41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

yum! I added a little parmesan cheese to my dip & did half yogurt, half sour cream. It's yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SeriousMoms February 08, 2009

I loved this! I'm currently in the UK and ranch dip is something of a rarity (aka I've never seen it!) and I've been craving it for ages. I recently went to a potluck and it proved the perfect excuse to make this. It was truly delicious and very well recieved, even by people who've never tried ranch before :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wmk06 February 24, 2008

I added this to a few tablespoons of red wine vinegar and olive oil to make a paste for a chicken marinade. I was a little hesitant about the red color from the paprika, but the kick it added was wonderful. DH found this a little too spicey, so next time I'll cut back on the paprika. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IB Alumni July 24, 2007

THis recipe makes a great dip, but I didn't really care for it as a dressing. I thought there was too much paprika in it, which turned the mixture a little red-not something I'm used to seeing in Ranch dressing. I found it more appealing after adding some extra garlic, some dill, and a little more sugar, and mixing into sour cream, (like for a dip) and then thinning it out with some vinegar. (I checked the ingredient listing on a bottle of lite Ranch I had in the fridge which gave me some clues as to what was missing). After these adjustments, it was very good, although I'd still cut back on the paprika next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debidoo July 07, 2005

I have tried this many times as the dip for fresh veggies. I cut back quite a bit on the salt due to dietary restrictions and it still tastes great! Thanks for providing me with a healthier alternative to the store bought version.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Ontario March 13, 2005

This is fantastic! It is so very easy, yummy, and avoids all those icky preservatives. Thanks for the big time winner Karen....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender June 08, 2014

This is a keeper. Made a few adjustments added some onion powder and 1/2T dried dill weed. Even my husband gave it a thumbs up and suggested I use it as a season-all for meats and veggies! Better than the packaged mix! Thank you for making a long time favorite a homemade special!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ccrawfordrocks June 01, 2014

This mix smells wonderfully ranch! Per other reviewers, I skipped the paprika and instead added a tablespoon of dried dill. I do not miss the paprika at all. Then I gave it a brief spin in the blender to chop and incorporate the onion flakes better. I doubled the recipe.<br/><br/>I'll be using this mix today to make ranch breaded chicken tenderloins to tray freeze and bake up later.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Two Hearts April 15, 2014

This was edible but it didn't taste like ranch dip, to me... Paprika? I've never seen pink ranch dip, so that can't be right. And the chunks of onion flakes seemed odd to me, but perhaps at that point I was just concentrating too hard. I followed the written recipe & included dill weed like another reviewer suggested. Disclosure: instead of sour cream, I mixed the dry-mix into plain yogurt. (That's something I always do with store-bought packets of ranch mix.) I dunno. I'm gonna look around for other versions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
styxfire December 16, 2013

I have made both dressing and dip with this recipe exactly as written and it is very flavorful. I usually make it ahead of time as the flavor improves after about 24 hours. Wonderful!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheHouseCafe November 20, 2013
Ranch Dip and Dressing Mix