205 Reviews

I can't get over how easy and totally delicious these chicken thighs were. Dipping the thighs in the Ranch dressing is genius. The coating was very nice too. Gave them a little crunch. Thanks Kelly. A new enthusiastic family fav. UPDATE: Sorry, I forgot the stars. So here it is again--same review but with stars. ;)

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerri822 July 18, 2003

I scaled this recipe to feed 10 , I left the skin on. This recipe was perfect. I have very picky eaters and one that doesn't like meat. They all ate it , loved it and called it heaven on a plate.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeautifulHouseLife September 08, 2011

Kelly, this is a great way to cook chicken thighs. I used boneless, skinless thighs. The coating was crunchy and adhered well. The chicken meat was very moist and tender. Kudos for the idea of dipping in ranch dressing. It adds a lot to the flavor and moistness. More than satisfied my family of six. Thanks!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' May 14, 2003

Absolutely delicious! I took the suggestions of a couple of reviewers and used Panko bread crumbs and added about a teaspoon of Smoked Paprika - Excellent! Flavor was fantastic! I added a little salt later as I like it as a flavor booster and my honeybunny doesn't so if you feel it needs a little boost you can try that. I thought it was a wonderful recipe, thanks for sharing!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babychops February 14, 2012

I don't know about the one person who didn't like this... I think it's great. I've made it with the skin off, bone in & boneless skinless and i've done it with breasts.. (advise cutting them in half) I've done it with blue chhese, with ranch & with chunky garlic ceasar.. I think I added extra seasonong, because I am so used to breading & baking that I just always add paprika & cracked black pepper. Don't shoot the poster if you like things spicier, just add more spice. It's a good recipe. One less dish than the flour egg & crumb as the dressing is the first 2 steps. Thank-you Kiwi...Oh, right, you're from Kentucky, not New Zealand ...thanks KeyWee. Good dish..delish!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQ222 October 22, 2008

Sorry it took so long to review. I've made this with skin on and off and delicious both ways. I only have unflavored plain bread crumbs on hand, so I usually use some Lawry's seasoning salt and black pepper in the crumb mixture. Thanks so much for posting this almost 10 years ago :) I absolutely love this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Unknown Chef6 July 15, 2012

I took a package of boneless skinless chicken thighs out for dinner, then wondered what to do with them. I found this recipe and I really liked the fact that I had all the ingredients on hand. DH liked it, and the coating was just crunchy enough but not too crunchy, and the chicken was moist.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joelle2:13 November 08, 2010

This was so good, and so easy! The only thing that I did different was use panko crumbs. The meat was moist on the inside, and very crispy on the outside. I used boneless skinless thighs. This is going to go into my 'make often' file! Thank you for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MailbagMary October 25, 2009

We loved this recipe! Left the skin on for Hubby who likes crispy things. This skin came out very crispy. I didn't have any ranch but used homemade blue cheese. The chicken was moist and flavorful. I did adjust some of the seasonings, only because I mistakenly put in 1 TB of Italian Seasoning by mistake. I usually use more seasoning in the breading because the seasonings tend to get "lost" in the bread crumbs. Or another way to add more flavor is to simply put a rub of the seasonings on the chicken first, dredge in dressing, and then in the seasoned bread crumbs Great recipe! Yum is all I need to say!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patbedfordrealestate December 19, 2013

Thank you for sharing this simple, quick and delicious recipe. I made my own ranch and it was very thick and I found that I should have doubled both the crumb mixture and the dressing. I used potato chips for the crumbs and my own blend of herbs for the seasoning (oregano, basil and garlic). The leftover chicken reheats well and makes an amazing sandwich.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*****Sandy November 11, 2013
Ranch Chicken Thighs