43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Had this salad at a party this summer and loved it, but the hostess said "I don't like to give out my recipes. So many people are not as well trained in culinary arts as I am!". Well, I got the recipe anyway and this is better than hers! She didn't use any sunflower seeds! Thank you for sharing your recipe! Followed your recipe exactly! Mickie

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickie49 September 05, 2004

Thank You very much for a nice salad recipe! Its been a hit at every social gathering this summer! Its a good twist on a cold salad. Stick to the Oriental flavor Ramen Noodles it is perfect, I cant see another flavor going well with this recipe. Also, let it sit at least an hour before consumption, but no longer than three days. After three days the ramen noodles and cabbage become soggy. Things I did differently: I added broccoli & green onions. I substituted the sunflower seeds for sliced almonds (mmmm!). I also used 2 packets of ramen noodles per 14oz bag of cabbage. I think everyone should skip the sugar and use the 6 packets of splenda like mentioned. I also added fresh ground peppercorns into the salad.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rand0mH3r0 July 07, 2010

This was delicious!! I made this for our Christmas Eve party and it was so good! This is such an affordable, easy, tasty recipe ( few and far between!). My only changes were I added a little more sugar and more vinegar only because I like strong dressings. Thanks for a recipe I will make again and again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberri_Skies December 25, 2008

Terrific salad! The second time around I toasted the ramen noodles, sesame seeds and added slivered almonds (toasting was key to the taste). I used soy sauce and olive oil, sugar and seasoning in the ramen noodles. Halfway through the BBQ there was nothing left and my guests requested your recipe! Thanks for posting this!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clever_Little_Witch April 14, 2008

I don't feel right rating this recipe because I have been making it for a long time. Only difference is that I use white vinegar and add salt and pepper. On occasion I have subbed toasted, sliced almonds or pine nuts and it is still really good. It is a wonderful recipe and a family favorite in our house. Took it to a potluck recently and it was gone very quickly. It is even good left over except the noodles are not crunchy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GailS2 October 17, 2003

This is delicious. I'd like to experiment stuffing and baking this inside egg roll wrappers (after refrigerating a day or two).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonnyHavens March 28, 2015

Make this often for potlucks. Make it as written except I substitute balsamic vinegar as it's my favorite. Great, simple recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommaof2Beauties November 11, 2014

This was very good. I doubled the recipe & used chicken ramen (not my favorite flavor but what I had in the pantry). Also, using rice wine vinegar I only made dressing for 1 recipe's worth & it was plenty to cover the salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coraniaid October 21, 2014

Honestly, I didn't have high expectations before making this salad. After making it, I have to say that my expectations were greatly exceeded! This recipe was totally a surprise! I did make a few changes as follows: 1. I used sesame oil and olive oil; 2. Only added 1 tablespoon granulated sugar; 3. Toasted sunflower seeds, silvered almonds, and white sesame seeds; 4. I only had chicken flavor Ramen, so that's what I used. The result was great! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen April 09, 2014

made this the first time for mother's day. I used both sunflower seeds and sliced almonds. I also used a combo of oils including sesame and olive oils and added soy sauce to dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kannEvore August 04, 2013
Ramen Noodle Salad