41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a fantastic recipe for ranch dressing. It's a snap to mix and gives a body several batches for future use. Great idea, Karen. Thanks bunches for posting. I sure don't need to buy commercial packets anymore. Laudee C.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee September 25, 2002

I made the mistake of thinking I had a packet in the pantry when I didn't. I had all these things on hand, so this was definitely easy and a money-saver. I didn't use this in a dip/dressing yet, but used in another recipe that called for the ranch packet. I will update later with the results. UPDATE: I've made dip with this several times and I am so excited that I found it! It is so much more economical than buying packets and is so easy since these are pantry staples for us. Will continue to use over & over!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bug August 06, 2009

Taste-tested and teen approved! Needed an extra dip for our Christmas munchie table and I remembered I had this saved. Whipped it up in no time. Teenage DD was the first to try and dubbed the dip "amazing". There you have it. P.S. I added the dill as suggested by other reviewers and only used 2 tsp of the paprika. Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jonesies December 25, 2008

I needed a version of ranch dressing mix that was vegan for another recipe-- store-bought mixes inevitably have dried buttermilk or other dairy. This was perfect! It made the other recipe taste great. After combining the spices, I poured all of this into my coffee grinder and whizzed it around until the mixture was a consistent powder. I didn't want the larger spices to settle unevenly while it was being stored. It filled a regular-sized spice jar I had just emptied, which will make it easier to keep around for future use.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyNomad February 23, 2013

It's me again!. I added Dillweed to it and that is great too (eagual amount to the salt sugar, pepper etc) This is an amazing recipe! I had all of the ingredients and it tastes way better than any store bought dip. My husband has a problem with the presevatives in the premade dips and mixes, he LOVES this one! I did not use the Paprika because that is one spice he does not like, but, it is still great! Thanks!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheri_mattson December 11, 2008

This made great mix for Ranch Roasted Potatoes. I didn't have any packets to use and figured there must be a recipe out there I could substitute. Well, I won't be buying any more packets! This recipe is awesome! Can't wait to try it as a dressing or dip mix. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover June 03, 2012

I did enjoy this but it really didn't taste like a classic ranch dressing to me. Good but I'll keep looking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Captain's Lady December 26, 2009

I made it with milk instead of buttermilk, and it was still great. Wonderful because it uses stuff I typically have in my pantry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel May 24, 2009

Made a spice bottle of this a few months ago and have made the dip several times. Get LOTS of compliments on the dip. Will never buy store bought ranch packets again. This saves money and tastes so much better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HungarianChef May 03, 2009

i couldn't get dried onion flakes or buttermilk where i am, so i used fresh (drained) grated onions and 1C full milk with 1T vinegar for the dressing (with 1 C mayo). turned out great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kangningchang April 18, 2009
Ranch Dip and Dressing Mix