27 Reviews

Wonderful idea! I just made these for my best friend, as i can't really afford to get her a nice birthday gift this year. She absolutely adored them!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaety June 07, 2010

Cool cupcakes! My whole family enjoyed them! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1baytown September 05, 2013

These were amazing!! Such a great idea! Used a from-scratch recipe instead of a box mix, and had some neon food coloring on hand. They look great. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krystine January 29, 2012

These were enjoyed by my son's classmates, for his birthday. I see that the yield is 12-16, but can't figure out why a cake mix that typically makes 24, only made 21. Somewhere, I lost 3 cupcakes in translation. I only used 5 colors (red, orange, green, blue and purple) and even dividing everything equally didn't let me use all colors in all cupcakes. It's OK, as I called them kaleidoscope cupcakes, instead. I made cream cheese frosting and sprinkled with non-pareils. They were very pretty to look at, also! Thanks for sharing the great recipe, Steph H.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl December 13, 2011

These are so cool. Will be making them for generations. Kids went crazy for them and adults thought the were so cool! A fun activity with the kids. Thanks for making me a cool mom too Steph! UPDATE: Again I cant stress the coolness of these. I cant believe they are still waiting for more reviews. I made these tonight again but this time for my sons boyscout troop! WOW.....am I a popular scout mom now. Kids loved....loved...loved them. First time I used plain butter cream frosting this time I used rainbow chip frosting! Even my 99yr old patient thought they were cool. She told her family in Florida all about them and gobled it down like a little one!! THANKS A MILLION

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy ny September 09, 2011

Love making these. So fun and so easy and they always have a great reaction from those eating them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chels1411 February 22, 2010

How could you NOT rate these five stars! They're so much fun for kids to make. I had a cupcake making party for my twin seven year olds and this was the perfect cupcake! I can't wait to make a regular cake this summer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ihvhope February 18, 2010

PEACE LOVE & CUPCAKES How can you not smile when you see this cupcake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Antifreesz November 21, 2009

made these wit hthe kids i babysit - they loved them it was a blast but we used the jar of funfetti frosting instead

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RealHalfTimeShow November 09, 2009

These cupcakes were a huge hit with my son's 1st/2nd grade class. I loved hearing the "OOOH"s and "AAAH"s when they peeled back the cupcake wrapper. These cupcakes can be very time consuming if you're trying to achieve at true rainbow look. I would recommend using bags next time so you can fill one bag with each color. I used Kittencal's Chocolate Buttercream Frosting/Icing (#89207), which was excellent. Very fun recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurelAnn October 12, 2009
Rainbow Cupcakes