Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rabbit Stifado Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rabbit Stifado

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2010

      We really enjoyed this rabbit recipe. I marinated the rabbit overnight. The sauce smelled wonderful while it was cooking. It reminded me of the smell of mulled wine. I served the rabbit over mashed potatoes to soak up the extra sauce. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I was given a couple of rabbits and decided to look up a different way of cooking them and this is it. This is not only easy it tastes great and my husband and father in law loved it, I had no leftovers so that should tell you something! I will continue to use this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      I just love rabbit, and since I raise my own, I can pretty well have it at anytime. I must admit this is a fantastic reciepe, I just didn't care for the cinnamon, so I did it again but with out the cinnamon stick, and it was fabuluos. Thank you so much for sharring this receipe with all of us receipe lovers!!!!!!!LOL!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      First of all I'd just like to say what a fantastic recipe and the nearest I've found to authentic greek stifaldo, better than restaurants in UK. I was waiting a long till for the sauce to thicken and was almost at the point of giving up when all of a sudden it thickend and turned into the best rich sauce ever !!.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      First time I have ever made rabbit and the family loved it. Thanks so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      this was outstanding. I had lucked into a wild hare, caught in northern quebec by innuits, nice and gamey. Need more cooking but that was the nature of the hare itself. I also used some rabbit tournedos in it. Both were fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      Another great recipe!! My dad and my husband loved it. Thanks Evelyn!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      Yet again, a fantastic recipe. I was looking for a traditioanl beef stifado recipe so adpated this one. the sauce was wonderful, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. I am going to be brave and the next time my butcher has rabbit in, I am going to try with this recipe. I will be back to review it asap! Thanks Eve

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      This was my first time preparing rabbit, and I did not know what to expect in the way of the raw product. Happily, the carcass was relatively simple to understand and properly quarter. If you can quarter a chicken easily, you should have no trouble quartering the rabbit (although a clever would be helpful). I was given two large rabbits, and I found that just one was enough to feed three people and have a small leftover. Each thigh was roughly the size of a large duck thigh after cooking down. I used more of everything than this recipe called for -- at least doubling every ingredient and using at can of tomato sauce because my tomato paste was missing. I marinated for only an hour but in about 5 or 6 TB of vinegar with about 6 bay leaves. I also used duck fat instead of olive oil to brown the quarters. The final dish was a triumph and totally exceeded my expectations. The rabbit can stand up to the seasoning and more. Don't skimp on the pearl onions! Dishes like this are the reason I love to cook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this meal. I simmered the rabbit in the sauce until it was carmalized. It was almost as messy as eating ribs, however; it was worth it. I will keep this in my favorites for rabbit and may use it for chicken also. The recipe itself is simple.Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2013

      This was good. I decided to omit the cinnamon. I wanted this to be savory not sweet. I used one and a half rabbits. I served this with drop biscuits and green salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2013

      This is not a review because I have not tried it yet but it sounds delicious. I just wanted to say I will be putting mine over spaghetti squash or zucchini noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      This was absolutely delicious! I used cinnamon and allspice powder b/c I didn't have sticks or whole berries. I added fennel seeds to the marinade and also added way more wine than suggested. I was cooking two whole rabbits at the same time, so that could have been part of it. Minus 1 star because the recipe as is was not nearly tangy enough. I added 1/2 lemon of lemon juice, and some green olives in brine to tang it up, and it became absolutely perfect!<br/><br/>The onions are divine as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      My husband had gone hunting and I had a rabbit in the freezer. I wanted to do something different with it and was interested in trying this recipe. It was so simple to make and the flavors are amazing. I did mine in my large cast iron skillet and it cooked to perfection. The only difference between the recipe and what I did was that I used quartered onions rather than pearl onions. I served it with Greek Oven Baked Potato Wedges and the combination was wonderful. Thank you for this recipe. I will definitely make this again and look forward to trying it with one of our freshly butchered chickens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      Amazing! The most beautiful aroma during cooking and the sauce was bursting with flavor and suited the rabbit perfectly. The only change I had to make because pearl onions aren't widely available in Australia is to use sliced regular onions. I served with french fries and agree it's a wonderful match.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      Rich, Delicious! So easy to make. My DH doesn't like cinnamon in his savory dishes but never complained about this meal! I served with cultured veggies and roasted baby potatoes. The rabbit was expensive on that note chicken would work so good in this. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      This was ohh so very good for being my first go at rabbit.We wanted to try something a bit on the traditional side...a recipe that has been around...and we just didn't want to deep fry him.It had great flavor but we found it a bit...on the acidic side.Between the wine,tomato paste, and the vinegar (of course this was NOT put into the pot but it was still a factor), it was real zippy.The sauce was too much for me to eat but the rabbit itself was very nice.I only marinated him for an hour and I think I will cut that time down next time and reduce the wine to 1 cp.I didn't cut the rabbit down into smaller pieces and in hind sight I should have.Make sure you cut him up... but still throw all of him in the pot.Trying to keep the top as moist as the bottom proved to be difficult.I had to do a lot of flipping.Served with barley risotto and mashed cauliflower for a great meal that was fairly easy to pull together.Very good!Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      This was absolutely stunning !!! The rabbit fell off the bone and was so succulent and tasty !!! We had it with mascarpone mashed potato - will definitely make this one again - thank you so much for posting this recipe YUMMMMM :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      The rabbit was ok but the rest of t he sauce was awful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rabbit Stifado

    Serving Size: 1 (339 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 355.6
     
    Calories from Fat 245
    68%
    Total Fat 27.2 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 76.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 8.8 g
    35%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rabbit

    whole allspice

    rosemary

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites