17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved this salad. Seemed like a weird combination of ingredients but it really worked. I used poblano peppers instead of jalapenos and it made it nice and peppery without being too spicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise G. October 06, 2012

Our family just loved this salad, even my ranch hating husband! I used thai chili peppers because that is what i had on hand and real bacon bits instead of bacon and I used made from package buttermilk ranch dressing. It was goooood, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rokmelon February 26, 2009

Fantastic salad, just perfect for the hot summer days. I was very sparing with the jalapeno, used about six sliced ones, but chopped them up. Only change I used sliced black olives, I like them better than the chopped ones. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
True Texas June 11, 2007

This salad was different, but delicious! Like other reviewers, I cut way down on the dressing. I used real bacon bits since I didn't have any bacon and about 1/4 c. of minced onion because I didn't have green onions. I made it with 1 jalapeno, but next time would definitely use 2.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrystalB May 16, 2007

Great and easy salad! I doubled the batch and added 12 slices of turkey bacon, 3 large cloves of garlic (pressed), 3 jalapenos with 2 of them seeds and ribs removed and 1 cup of ranch dressing. I took this to our staff BBQ and, out of the 10 salads there, this was 1 of 2 where the bowls were empty by the end of lunch! Tried and true this is! Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickoholic83 May 14, 2007

This was quick and great! I took this to a school BBQ and it all disappeared. I made this as written, but lightened up the amount of dressing. I will make this often for cookouts this summer! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shadowlady May 08, 2007

Lovely salad. I thought it needed all 2 jalapenos but only 1/2 cup ranch dressing. The bacon I only added just before serving, so it retained the lovely crispynes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare April 30, 2007

Mmmm...DH and I loved this fresh salad...and I love how fresh tasting it was considering that in the middle of the winter we are usually stuck with potatoes and etc. I used about 1/2 cup ranch and felt it was plenty as I didn't want to overshadow the other ingredients. I chilled for just 30 minutes and plan on making this when summer rolls around for all of our outdoor dinners!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend January 16, 2007

i liked this a whole lot. love corn, ranch, chesse, and olives. the only thing i would do differently is reduce garlic and green onion, love both but it is a bit overpowering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashwee October 08, 2006

This salad is awesome, we all loved it, even very picky DS. I made it as written. I took Marie's advice of adding the dressing a little at a time and used about 3/4 C. I added 1/2 of a Jalapeno (we are shy) next time I will add the whole thing and use sliced olives instead of chopped. I will be making this often for sure! Thanks LorenLou for a 5 star winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JT'sMom August 20, 2006
Ranch Corn Salad