22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We really enjoyed this rabbit recipe. I marinated the rabbit overnight. The sauce smelled wonderful while it was cooking. It reminded me of the smell of mulled wine. I served the rabbit over mashed potatoes to soak up the extra sauce. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny April 25, 2010

I was given a couple of rabbits and decided to look up a different way of cooking them and this is it. This is not only easy it tastes great and my husband and father in law loved it, I had no leftovers so that should tell you something! I will continue to use this one.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Misti #401366 January 04, 2009

I just love rabbit, and since I raise my own, I can pretty well have it at anytime. I must admit this is a fantastic reciepe, I just didn't care for the cinnamon, so I did it again but with out the cinnamon stick, and it was fabuluos. Thank you so much for sharring this receipe with all of us receipe lovers!!!!!!!LOL!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia #3 November 21, 2008

First of all I'd just like to say what a fantastic recipe and the nearest I've found to authentic greek stifaldo, better than restaurants in UK. I was waiting a long till for the sauce to thicken and was almost at the point of giving up when all of a sudden it thickend and turned into the best rich sauce ever !!.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrew.Meachin May 22, 2008

First time I have ever made rabbit and the family loved it. Thanks so much

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bevjones January 02, 2008

this was outstanding. I had lucked into a wild hare, caught in northern quebec by innuits, nice and gamey. Need more cooking but that was the nature of the hare itself. I also used some rabbit tournedos in it. Both were fantastic.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba November 17, 2007

Another great recipe!! My dad and my husband loved it. Thanks Evelyn!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vasi78 July 20, 2007

Yet again, a fantastic recipe. I was looking for a traditioanl beef stifado recipe so adpated this one. the sauce was wonderful, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. I am going to be brave and the next time my butcher has rabbit in, I am going to try with this recipe. I will be back to review it asap! Thanks Eve

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tulip-Fairy January 31, 2007

This was my first time preparing rabbit, and I did not know what to expect in the way of the raw product. Happily, the carcass was relatively simple to understand and properly quarter. If you can quarter a chicken easily, you should have no trouble quartering the rabbit (although a clever would be helpful). I was given two large rabbits, and I found that just one was enough to feed three people and have a small leftover. Each thigh was roughly the size of a large duck thigh after cooking down. I used more of everything than this recipe called for -- at least doubling every ingredient and using at can of tomato sauce because my tomato paste was missing. I marinated for only an hour but in about 5 or 6 TB of vinegar with about 6 bay leaves. I also used duck fat instead of olive oil to brown the quarters. The final dish was a triumph and totally exceeded my expectations. The rabbit can stand up to the seasoning and more. Don't skimp on the pearl onions! Dishes like this are the reason I love to cook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B'StillaMyHeart June 21, 2013
Rabbit Stifado