Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rachael Ray's Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Shallots Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rachael Ray's Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Shallots

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2011

      This is pretty good, but I was hoping the bacon and onion flavors would be more well blended into the sprouts. I'm still also not partial to a boiled sprout. I thought I'd give it a shot, since I haven't had boiled sprouts since I was a kid and this looked like a really good recipe, but I still don't like them. If you like that, it's fine...but just not for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      This was fantastic. I made it a couple of weeks ago for my picky hubby and I. Made it as recipe stated with shallots. Regular onions would have not been right I believe. For the broth I use granules I add to water instead of keeping the cans on hand. It's been much cheaper that way and handier. This recipe was so good my husband suprised me again today with a handfull of brussels sprouts from the grocery store and said "Please can you make them with dinner?" Thanks for posting, it is a keeper reicpe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      I've yet to find a Brussels sprouts recipe I didn't like, and this is no exception! This was quick and easy to prepare, and the more I keep typing.. the more I'm craving them now! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Thanks for posting this recipe! My 3-year-old has been known to gobble up this dish by the plateful! I don't cook with pork, so I used turkey bacon. I also used regular yellow onion finely chopped instead of the shallots. I don't end up needing additional salt, but that probably depends on the type of chicken stock you use. Very tasty!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Super good! Me and the DH love brussel sprouts and these were fantastic and easy to throw together. Made for Zaar cookbook tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Made these just as written. Great recipe! Will definitely make again.This would be a great holiday side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Wow-Best sprouts ever! A bit sweet, so recommend doubling the amount of salt by adding an equal measure of celery salt. Gives the whole dish another layer of flavor and increases the complexity of the taste. But 5 stars just as it is.......RI_Sailor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Made this for Christmas last year and everyone asking if it's on the menu this year. Even those who "hate" sprouts gobbled them down. Thanks Rachael for an easy and delicious recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      I've loved this recipe for years and you will, too! When I was young I hated Brussels sprouts because they seemed so smelly and bitter, but this recipe totally changed my thinking. I also like this with minced garlic in place of the shallots - it's great both ways - but I LOVE garlic and always have it! BTW, this is one sprouts recipe where you can sub frozen for fresh and I often use C&W's frozen Petite (baby) Brussels sprouts. Goes well with any meat and potatoes dish! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Made this with turkey bacon, halved the sprouts and cooked less than the recipe called for. I like a bright green Brussels sprout. Addictively delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      Outstanding!! I used 6 slices of bacon and 2 lbs. of sprouts and these were great!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Nice change from steaming sprouts as I usually do. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      Very good. My daughter didn't care for it but she is picky. I addes a little parm cheese to it because I saw it in another recipe and sunded good. Me and son-in-law enjoyed this alot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      DH and I both love brussel sprouts. This was an excellent way of making them. This will be a repeat dish in the future. Easy and quick to prepare. Thanks, Cristin for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      I love brussel sprouts ( weird I know) and my husband and boys do not.But I tried these on them anyway and they were a hit.I can now get them to eat their veggies and I get my brussel sprout fix.Thanks so much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      Excellent. I made this for Canadian Thanksgiving. Easy and yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      We don't eat a lot of brussle sprouts, I don't know why though. These were very tasty! Rachael Ray does it again! Thanks for posting this. It's going into my permanent cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      This was absolutely delicious. I used larger sprouts so I cut them in half and it looked so pretty when prepared. Next, I need to test if this can convert proven Brussels sprouts haters...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      Really enjoyed the brussel sprouts prepared this way!! Followed the recipe exactly and they were wonderful! Thanks for the recipe. Looking forward to enjoying this one often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

      When I saw RR make these, I knew I had to have them on Thanksgiving! They are sooo simple to make and taste divine. I halved my sprouts since they were a little on the big side but otherwise make them as posted. So good! Thanks for posting ~ it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rachael Ray's Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Shallots

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 135.5
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    48%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 4.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 273.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes