37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was VERY pleased with this delicious cake. It was well worth the effort for my son's first birthday party- I made a double batch and there was enough for a bunny shaped cake, a personal-sized cake for my son, and one and a half dozen cupcakes. The bunny cake took an extra long time to bake through (almost an hour!), but I think that was because it was fairly large, and I filled it a bit too much. I used a buttercream frosting on the small cake and cupcakes, and a lemon glaze from Lemon Glaze Cake. The lemon-glazed cake was the star! I am trying to hold back and not eat all the leftovers by myself (there are only leftovers because I made so much cake).

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pheebess April 13, 2011

This cake turned out perfect. I made it for a birthday and iced with buttercream icing. It was so moist. Color was very slightly golden color. I baked this in a 9 x 13 glass cake pan so I dcreased the temperature 25 degrees and increased bake time from 35 min to 53 min. This recipe you wont be disappointed.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpop2013 May 15, 2013

Excellent cake! I upped the butter to 2 sticks of smart balance 50/50. And substituted whole milk with 1 1/2 Tablespoons of lemon juice. And I used Swan Cake Flour and so I used 3 cups. I was told that it was the best cake anyone had ever had.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RaisingKang December 31, 2009

This is without question the most complicated cake I've made, but it was well worth the effort! Absolutely delicious. Super moist and full in the pan. Thanks for posting this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a_happy_goddess August 27, 2009

I have neglected to review this recipe but it deserves a late but great review. I have been using this recipe for years now, every time someone asks me to make a vanilla birthday cake (I am a decorator at a bakery and make cakes on the side for extra money). I too add a little extra butter (2 sticks for a single batch) but follow the recipe to a "T". I love, love, love it!!! Thanks Zusie-Q for a great cake.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcnultyfamily5 January 14, 2009

I agree - best yellow cake ever. I made this for my husband's birthday yesterday. I followed the recipe exactly. It came out moist and delicious. My husband said it was the best yellow cake he has ever had.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theproegers February 02, 2013

I also used 2 sticks of butter based on other reviews. The batter was so yummy, and it was good when served, but the cake was completely dry the next day, even after being covered.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candace Michelle April 05, 2010

Wahoo! FINALLY a yellow cake recipe that's as good as a bakery's!! I baked two 9" layers for about 31 minutes, and they were just perfect. I used sticks of 50/50 butter/substitue blend in place of whole butter, an eighth cup less sugar, and 2 1/2 cups sifted cake flour instead of all-purpose. Result was a light but richly textured and full-flavored cake. Pretty sweet, so I used a dark chocolate (homemade) frosting - mmmmm recommend:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpants December 16, 2009

Great cake recipe! Delicious, good rich taste even without frosting. Still tastes great after freezing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sazz September 14, 2009

Just pulled these out of the oven, and they are very tasty even unfrosted and have a lovely texture. I usually look for lower calorie baked goods, but I was pleasantly surprised that a half recipe produced 15 good sized cupcakes, i.e.puffed up well above the top of the paper liner/muffin tin. The portion sizes listed in the recipe are generous. I think I may add berries next time and make unfrosted cupcakes for picnics.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZoeB June 09, 2009
Rainy Day Yellow Cake