Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rainbow Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rainbow Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2010

      Wonderful idea! I just made these for my best friend, as i can't really afford to get her a nice birthday gift this year. She absolutely adored them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      Cool cupcakes! My whole family enjoyed them! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      These were amazing!! Such a great idea! Used a from-scratch recipe instead of a box mix, and had some neon food coloring on hand. They look great. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      These were enjoyed by my son's classmates, for his birthday. I see that the yield is 12-16, but can't figure out why a cake mix that typically makes 24, only made 21. Somewhere, I lost 3 cupcakes in translation. I only used 5 colors (red, orange, green, blue and purple) and even dividing everything equally didn't let me use all colors in all cupcakes. It's OK, as I called them kaleidoscope cupcakes, instead. I made cream cheese frosting and sprinkled with non-pareils. They were very pretty to look at, also! Thanks for sharing the great recipe, Steph H.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      These are so cool. Will be making them for generations. Kids went crazy for them and adults thought the were so cool! A fun activity with the kids. Thanks for making me a cool mom too Steph! UPDATE: Again I cant stress the coolness of these. I cant believe they are still waiting for more reviews. I made these tonight again but this time for my sons boyscout troop! WOW.....am I a popular scout mom now. Kids loved....loved...loved them. First time I used plain butter cream frosting this time I used rainbow chip frosting! Even my 99yr old patient thought they were cool. She told her family in Florida all about them and gobled it down like a little one!! THANKS A MILLION

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Love making these. So fun and so easy and they always have a great reaction from those eating them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      How could you NOT rate these five stars! They're so much fun for kids to make. I had a cupcake making party for my twin seven year olds and this was the perfect cupcake! I can't wait to make a regular cake this summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      PEACE LOVE & CUPCAKES How can you not smile when you see this cupcake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      made these wit hthe kids i babysit - they loved them it was a blast but we used the jar of funfetti frosting instead

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      These cupcakes were a huge hit with my son's 1st/2nd grade class. I loved hearing the "OOOH"s and "AAAH"s when they peeled back the cupcake wrapper. These cupcakes can be very time consuming if you're trying to achieve at true rainbow look. I would recommend using bags next time so you can fill one bag with each color. I used Kittencal's Chocolate Buttercream Frosting/Icing (#89207), which was excellent. Very fun recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      I made these a few months back and they were a big hit with my 6 year old daughter. She was thrilled when she saw the colors. This is such a neat, fun idea. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Such a cute idea!! I used 4 colors, and layered them in a 9x13 pan. Then I cut that into graduating squares for a 3-tier cake for my daughter's personal cake for her 2nd birthday. the gel food coloring works very well, just make sure you mix it really well, I had a few "pockets" of color that I didn't mix in well enough. This was a great idea, and now my son wants a rainbow cake for his next birthday, too!! Thanks, I love the idea!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Beautiful cupcakes! I made these for a family get together and everyone raved about them! Couldn't find Betty Crocker Gel coloring so used McCormic neon colors insted and they turned out great! Also, I bought Spongebob cupcake papers and shouldn't have bothered because the food coloring dyed the paper colors too. Thanx for sharing Steph H.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      I made these for the 4th of July using only blue and red and topping with white frosting. They turned out so delicious and CUTE! A colorful hit at work :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      The taste of this cupcake is just OK, but the concept is so FUN !!! I made 12) regular size cupcakes and 24) mini cupcakes. Although a little time consuming to make, watching people's reactions when they break open a cupcake, the colors are so bright and unexpected, it just puts a smile on their face ... that makes it all worth it. These should really be called "Put a Smile On Your Face" cupcakes !!! Thanks Steph, I'll definitely be making these whenever I need to brighten up someone's day :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      These are absolutely adorable and so unusual; my son & hubby thought they should be left plain ("cool looking") but my daughter, b-day girl, opted for frosting & star sprinkles. What a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      The idea of this recipe is great, I've seen it on many sites and decided to follow the instructions given here. Be careful! - I just made these by following the directions here and added each color a measured tablespoon at a time, and ran out of batter. I only got 10 cupcakes with all colors. I realized when it was too late that they would be filled too high, and they ended up looking like muffins not cupcakes :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      My kids loved these and my 6 year old has requested them for her birthday in the form of a cake. She said she cant wait to cut it open "everyone will be so surprised" :) **Update 5/2/09~ I attempted to make a cake vs. cupcakes :) My daughter LOVED it for her birthday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Wonderful!!! The kids just went crazy when they saw these, they wouldn't even let me frost them because they said they are to awesome to cover up.Super fun!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      This is a great recipe. Instead of a boxed mix, I used Classic White Cake as the basis for this recipe and it worked out very well ~ not too sweet (that is what the frosting is for : ) ) but moist on the inside and a slight crisp to the top. I highly recommend the gel food coloring (I used the Betty Crocker brand and bought it at my local supermarket) as the colors were bright and vibrant. I made these for my daughter's birthday celebration in her classroom and they were a real hit! A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rainbow Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (1250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.5
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    40%
    Total Fat 15.5 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 362.7 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 37.3 g
    149%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites