10 Reviews

I really loved this breakfast treat! The almonds I thought I had were actually pecans so I used those, and used regular (not quick cooking) oatmeal. The raisins and spices were a perfect match to the nutty quinoa. I served with a little low-fat milk and enjoyed every bite - thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof May 25, 2010

This is an excellent breakfast. I used the quick oats ask for but for mu own preference I would prefer the old fashioned type. I just have quinoa flakes and they worked just fine. The raisins ans a bit of (no sugar added) maple syrup were great additions. Start to finish, using the flakes, was about 6 mins! Thanks Kat for another yummy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia May 20, 2010

A terrific way to introduce quinoa to the family! I use old fashioned oats and a little less sugar, maybe half---the raisins add quite a bit of sweetness on their own (I figure I can always sweeten a bit more later, if needed). And the spices are great! I also tried stevia this morning to cut out the added sugar all together, worked fine for me. I have used milk and coconut milk on this--both are yummy. My picky 2 year old daughter will eat this just like she eats her oatmeal. This will be in regular rotation for our breakfast routine. Can't wait to try with other dried fruits--cranberries, blueberries, chopped apricots--I'm sure it'll be great! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eat_local March 21, 2013

Great food and a "Complete" Protein! Also has LYSINE which I take for fever blisters and is also included in the lip treatment "Abreva"! What a great and [Natural] way to feed your body LYSINE! The only thing I would do would be to use Brown Sugar and no yogurt or etc. at the end. (I used maple syrup)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
All About Chocolate February 12, 2012

YUM! Warming and comforting on a chilly morning. And filling, too. I added some craisins, too, just because I like them, and used some toasted almond butter instead of the almonds (forgot to buy some!), but I think it hit the intended taste. Thanks for posting another quinoa gem :)
Made for Healthy Hearts Find The Tags / Diabetes Forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany February 06, 2012

Great cereal! We loved the combo of quinoa and oats, as well as all of the spices. I used the milk option. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews February 21, 2011

Delicious . I just used quinoa adjusting the proportion, dark Sunmaid raisins, allspice in place of nutmeg as we do not consume intoxicants, dark brown sugar, homemade almond milk to go on top, plus the other required ingredients. Made for Veggie Swap 30 ~ January 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat January 15, 2011

Healthy and hearty breakfast treat! Red quinoa replaced brown for a color boost. Currants for raisins and they were also garnished on top and not stirred into the cereal. The nutmeg was sprinkled on top of the cooked cereal. Served with half and half, Nancy's yogurt and demerara sugar. ~Tasty Dish~ approved! Reviewed for Veg Tag January.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 08, 2011

Very good! I've been looking for a way to make quinoa so that I like it and this is the first recipe I can say I liked. It still wasn't my favorite thing but it gave a nice nuttiness and crunch to this hot cereal. I followed the recipe exactly but used red quinoa and had to cook it a little longer. I used the brown sugar and cream options. Made for the Please Review tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed December 13, 2010

This was a great breakfast...very filling. I did toast the quinoa while I was toasting the almonds. It was just a bit too sweet for me so I think I will try reducing brown sugar down to 1 tablespoon next time. Oh, and I used the milk option. Thanks for the recipe. Made for Sweet Traditions tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms May 31, 2010
Raisin Spice Hot Cereal With Quinoa