17 Reviews

I was very disappointed with this recipe. The fish sauce was just too overwhelming, and the glaze was just too watery and didn't stick to the chicken. I smothered the chicken with hot sauce just so I could eat it and it wouldn't go to waste. My daughter didn't care for it either. Better luck next time Gordon. This recipe won't be staying in my recipe file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle J. November 23, 2015

This recipe was a hit with my family. They loved the flavor of the chicken. I had some liquid still in the bottom of the pan but most of the chicken browned nicely. Would post a photo, but can't get it to load from my phone. Thank you for posting. Made for ZWT9

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 August 25, 2013

I made this today. Sorry to say, no offense, Chef Ramsay... but the glaze does not stick. I even tried grilling the legs while basting constantly. The flavor is really good, but the recipe needs some tweeks. I think next time I will try my friends idea of either doing a slurry to add to it, or reducing it futher. Thanks for a flavorful dish, but it was just a bit off for me. (Made for ZWT9)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 August 24, 2013

As a previous reviewer posted, the glaze was watery and did not stick to the chicken at all. I wouldn't call it a glaze. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The taste was fantastic, though! There was to be a better way to prepare this, perhaps boil down the glaze to reduce the volume so it is more thick and sticky before applying it to the chicken? I will experiment with this, Make for Pink Panthers on the Prowl for ZWT9.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Berteig August 21, 2013

Tasted just ok as written. I think there was a little too much fish sauce for my taste. BUT, after jazzing up the glaze/sauce in the bottom of the pan - 5 stars! When the chicken was done, I poured all the glaze/sauce into a pan and brought it to a simmer. Then added about 4 tablespoons of Hoison sauce, a splash of rice vinegar, a pinch of red pepper flakes, and a pinch or two of ginger. Let it simmer and reduce to coat a spoon then poured back over chicken. Sooo yummy! Balanced everything out really nicely! First try - wouldn't make again. Jazzed up - a definate keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
XxCaShYxX February 21, 2013

Gave my review above. Forgot to put the stars. Made this before. It is very delicious! By the way, Gordon Elliott is the show's producer. Gordon Ramsay is the chef from "Hell's Kitchen".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
retiree09 December 09, 2012

These drumsticks were very tasty. The glaze flavor was wonderful. For some reason, my glaze would not stick to the chicken legs, it was too liquid-y and all rested at the bottom of my pan. I did keep basting the legs with it so I did get the flavor. Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT8 Family Picks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood September 03, 2012

Just loved this glaze which I used on full chicken wings and wished I had thawed out more wings then just the two. I followed this as written and wouldn't change a thing. I was worried that it might be too sweet for the me and wasn't sure how well all the ingredients would meld. But I think this is a new favorite for me. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 August 23, 2012

We loved the flavor and it couldn't have been more simple to prepare. I'll definitely make this again. Made for ZWT 8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan August 18, 2012

Reviewed for ZWT8 tour to Britain. My family all enjoyed these baked drummies and the baste/glaze was easy to make. I would recommend using a baking dish with a glld surface for when it comes to cleaning. I used gluten-free soy sauce and fish sauce to make this dish suitable for the gluten-free diet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** August 17, 2012
Ramsay's Sticky Chicken Drumsticks