Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / ragu bolognese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    ragu bolognese

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2008

      A very good and authentic bolognese. It is amazing how many bolognese recipes are out there without the milk. That is not bolognese....that is meat sauce. This has the milk and it makes such a difference! I added a pinch of sugar to cut the acidity of the wine and the tomato. I also added a 14oz can of petite diced tomatoes, for a little chunkiness. The pancetta makes the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      This is a great recipe. We also believe that bolognese needs dairy and are glad that we included this. The one addition we made was to add about a half cup of parmesan during the last 30 minutes of simmering. Based upon the other reviews, we increased the pancetta and used a little bit of extra basil from the garden. I'd love to tell you how this held up in the freezer, but it doesn't look like it'll make it there. Thanks, Chia.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      Followed the recipe exactly and it was fabulous...I did let it simmer on the stove for 4 hours slowly and it was perfect...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Very, very good! Thick and hearty, full of fabulous distinctive flavors. Because I have a big family I added more beef and pork. I did not use veal at all, subbing the beef and pork instead. Had to add more tomatoes due to the extra meat but otherwise followed the recipe as written. I might reduce the wine to 1/2 cup next time or perhaps choose a different brand. It seemed a bit overpowering to me and my family. Will compensate, of course, with other liquid. FABULOUS!!! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      I loved this sauce. I omitted the celery. I also used sausage instead of pork and omitted the veal. I added cream and cooked penne with the sauce so I ended up adding more beef stock as well. I will make this all the time, the whole family loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2005

      For Christmas I recieved some trafilata al bronzo(HUGE penne) from Partina(AR) Italy. I needed some huge sauce to go with and found this 5++++++ recipe.authentic rich and truly not hard to make. Put on some Bocelli, drink a little wine and enjoy the aroma therapy of a fab. sauce. My DH took leftovers. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2004

      Hello Chia; Made this Ragu Bolognese yesterday. I used red dry wine, added one 10 ounce can of mushroom bits & pieces, and the rest was as per your recipe. An absolutely delighful sauce. Prepared Penne Rigatti, Spinach Linguini and it went so well. I will freeze some and have another meal tonight, so good. Thanks for sharing and it is Number One on my list of Sauces. "Uncle Bill"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2003

      This was incredible. We Loved it. The flavor seemed very authentic. Definately a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      This was a nice bolognese sauce, albeit a little labor intensive. I had to sub bacon for pancetta as mine had expired and this seemed to work fine. Went nice over penne. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      This recipe is a good start, however I found that I needed to add some tomato paste (the sauce looked more like a thin beef stew before this) and will probably add more next time. I also added 1/2 cup of cream for the last 20 minutes of cooking. The sauce had a great flavor, but I wanted more tomato in the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      labour intensive, but very well worth it. Everyone loved it. I used equal amounts of pork, veal and beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      This is wonderful!!! I changed the veges to add to the carrot; mushrooms, zuchinni, red capsicum and used a food processor to get it all chopped down and then instead of veal and pork mince I had only 1 polish sausage so I took the casings off that. Followed the recipe except I put it in my slow cooker for the 2 hrs cause my frypan didnt have a lid. So lovely with parmesan and garlic bread. Thanks heaps

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      My family had been requesting a bolognese-style dish and, happily, I chose this one. They just devoured it! Because my tastebuds happen to be extremely partial to 'red' sauces, I had planned to rate it based on their opinions only. As it turned out, though, even I enjoyed this a lot! 6 T. sounded like a bunch of basil, but I'm so glad I didn't skimp because it was the perfect amount. The little bits of pancetta were the best part, and I may increase that some next time. Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe, chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      Very yummy. I made a few changes. My grocery store is very unpredictable and I couldn't get ground pork this week so I used turkey. I didn't use pancetta but I did use some chicken fat (shmaltz) to cook the veggies in. I also added some chicken liver to the mix (we had chicken the night b4 and I am use to adding this to my Bolognese anyway). I used Cento brand whole plum tomatoes since they are my favorite and just broke them apart with my hands as I dropped them in. I also used fresh herbs from my garden and lots of them and one large onion rather than the 2. I made this Sunday and then placed it in the fridge for Tuesday's dinner. Not b4 a taste tho, and I was very happy with that taste. We enjoyed the meal tho next time I think I will serve it the day I make it. Some sauces are better fresh others better after sitting. I think this (as most of this type) is better fresh. I now have the leftover sauce (enough for another full meal) in the freezer. I love a sauce like this over some wilted escarole but served with Penne as well. I'll be making this again. It was wonderful. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2005

      1 word: FANTASTIC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for ragu bolognese

    Serving Size: 1 (419 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 642.2
     
    Calories from Fat 404
    62%
    Total Fat 44.9 g
    69%
    Saturated Fat 17.0 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 165.3 mg
    55%
    Sodium 493.4 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 38.2 g
    76%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pancetta

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes