Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rainy Day Yellow Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rainy Day Yellow Cake

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on April 13, 2011

      I was VERY pleased with this delicious cake. It was well worth the effort for my son's first birthday party- I made a double batch and there was enough for a bunny shaped cake, a personal-sized cake for my son, and one and a half dozen cupcakes. The bunny cake took an extra long time to bake through (almost an hour!), but I think that was because it was fairly large, and I filled it a bit too much. I used a buttercream frosting on the small cake and cupcakes, and a lemon glaze from Lemon Glaze Cake. The lemon-glazed cake was the star! I am trying to hold back and not eat all the leftovers by myself (there are only leftovers because I made so much cake).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2013

      This cake turned out perfect. I made it for a birthday and iced with buttercream icing. It was so moist. Color was very slightly golden color. I baked this in a 9 x 13 glass cake pan so I dcreased the temperature 25 degrees and increased bake time from 35 min to 53 min. This recipe you wont be disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Excellent cake! I upped the butter to 2 sticks of smart balance 50/50. And substituted whole milk with 1 1/2 Tablespoons of lemon juice. And I used Swan Cake Flour and so I used 3 cups. I was told that it was the best cake anyone had ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      This is without question the most complicated cake I've made, but it was well worth the effort! Absolutely delicious. Super moist and full in the pan. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      I have neglected to review this recipe but it deserves a late but great review. I have been using this recipe for years now, every time someone asks me to make a vanilla birthday cake (I am a decorator at a bakery and make cakes on the side for extra money). I too add a little extra butter (2 sticks for a single batch) but follow the recipe to a "T". I love, love, love it!!! Thanks Zusie-Q for a great cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      I agree - best yellow cake ever. I made this for my husband's birthday yesterday. I followed the recipe exactly. It came out moist and delicious. My husband said it was the best yellow cake he has ever had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      I also used 2 sticks of butter based on other reviews. The batter was so yummy, and it was good when served, but the cake was completely dry the next day, even after being covered.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Wahoo! FINALLY a yellow cake recipe that's as good as a bakery's!! I baked two 9" layers for about 31 minutes, and they were just perfect. I used sticks of 50/50 butter/substitue blend in place of whole butter, an eighth cup less sugar, and 2 1/2 cups sifted cake flour instead of all-purpose. Result was a light but richly textured and full-flavored cake. Pretty sweet, so I used a dark chocolate (homemade) frosting - mmmmm recommend:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Great cake recipe! Delicious, good rich taste even without frosting. Still tastes great after freezing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Just pulled these out of the oven, and they are very tasty even unfrosted and have a lovely texture. I usually look for lower calorie baked goods, but I was pleasantly surprised that a half recipe produced 15 good sized cupcakes, i.e.puffed up well above the top of the paper liner/muffin tin. The portion sizes listed in the recipe are generous. I think I may add berries next time and make unfrosted cupcakes for picnics.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      AWESOME recipe! Thanks so much for sharing. I made two rounds, and between them, I put a think vanilla custard. I topped the cake with a chocolate ganache, making a Boston cream pie. It was for my sister's birthday- everyone loved it! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Very good. Made a fluffy strong cake. Filled it with the banana pineapple filling recipe on recipezaar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2014

      Loved the flavor and texture of the cake. My only issue was that the center wasn't done at 35 mins. and by the time it was, the edges were very overdone. I'll make this again and just lower the temp. to 325. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      Very nice cake! My son loved it for his 12th birthday. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Good, but not incredible. I did follow the suggestion for the full cup of butter, and followed the directions to a T. It tasted nice, but not perfect. I won't likely make it again, but it wasn't bad either...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      I am awful at whipping up egg whites, mainly because it's something I rarely do. That said, I tried this recipe but used 2 sticks of butter per other reviewers OK. Although my whites didn't exactly fold and my cake came out a little too brown - it was the best yellow cake I have ever had. I will most definitely give this recipe a round two...and three...and four...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

    • on December 25, 2009

      was great! im not a good baker, but came out just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      WOW! I wish it wasnt so good so I would stop eating it!! Taught my son how to beat egg whites, too! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      I used this cake as a base for strawberry shortcake. It was incredibly moist and fluffy. This will be my go -to- recipe for yellow cake now. I didn't have buttermilk on hand so I used regular 2% milk, scalding it slightly. It worked perfectly. Thanks, Zusie-Q.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rainy Day Yellow Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.1
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    33%
    Total Fat 16.2 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 111.9 mg
    37%
    Sodium 352.3 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.8 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 41.3 g
    165%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites