12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe for DH for his lunches. He told me it's really good and filling. I omitted the red onion, because he prefers without. I used chipotle tabasco. And lemon juice because I didn't have limes. Thanks rickoholic :) Made for PAC Fall 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette November 08, 2012

Yay! So easy! Looks lovely! Tastes even better! I made it also without the tabasco or cumin and added cilantro and celery and it was still super yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baezus September 20, 2011

This is a great recipe to use on chicken burritos / soft tacos to amp up the flavor without adding a lot of calories. We are trying to eat healthier, and we will be using this recipe plenty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MimiDLM August 30, 2011

Nice low calorie side dish! The only thing I would change is the corn. Frozen corn is very bland tasting!! Next time I'll try canned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gillian Spence December 15, 2009

Terrific salad!! Bursting with flavor and great combination of textures. I don't care for onion so left it out, otherwise made as directed. Really enjoyed this great dish - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for Fall PAC 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof September 11, 2009

My first black bean salad. Did a few substitutions and will probably make it again. 1 can corn substituted for frozen green pepper instead of red bottled lime juice instead of fresh dave's hurtin habanero hot sauce

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMae July 15, 2008

I thought this was tasty. It was very simple and quick to throw together. I especially liked the fact that you can just toss in the corn while it's still frozen, and just leave it sitting there. I used the full amount of Tabasco, but there wasn't really heat to speak of, so I might use a little more next time. I'm going to use the leftovers of this for taco salads later in the week. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay D. May 26, 2008

I loved this dish! It was so easy to throw together. I added extra lime juice and went easy on the Tabasco since my boyfriend can't handle much spice. I didn't have any red peppers on me, but it was great without. I love that the ingredients can be thrown together in a bowl and will be ready in 15 minutes. Next time I will add the red peppers and cilantro.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrieQuiteContrary May 22, 2008

This is a nice, flavourful salad. I think I'll add some extra lime juice next time as did a previous reviewer. This would be very good for a summer bbq dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario November 26, 2007

This was very nice and so easy to put together. I added extra lime juice but other than that made as directed. I think some cilantro would work well with this salad. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ November 25, 2007
Rachael Ray's Black Bean and Corn Salad