Hellmann's Light mayo and it worked out superbly. I cut the amount of salt to half a teaspoon as per some of the reviews. I don't like dill but in this recipe it makes the dressing spot on Hidden Valley Ranch and now I can say after many years of searching, my quest to find HV's ranch dressing is thankfully over!!! If you're on the fence with this recipe, try my suggestions, you won't be sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      This turned out almost exactly like the real stuff. I actually like it better than the real stuff because it is less salty. I use the powder for popcorn. Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      This has a happy ending!!!! When I prepared this recipe as a salad dressing according to the instructions, it tasted okay. Yes, I expected more of a bottled dressing flavor. It had a flavor that was pleasant, but I found it a little too salty and not very much like ranch dressing. Something was missing. At first, I just figured I would use the mix it as a dip or when the mix is called for in a recipe. However, after a little experimentation, I discovered the missing ingredient --- WHITE VINEGAR!!!!!!!!!! I added the 1 cup mayo, milk to the desired consistency and a generous dash of white vinegar (start with 1/2 tsp and add more as needed)... it made all the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Thanks for a great substitute for ranch dressing. I have just started a gluten free diet and was really missing ranch dressing for my salads and dipping veggies in. This was exactly what I was looking for and I had all the ingredients on hand. I mixed 1 tbsp into about 3/4 c of greek yogurt and it was wonderful. Thanks, Angela!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2011

      I tried to rate this without stars so I wouldn't mess up your 5 star rating, but it wouldn't let me...I used this recipe as a dip, mixing one tablespoon with 8oz of sour cream. I don't recommended it, it just doesn't have that twang. I tried adding more dill and more of the dry mix, still no twang. I'll rate it again when I make it as a dressing. Thanks for sharing, it was worth a shot. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      This blend came out damn near perfect for a match for Hidden Valley, my daughter and her bff ate a whole dip bowl then and only then did I tell them it wasn't their ranch... Awesome. And for those who are missing something.. try using a cup of sour cream instead of mayo I think you will be surprised. Thanks Angela for posting this awesome and money saving recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      This did not taste like Ranch to my or my family. I am still searching for a homemade version of the dry buttermilk version.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      Sorry to rain on the parade of rave reviews, but this just didn't "float my boat." I felt the flavoring wasn't quite there. It seemed too salty for me. That may have been the dry buttermilk rather than the salt, not sure. I did try adding some sour cream (about 1/2 cup) per the advice of others, but that really didn't do much except add a bit more tang and thickness. I'm on a quest for the best homemade ranch dressing, and this was the first try. I ended up throwing it out. I did keep the dry mix, and I may try adjustments to it in the future if other recipes fail. The good thing I will say about this is when mixed with mayo and milk it was quite thick. In fact, it was thicker than I like in dressing - just right for dip, however. Just an FYI - I tried another ranch recipe that called for cilantro or parsley and lime juice. So, if you want more tang, try adding some lime. Fresh cilantro would add flavor more than parsley, but I have found dried cilantro to be flavorless. I'm moving on to other recipes in my continued search for good homemade ranch dressing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Soo much better than Kraft. I only used half the milk, and that worked well for us thickness wise. Great flavor, and so simple to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Ooooh, thank you so much for posting this recipe! I am trying to avoid msg and I really missed ranch dressing. I have a taco soup recipe I have been avoiding since it calls for a packet of dressing mix and its not quite the same without it. This is very close if not identical to the real thing. Plus it is waaay cheaper. Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Delicious! I wish I had read the reviews which cautioned to add milk a little bit at a time to achieve the consistency you want, as yes - 1 cup of milk makes it much too thin for my preferences. But the flavor is fantastic! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Made this today for the first time, and will definetly keep it as on hand! Being that I can never leave anything 'as is', I added a dash of cayenne to the mix. Then, for the dressing I mixed 1 T. of mix, 1/2 c. sour cream, 1/2 c. kefir (kind of like a runny yogurt), 1 clove minced garlic, 1/2 T. lemon juice, 1/2 T. cider vinegar, 1/2 tsp. instant clear jel (to thicken it up). Turned out super! My kids thank you, thank, you, thank you for sharing! Me too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      This is really just like the original. I used nonfat dry milk powder, half the amt of dill salt. Mixed it with some nonfat sour cream for a veggie dip! It's chilling right now & am excited to try it. Thank u for sharing this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      Awful, I did a side-by-side with the real thing and this wasn't even close. Too much dill, not tart enough, the base flavor wasn't there either. I would like to recommend how to fix this but it's so far off I'm just throwing away the mix I made and look elsewhere. For all those 5 star reviews, I really believe one of two things is true; either reviewers just don't have taste buds or they didn't make it (obvious from some of the language they used). Good luck with this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2013

      Made this as directed except for 2 small changes. I used dry nonfat milk instead of dry buttermilk since it's what I had on hand, and I omitted the salt since I'm on a low sodium diet. I then reconstituted with 1 cup of buttermilk and 1 cup of Greek yogurt (in place of mayo). It turned out great and only had a tiny fraction of the salt in the store bought stuff. My only complaint is that it turned out a little thin, so next time I will be experimenting with the consistency. Thanks for a fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      You saved my day. I needed a packet of ranch dressing mix to make my taco soup and I did not have any. Made this recipe and I like it better than the packaged mix anyway!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      This is wonderful and tastes just like Ranch. Thank you!

      If you make it with greek yogurt and buttermilk, it's *super* lo-cal. I made it without salt because I watch my sodium. I can't believe I get to have something this delicious that is low sodium and lo cal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ranch Dressing and Seasoning Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 258.1
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    12%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 41.4 mg
    13%
    Sodium 2648.0 mg
    110%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 30.1 g
    120%
    Protein 21.8 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites