14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A great change from the mayo type dressing-loved the green pepper and the flavor the celery seeds imparted to this dish-I'm going to try this with my N.C. BBQ next time! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's July 01, 2002

A very good salad. We used this with a German sausage dinner, and nary a drop left. Thanks, Barb for posting.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie May 13, 2002

Really delicious. I served this slaw along side hamburgers (Sat is my hamburger night) and Baking stone french fries. Thanks Barb!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy March 04, 2002

Really enjoyed this slaw. Served it with ham. Will certainly make again. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 October 28, 2003

Hey, Rusty Panties, this was a winner! We are big slaw lovers, this was just great! Nice to have a change from mayo dressing. DH and I ate the WHOLE thing, just the two of us!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sudie October 19, 2003

I'm not a cabbage fan, but this was really good slaw. I served it with bbq chicken, and fresh corn from the garden, YUM!! BF raved that I must make this again. Great blending of the ingredients, and super easy to make. Definately a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty July 29, 2003

We liked this one. I didn't use the green pepper and I also added some shredded carrots. I used celery seeds instead of the salt. Thanks for another way to eat coleslaw.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty June 25, 2010

Very nice side dish served alongside corny salmon cakes that I made with tuna. Quite sweet, and not a lot of depth of flavor, but easy fast and a nice side. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit June 22, 2010

I have been looking for a coleslaw recipe with a sauce like this forever! I also added celery seed and had to use apple cider vinegar but hey! Still Great! Oh and I didn't have any fresh green pepper so I used dried. Worked great! Even though I am the only one who will eat slaw in my house I don't care! Forgot to give you 20 stars!~ I'll be the piggy! This is MY keeper! Thank you Iron Bloomers! I am editing this to add: I have been using the shredded broccolislaw with this and it's soooo good too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KGCOOK May 30, 2010

I used to request this recipe from my Grandma. It brings back fond memories. She did not put in the green pepper- I will try that addition the next time I make it. She also used celery seed vs. celery salt. Thank you for posting :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chez Michelle June 07, 2009
Railroad Coleslaw