51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These muffins are super tasty! I subbed oat bran, because that's what I had, and turned up 1/2 a cup short, so I threw in some rolled oats. I liked the texture and flavor the oats gave to the muffins. I subbed whole wheat flour, used about half the molasses that was called for, and used a mashed banana for most of the oil. Oh, and I went with blueberries... BF ate all the raisins. =) Yum! Might add some nuts next time...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nevdiliel January 19, 2011

Great healthy muffins, recipe is a true gem. I used a mashed banana and added enough oil to equal 1/2 cup. Reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 C. Also added chopped pecans along with golden raisins and a touch of ground flax seed. These baked up nice and high, moist and delicious. Just what I was looking for after all the indulgent holiday baked goods! A perfect start to my morning and the New Year! Thanks for posting, Lennie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karencooks January 04, 2011

The absolute best!!! I wanted a muffin that didn't taste like a cupcake, and this one fit the bill and then some -- especially after I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and substituted whole wheat flour for white. Also, when I'm out of milk I use either yogurt, apple juice or orange juice, depending on what's on hand. I make these frequently and they're never the same since I'm always adding more than raisins -- and definitely more than a cup full. Last night's version included chopped walnuts, raisins, cranberries and bananas. I've also added fresh blackberries, blueberries and raspberries. In addition to always having the ingredients on hand, I also love these because they can carry me from breakfast to lunch -- plus they're a good after-workout snack. Yummy with peanut butter, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
feistychef105 November 12, 2010

Awesome, awesome, awesome!!! These taste like the kind my dad used to bring home from the bakery on the weekends. They were moist and great. These will def become a usual for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moe13a November 01, 2010

My 1 wish is to be able to give these muffins 10 stars they are that good thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Laurachingo August 07, 2010

The quintessential bran muffin. "Moist and I liked the crunchy-nutty flavor of the bran. Makes me want more" says the BF who requested bran muffins. Following others' lead I cut down on sugar, used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil and 1/2 whole wheat flour- didn't think they were "too healthy" tasting with those substitutions. Was low on raisins, so I also added a finely chopped apple which was yum, though next time I think I would go with all raisins. Can't think of any complaints about these- baked for 21 min and perfectly moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
junkmmwnomad March 24, 2010

Excellent! I doubled and made the following changes. Applesauce instead of oil and whole wheat flour instead of all purpose and used fresh blueberries. Those three changes dropped the fat by 10X and dropped the calories by 120 per muffin (Using the sparkpeople recipe calculator). Easy, quick, and very tasty. I will make often and change the fruit. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diamond Dave February 17, 2010

Very good recipe. I find bran muffins usually get really dry but these are nice and moist even the next day. YUM Thanks for the recipe. Can't wait to try with blueberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clmacc February 03, 2010

I liked the texture and the moisture of these muffins but found the molasses to be too strong of a flavor. I am going to try them again but cut the molasses out. I used Sugar Twin brown sugar to cut down on the calorie count and oat bran instead of wheat bran, only because that's what I had in the cupboard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy Gould September 28, 2009

I used whole wheat flour, cut the canola oil to 1/4 cup (adding 1/4 cup yogurt instead) and cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. Despite these changes, they were delicious. Soaking the bran makes them nice and tender

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny July 08, 2009
Raisin Bran Muffins That Work