Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Raisin Bran Muffins That Work Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Raisin Bran Muffins That Work

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2004

      Very moist and delicious. DH said this is a definite five star and if you only had used golden raisins they would be a ten. They are very moist and extremely tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      WOW! This recipe is outstanding! I'm a baker in a family-run bakery, and these blow the bran muffins we make out of the water! I will be sharing this recipe with my employer, for sure. I didn't have any raisins on hand at home, so I added the zest of one orange, along with a big handful of frozen cranberries. I'm very impressed, thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      Best muffin recipe EVER! Used Whole wheat flour so I added 1/4 cup of milk extra. 1/2 cup of brown sugar is plenty. Also added 1 cup of frozen cranberries with 1 cup of raisins. Do not overbake, watch them carefully.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Delicious... I used whole milk, maple syrup, olive oil and 3 tsp baking powder, 1 tbs cinnamon ... I mixed half of the batter with melted chocolate... it is soft, healthy and easy to make...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      Yummy! I accidentally forgot mine in the oven, baking them for 25 minutes instead of 20, and they were still very moist. One trick when baking raisin muffins-soak your raisins in hot water for 30 minutes in advance, and they will plump up and get very moist.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2014

      Turned out great. Had one fresh from the oven so good, Wasn't sure if it meant wheat bran or cereal but used bran. Added dates instead of raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      I have made these weekly now for a long time. They are delicious and my idea of the perfect bran muffin! Light and sweet! They are also very easy to make and they really do freeze well! Lennie,thanks for the recipe! You are one of my favorite posters!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2013

      I love this recipe. It makes the most moist, flavourful bran muffins I have ever tasted! I make it exactly as listed - no changes needed! i always double the recipe and throw the extras in the freezer. Then I grab one whenever I need it, pop it in the microwave for 30-45 seconds, and voila! Breakfast is served!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      These are beautiful. No butter required for reheating. Fast and easy to put together. Wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      Yup, the best bran muffin recipe I've tried so far! Didn't change the recipe at all so for folks looking here to see if any tweaks need to be made, I'd say no! Right out of the oven these taste fantastic. mAAybe a tad on the sweet side, I can really taste the molasses but it gives it such a great flavour. Excellent, thanks for sharing this Lennie! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      These muffins are super tasty! I subbed oat bran, because that's what I had, and turned up 1/2 a cup short, so I threw in some rolled oats. I liked the texture and flavor the oats gave to the muffins. I subbed whole wheat flour, used about half the molasses that was called for, and used a mashed banana for most of the oil. Oh, and I went with blueberries... BF ate all the raisins. =) Yum! Might add some nuts next time...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      Great healthy muffins, recipe is a true gem. I used a mashed banana and added enough oil to equal 1/2 cup. Reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 C. Also added chopped pecans along with golden raisins and a touch of ground flax seed. These baked up nice and high, moist and delicious. Just what I was looking for after all the indulgent holiday baked goods! A perfect start to my morning and the New Year! Thanks for posting, Lennie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      The absolute best!!! I wanted a muffin that didn't taste like a cupcake, and this one fit the bill and then some -- especially after I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and substituted whole wheat flour for white. Also, when I'm out of milk I use either yogurt, apple juice or orange juice, depending on what's on hand. I make these frequently and they're never the same since I'm always adding more than raisins -- and definitely more than a cup full. Last night's version included chopped walnuts, raisins, cranberries and bananas. I've also added fresh blackberries, blueberries and raspberries. In addition to always having the ingredients on hand, I also love these because they can carry me from breakfast to lunch -- plus they're a good after-workout snack. Yummy with peanut butter, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      Awesome, awesome, awesome!!! These taste like the kind my dad used to bring home from the bakery on the weekends. They were moist and great. These will def become a usual for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      My 1 wish is to be able to give these muffins 10 stars they are that good thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      The quintessential bran muffin. "Moist and I liked the crunchy-nutty flavor of the bran. Makes me want more" says the BF who requested bran muffins. Following others' lead I cut down on sugar, used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil and 1/2 whole wheat flour- didn't think they were "too healthy" tasting with those substitutions. Was low on raisins, so I also added a finely chopped apple which was yum, though next time I think I would go with all raisins. Can't think of any complaints about these- baked for 21 min and perfectly moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Excellent! I doubled and made the following changes. Applesauce instead of oil and whole wheat flour instead of all purpose and used fresh blueberries. Those three changes dropped the fat by 10X and dropped the calories by 120 per muffin (Using the sparkpeople recipe calculator). Easy, quick, and very tasty. I will make often and change the fruit. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Very good recipe. I find bran muffins usually get really dry but these are nice and moist even the next day. YUM Thanks for the recipe. Can't wait to try with blueberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      I liked the texture and the moisture of these muffins but found the molasses to be too strong of a flavor. I am going to try them again but cut the molasses out. I used Sugar Twin brown sugar to cut down on the calorie count and oat bran instead of wheat bran, only because that's what I had in the cupboard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      I used whole wheat flour, cut the canola oil to 1/4 cup (adding 1/4 cup yogurt instead) and cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. Despite these changes, they were delicious. Soaking the bran makes them nice and tender

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Raisin Bran Muffins That Work

    Serving Size: 1 (1139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.9
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    33%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 32.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 287.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 25.5 g
    102%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites