Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Railroad Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Railroad Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 01, 2002

      A great change from the mayo type dressing-loved the green pepper and the flavor the celery seeds imparted to this dish-I'm going to try this with my N.C. BBQ next time! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      A very good salad. We used this with a German sausage dinner, and nary a drop left. Thanks, Barb for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2002

      Really delicious. I served this slaw along side hamburgers (Sat is my hamburger night) and Baking stone french fries. Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      Really enjoyed this slaw. Served it with ham. Will certainly make again. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2003

      Hey, Rusty Panties, this was a winner! We are big slaw lovers, this was just great! Nice to have a change from mayo dressing. DH and I ate the WHOLE thing, just the two of us!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2003

      I'm not a cabbage fan, but this was really good slaw. I served it with bbq chicken, and fresh corn from the garden, YUM!! BF raved that I must make this again. Great blending of the ingredients, and super easy to make. Definately a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      We liked this one. I didn't use the green pepper and I also added some shredded carrots. I used celery seeds instead of the salt. Thanks for another way to eat coleslaw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Very nice side dish served alongside corny salmon cakes that I made with tuna. Quite sweet, and not a lot of depth of flavor, but easy fast and a nice side. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      I have been looking for a coleslaw recipe with a sauce like this forever! I also added celery seed and had to use apple cider vinegar but hey! Still Great! Oh and I didn't have any fresh green pepper so I used dried. Worked great! Even though I am the only one who will eat slaw in my house I don't care! Forgot to give you 20 stars!~ I'll be the piggy! This is MY keeper! Thank you Iron Bloomers! I am editing this to add: I have been using the shredded broccolislaw with this and it's soooo good too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      I used to request this recipe from my Grandma. It brings back fond memories. She did not put in the green pepper- I will try that addition the next time I make it. She also used celery seed vs. celery salt. Thank you for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      5 stars all around the table. Even my DH, who said he didn't like vinegary cole slaw, gave it 5 stars. I went to pack up the leftovers for my lunch, and there wasn't any!!! I never heard of onions in a cole slaw but next time I'm going to be a brave little puppy and add even more. In case you haven't figured it out -- I like this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      I have made this slaw several times now. It is so easy to make, my mother-in-law gave me a food processor for Christmas last year, and it makes the preparation a whiz. I cut up the cabbage, onion, and bell pepper and put it all in the food processor together. My hubby doesn't like mayo, so this is a winner for our family, and it keeps for several days in the frig. Thanks so much for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      I grew up eating coleslaw like this. You are the only person I've ever seen make cole slaw this way except my mother. The only difference is she didn't use the dry mustard but it seems to work great in this recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Simple, but very good. This is how I like my slaws. I left out the green pepper b/c DH wouldn't have liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Railroad Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 126.3
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    65%
    Total Fat 9.1 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 200.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes