23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is pretty good, but I was hoping the bacon and onion flavors would be more well blended into the sprouts. I'm still also not partial to a boiled sprout. I thought I'd give it a shot, since I haven't had boiled sprouts since I was a kid and this looked like a really good recipe, but I still don't like them. If you like that, it's fine...but just not for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catta February 02, 2011

This was fantastic. I made it a couple of weeks ago for my picky hubby and I. Made it as recipe stated with shallots. Regular onions would have not been right I believe. For the broth I use granules I add to water instead of keeping the cans on hand. It's been much cheaper that way and handier. This recipe was so good my husband suprised me again today with a handfull of brussels sprouts from the grocery store and said "Please can you make them with dinner?" Thanks for posting, it is a keeper reicpe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seashorewalker October 30, 2011

I've yet to find a Brussels sprouts recipe I didn't like, and this is no exception! This was quick and easy to prepare, and the more I keep typing.. the more I'm craving them now! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu April 02, 2010

Thanks for posting this recipe! My 3-year-old has been known to gobble up this dish by the plateful! I don't cook with pork, so I used turkey bacon. I also used regular yellow onion finely chopped instead of the shallots. I don't end up needing additional salt, but that probably depends on the type of chicken stock you use. Very tasty!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doggy momma March 15, 2010

Super good! Me and the DH love brussel sprouts and these were fantastic and easy to throw together. Made for Zaar cookbook tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazycookinmama September 14, 2009

Made these just as written. Great recipe! Will definitely make again.This would be a great holiday side dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FOREVER YOUNG March 06, 2009

Wow-Best sprouts ever! A bit sweet, so recommend doubling the amount of salt by adding an equal measure of celery salt. Gives the whole dish another layer of flavor and increases the complexity of the taste. But 5 stars just as it is.......RI_Sailor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ejriii December 20, 2008

Made this for Christmas last year and everyone asking if it's on the menu this year. Even those who "hate" sprouts gobbled them down. Thanks Rachael for an easy and delicious recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slotqueen_30 December 18, 2008

I've loved this recipe for years and you will, too! When I was young I hated Brussels sprouts because they seemed so smelly and bitter, but this recipe totally changed my thinking. I also like this with minced garlic in place of the shallots - it's great both ways - but I LOVE garlic and always have it! BTW, this is one sprouts recipe where you can sub frozen for fresh and I often use C&W's frozen Petite (baby) Brussels sprouts. Goes well with any meat and potatoes dish! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninja May 11, 2008

Made this with turkey bacon, halved the sprouts and cooked less than the recipe called for. I like a bright green Brussels sprout. Addictively delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea January 27, 2008
Rachael Ray's Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Shallots