10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a wonderful salad dressing that I served on baby spinach, real bacon bits and shredded cheddar cheese. This sweet dressing went perfectly with it. A real winner, thanks so much Theresa P.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot February 25, 2005

Truly outstanding dressing. Sweet, thick, creamy and I think it should be called Sunshine Dressing because of its yellow color. I have only a hand mixer and didn't want to stand there and use it for 10 minutes so I tried using the blender. It didn't dissolve the sugar so use the mixer as directed. The second time I made this dressing I used equal-measure Splenda and heated it and the vinegar to dissolve it. That sacrificed the beautiful yellow color and the thickness but the flavor was still superb. Third time I didn't heat the Splenda, just blended all the ingredients. That preserved some of the color. Can't say enough good things about this recipe. Gets my highest recommendation for a sweet salad dressing. Twenty stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea May 25, 2004

I thought I had submitted my review of this! I have this 4 or 5 times as written. After a search for a real good recipes to do. And with resulted in other similar recipes, I decided I wanted to create something unique a great base recipe and easy to modify depending on your tastes.. It may be a stretch to call my creation, but the result was a meal the whole family will liked. MY was Not better, not worse, just different! I've will added this to my recipe book "AS IS" and with my additions TOO. I have two way to do it!! THANK YOU!! I can do the happy food dance!! NOW !! 7 Stars NO! Sugar pea is right, Twenty Stars!, I think yours is better. BY FAR

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA July 17, 2012

I really like this dressing, but I found it more than sweet enough with half the sugar. I will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrVanilla February 10, 2009

Very good dressing. I halved the recipe, using one clove of garlic. I used Splenda instead of sugar, so I had no problems with the sugar dissolving. I served this over a salad of crisp iceberg lettuse and shredded carrots.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue December 29, 2008

Outstanding dressing. My family gave it 5 stars all the way. Served my enchilada Enchiladas along with a tossed salad of greens, grape tomatoes, carrots, black olives, croutons and pine nuts. I made half a batch that fit my container perfectly. I know this will be a regular with my salad from now on. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margo59 June 08, 2007

I am sorry, I thought I had submitted my review of this! I made it a couple of weeks ago! DH and I have thoroughly enjoyed this dressing! It is rather sweet, but drizzling it over salads did cut the sweetness. I think that I could cut back on the sugar by about 1/8 cup next time and still get enough sweetness, but this is a personal taste! I too had trouble getting the sugar to dissolve, so I will try heating the sugar and vinegar just enough to dissolve the sugar, as another reviewer suggested. Could not believe that it did not separate by the next day! This is a wonderful sweet salad dressing! Thanks Theresa P!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobtail June 12, 2006

This is DELICIOUS!! I love sweet dressings and your recipe is fantastic (and also easy.) Thanks for posting! Al

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alan in SW Florida June 02, 2006

Wow is this good! It’s velvety smooth and lusciously thick. I used red onion because that’s what I had on hand and it didn’t change the color at all. It turned a beautiful golden color when I added the olive oil. I mixed this up in my Vita-Mix blender on low – it worked great. I waited until the very end to add the poppy seeds, I was afraid they would get pulverized if I blended them for 10 minutes. The dressing doesn’t separate either. This would be fabulous on a spinach salad too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefboy August 19, 2004

Even though this dressing is very sweet and we're not really sugar freaks, my family voted unanimously to give this recipe 5 stars. I served it with a salad that had everything in it but the proverbial 'kitchen sink' -- iceberg and red leaf lettuce, spinach, red onion, tomatoes (first 'real' ones of the season!), cucumber, and bacon bits (also 'real'). If the salad had been wimpy, the dressing would have overwhelmed. Since it wasn't, it was absolutely delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton June 22, 2004
Rainwater Dressing