Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rainbow Ribbon Mold Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rainbow Ribbon Mold

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2010

      I have made this several times and it is a show stopper! This is what I found to be helpful. I mix up the 5 jello flavors right from the start. I line up the containers and divide the jello and add the milk mixture, respectively, so it is all ready to go and it can come to room temperature. It won't hurt the jello to sit out and you can throw it in the fridge or freezer for a few minutes while the previous layer is setting up. That way, you have the right consistency and it seems less hectic. I chose to use sweetened condensed milk as I never have coconut milk, but I think I will use it next time. I think the colors would be more vibrant. The sweetened condensed milk is sort of yellow and dilutes the true color of the jello. I doubt if anyone eating it cares about it, but I think the presentation would only be that much more astounding. Love this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      How lovely this looked on my Easter dinner table. The kids oohhhhed and aahhhhed over it. It is definately time consuming but well worth it. I plan on making this for our Thanksgiving/Christmas dinner for our big family. Thank you so much for making me the #1 mom ..... for today anyway....lol. I didn't have lemon jello at home so I used Black Cherry, Strawberry, Orange, Lime and Berry Blue.......it looked beautiful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This was a little labor intensive- but well worth it...there were lots of oohs and aaahhs....the recipe is a keeper! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This is definitely something you want to try at least once and it is definitely an eye catcher. My dislikes pertain to the flavors that just didn't blend well w/ each other like the green lime. I'll try this again leaving the green out. (alas no more rainbow..) Thanks for posting, this was an experience for me!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      I made a bunch of little jellos in fancy plastic pedestal water cups from the DollarTree. 1 1/2 T of jello per layer. It was awesome! I used sweet condensed milk but I think it would have been better with the coconut milk since the sc milk only added a creamy sweetness and no extra flavor or fruityness. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

    • on May 26, 2008

      This was awesome! It looked great,and tasted even better. The coconut milk really made the difference. Here are some things I learned the hard way; make sure you shake your coconut milk VERY well, and keep it refrigerated. Also when you are waiting for the jello to come to room temperature (in between layers) put the bowl it is in inside a larger bowl and then slowly pour cold water in the larger bowl so that it comes up the sides, but not to the top, of the smaller bowl. It definitely takes a long time to make, but if you have the time it is worth it! I can't wait to make this again, thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I made this back in the summer time. It was a big hit! I agree , the coconut makes this a treat! It's so 'cool' looking people want to have some. I am slow so it took a *while* but once you get a groove going it is simple. Can't wait for an occasion to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      Loved the taste. Unfortunately, mine didn't look so good! I was going for a Christmas coloured one with green and red jello but I wasn't attentive enough between layers and it hardened up too much so my layers split. I found putting it in the freezer set the jelly too quickly at the edge but not in the middle. I used a light coconut cream with pandan flavour (used in Asian cooking) and Weight Watcher's jello, so easy on the cals but much better tasting than straight WW jello! I would definitely try this again for a special dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      Sooooo soo tasty and pretty to look at. I almost didn't want to slice into it! The coconut makes all the difference, because it adds a little creaminess to the jello that you wouldn't normally have otherwise. I will definitely be making this again, experimenting with different colors. Thanks, Pamela!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      I made this for a family picnic and everyone was definitly impressed! Even though it's time consuming it is worth the oohs and aahs you get when you present it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      Made this for a potluck and it was a big hit. The kids (all ages)especially loved it. The adults were asking for the recipe. Wonderful flavor and very colorful, we had to cut into it because no one wanted to ruin the mold. I put it in the freezer between batches of flavors to speed the process and it worked wonderfully. Don't let the layers harden too much or it won't stick. Make sure your layers are still tacky when adding the next layer and make sure you spoon the layers in. I tried pouring the layers in slowly and almost ruined the mold. Worth taking the time to make sure it is done right!! You'll be pleasantly surprised when it is finished.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      Wow! What a looker of a dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      I loved the jello it was very very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      The kids loved the look of this! We did a 4th of July theme with lots of reds and blues...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      (it was okay)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      Wow !!!!!!!!!! I made this and took it for a Christmas function. I also made a spectacular cheesecake to take and others going also made great deserts to take. BUT it was this desert that took the cake !!! Everybody commented on it and it was the first dessert to go. Many plates had bits of uneaten deserts on them, but the plates with this Rainbow Mould looked like they had been licked clean !!! It was a hit with young and old. I wish I had a dollar for every person that commented on how fantastic it looked (even men commented and thats saying something!!!) Thanks Pamela, I now look like a star cook becasue of this recipe !!! Its now out with the fancy cheescakes, and in with this terrific dessert!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      My DH's grandmother used to make a similar dish! She always served it in a clear glass 13/9 dish, and she didn't use coconut milk. She had a white layer between each color. I think it had either sour cream or cream cheese in it! I looked forward to it every party! It was always such a nice presentation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      I made this for a Church dinner. All the ladies wanted this to be the centerpiece, it is SO pretty. One of the ladies followed me and asked for the leftovers to take home. I let the layers chill while making the other dishes (multi-taking at its best!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      WOW this was GREAT!! I made it for my best friend's birthday and everyone loved it. It was beautiful, easy to prepare and unmold (it took me 2hrs 45mins with freezer method). Thank You so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rainbow Ribbon Mold

    Serving Size: 1 (133 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 167.2
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    16%
    Total Fat 3.0 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 133.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 32.3 g
    129%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes