Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Raisin Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Raisin Scones

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2002

      Inez, thanks for this great recipe. Took it camping and it was a big hit at breakfast time. It was easy and quick to put together, and the results were wonderful, tasty, scones....served with butter and honey. Thanks for this one. We didn't have any leftovers, so I will make them again to test on freezing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      These are a delightful treat on a cold afternoon with a steaming cup of tea. I made as indicated except for the nutmeg which I replaced with cinnamon and a liberal sprinkling of allspice. I cut mine into 8 wedges. They browned up beautifully. Will make again, Thx.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Very nice scone recipe.I was out of buttermilk,so used part milk and part sour cream.Brushed top with milk and sprinkled with cinn. sugar.I leave dough slightly sticky and just pat out onto parchment paper.This makes for a nice moist tender scone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      These were delicious. A little crumbly, but I'm certainly going to make them again! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      Made these scones for Easter. The plate was empty before long and everyone agreed that they were "the best".There will be a repeat before to long. I look forward to serving these to overnight guests. Thanks for this great recipe which is so easy to prepare and still has the best of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      Mmmmmm,smack,smack,that's the sound my lips are making as I consume these fantastic scones! So nice,I'm not even looking for my hot cross buns this year (which I love to have every spring), these scones are hitting the spot. For the flour I used half whole wheat and half whole spelt, and I added 1 tsp dried orange peel in with the nutmeg. Soaked the raisins in hot water. My scones baked for 30 minutes in total before done through. Beautifully moist and rich and satisfying. Thanks for posting,MissNezz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      I made DH make these this morning and I am happy I did. They are wonderful! Moist, light, sweet but not too sweet. So good. He will be making these ALOT. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      delicious!!! my 7-year-old daughter wanted to make "stones" (and i was lol at her totally innocent mistake) like her stepmom does sometimes. i boiled the raisins in water for 5 minutes first, used dairy-free margarine (my daughter is dairy allergic)instead of butter, and instead of buttermilk, i used soy milk with a tbsp. of vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2006

      Delicious, just delicious, we really enjoyed these rasin scones. I didn't have any nutmeg so I added mace instead. They turned out beautifully, light, and crisp, fluffy and flavourful. Very easy to make with very quick results. I am happy that I choose this recipe for my husband work treat. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      These are really nice and moist. We had a lovely time eating them this morning. I didn't have buttermilk so made same quantity mix of sour cream, milk and yogurt and put 1/8 t nutmeg, 1/4 each of allspice and cinnamon and 4T butter margarine. Very nice and light. Will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2005

      Really lovely scones with great texture and flavor. I didn't do the egg-white glaze because I was out of eggs (one reason I chose this recipe), but instead, just did brushed them with a little water with a little vanilla extract added and then sprinkled brown sugar over. I used whole wheat pastry flour for these, and used brown sugar. We plumped the raisins in a bit of Chambord (black raspberry liquor) which gave them a really nice flavor. We don't like nutmeg, so I used cinnamon and a pinch of cloves instead. The dough was a little sticky- I think my butter was a little too soft. I refrigerated it for a bit and then added a little more flour as I kneaded. They cooked up just beautifully and made a lovely breakfast. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2005

      I don't bake very much but I had a craving for a nice raisin scone and I am very happy that I chose your recipe MizzNezz - It is simple to make and tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Raisin Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (63 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.3
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    37%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 20.9 mg
    6%
    Sodium 286.7 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes