Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Raisin Bran Muffins That Work Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Raisin Bran Muffins That Work

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2009

      This muffin recipe is moist and not dry like most bran muffins. It is a great idea to let the wheat bran soak in the wet ingredients for a time, I think this is the key to moist bran muffins. The recipe is just a bit too sweet, however. The next time I make it I will reduce the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. I tried this recipe with blueberries. Wowee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      These were really good. I made a few minor changes. I used oat bran instead of wheat, used honey instead of molasses because I didn't have molasses. I added ground flax meal and cut the oil down to 1/4 cup. Also used fat free milk and added cinnamon. Instead of raisins I used dates. Really good recipe, the texture came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      Was not happy with the flavor, maybe slightly overbaked so not too moist

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      These rose beautifully, the muffins looked (and smelled) fantastic coming out of the oven. They are very good fresh and remain tasty and moist the next day. I popped them in the freezer and they warm up great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Thank you! I've been looking for a bran muffin that comes out as good as the ones I get at the coffee shop. THIS is IT!!! Very excited Got beautiful puffed tops. TIP: Sprinkle a little turbinado sugar on top for a pretty glisten (This is what I used instead of brown sugar anyway.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      I just finished making these muffins. I'm a BIG fan of bran muffins and these ae delicious!! They came out of the oven full, moist and perfect! Thanks Lennie, for a great breakfast treat!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      Wow! These are great. I substituted 2 cups of RAISIN BRAN cereal for the wheat bran and raisins. I also used a quarter cup of oil plus a quarter cup of plain applesauce. Moist, dense and delicious! A definite keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      Very nice recipe. I've made it 4 or 5 times now, and it's been very yummy each time. I've substituted chocolate chips and chopped frozen fruit with great success as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

    • on February 19, 2008

      These are SO GOOD. I agree, bran muffins are usually dry, and my mum reckoned you were right about soaking them being the difference. I used blueberries instead of raisins - these are going to get made again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Cut the sugar from 3/4 cup to 1/3 cup and still a little sweet. Next time I will use 1/4 cup brown sugar. Added 1/2 cup chopped fresh pinapple, 1/2 cup golden raisins, and 1/2 cup date pieces for the raisins. Dates probably added to the sweetness, but these muffins are moist. I also used 2 cups wheat bran and 1 cup of all purpose flower and they came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      I never thought I would like raisin bran muffins, but these are fantastic. Not sticky or dense at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      These were good. Very tender and moist and they rise very high. They were a little too sweet for me though. I think next time I'll try them with half honey and half molasses and cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup. I also think they'd be good with walnuts in place of half the raisins. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      I've been looking for a recipe close to Coco's Honey bran muffins and this was the best one Ive seen. I reduced the flour to 3/4 cup and did the rest in wheat bran.Then I did half molasses half honey and took out the brown sugar and to give it a chewy shell drizzeled honey half way through baking. I love how moist they are! These were excellent. Love these with raisins and crushed pinapple. Thanks for posting. Will make often !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      I added dates and these were very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2006

      Wonderful! Very tender and light. I used frozen blueberries and baked in greased muffin pans. Makes 12 very large muffins. Thanks, Lennie, for a super recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      These are absolutely the best bran muffins I have ever had. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      These do work. Absolutely wonderful! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      As I don't like raisins, I asked my wife to make these with blueberries. WOW!!! THESE ARE AWESOME!!! Admittedly, I do like the taste of bran, so the combination of the bran and the blueberries were fantastic. Thank you for this recipe... it will go in my favorites group.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      These were very good. I didn't have any dried fruit so I substituted some walnuts and a handful of choc chips. Very easy to make & enjoyed by all the family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Raisin Bran Muffins That Work

    Serving Size: 1 (1139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.9
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    33%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 32.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 287.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 25.5 g
    102%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes