Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rabanada (Brazilian-Style French Toast) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rabanada (Brazilian-Style French Toast)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2011

      The best french toast I've ever made. I loved it. :9 But it is Brazilian, so I really shouldn't be surprised. lol. If you're looking for a pastry to eat with your morning coffee, this is it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

    • on August 23, 2009

      This was a really good recipe; it is very rich and delicouis. The only thing I really wasn't a big fan of was the spicy mixture; I thought there was too much cocoa powder (but then again my wife thought it was just right, so adjust according to personal taste). We are having some people over for b-fast today so I'll make a follow up and let you know what everyone else thinks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      this was the best French Toast recipe ever! DW thought it would taste great with fresh berries. We used raw sugar (did not coat the toast like white would have), skim milk and egg beaters. These subs did not seem to change taste! I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      WOW!! This is the best French toast I have every tasted. I really cant say enough about it. My mother even told me this is the best she has ever had.....Will be keeping this one for sure. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Made & reviewed for ZWT 4 ~ Kumquat's Kookin' Kaboodles! Oh wow! These are really too delicious! I wanyed to try these as they look so similar to a favourite Portugese recipe of ours...this is now on rotation for Sunday breakfast! Thanks Sue for another super recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This made for a delicious and sweet breakfast. This was the perfect French toast! Made for ZWT4; for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Sweeeet! :) I made this ahead of time and brought it to a Cub Scout camp out! The kids LOVED it! I used thickly sliced sour dough baguette and had no problem with the bread falling apart. It also soaked for a bit longer then suggested. I had a hard time regulating the heat over the campfire and had to switch to a Coleman stove. It was more like dessert then breakfast, but there was not one complain from the Cub Scouts. I loved the textures. It was nice and crisp on the outside and custardy on the inside. Zaar World Tour 4. Whine and Cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Where I come from this is the sort of sweet sweet fried food you would get at the State Fair, not something you would make in your home! I had some problem with the bread being too soft. I think probably a sourdough or egg-based bread would be best, something with firm texture that will hold up when soaked. I just panfried in about 1/2 inch of oil, instead of deep frying, and just sprinkled cocoa and cinammon rather than dredging in granulated sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      LOVED IT! Sue, this is a terrific recipe! It tastes like a beignet, but it's way easier. I made it with leftover Psomi - Greek Bread (also Sue's) and served with whipped cream and chocolate sprinkles. Also, I cut the recipe down to 1.33 servings which was enough for hubby and I, and I reduced the frying oil down to just a bit in the bottom of the pan. Thank you for posting what is sure to become a keeper in our house. Made for ZWT, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! I used thick slices of Italian bread... this recipe made enough custard for 6 big slices. It was super creamy (almost like bread pudding!) on the inside... sweet and crunchy on the outside. We just added a bit of powdered sugar after frying.. with a good cup of coffee - divine! Sidenote: I had a few slices left over that I didn't fry... I just kept it in the fridge and took them out 10mins before serving dessert that night (had the family over for dinner)... I cut up the slices into "sticks" and fried them that way. Everyone asked for seconds! :) YUM YUM YUM Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      really really delicious. almost to sweet if thats possible. (i tried it without the extra sugar sprinkled on first and just put some cocoa) The texture was heavenly. I did use almond extract instead of vanilla and next time i plan to squeeze some lemon juice over it. (ottawa beavertails have one with lemonjuice and sugar, a great combo for sweet fried things)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      Although the flavor is delicious, I would alter two things in this recipe if made again. (I made it to specs). The first thing is definitely reduce the oil! I think just enough to cover the bottom of the pan would be sufficient. The batter spits dangerously (probably due to the sweetened condensed milk). Either that or I would recommend using a deep fryer with a lid. Secondly, I would add more cocoa powder as I could not taste it at all. I did put some powdered sugar on some of them for added sweetness, but once tasted, realized they didn't need it. Overall, These were good and similar to donuts or beignets, but with a crispier outer crust. -Bird-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      Rich and delicious! Made just as directed except only used about 1/2 cup oil for frying. They came out nice and crispy with a delightful soft texture on the inside. The kids and I really enjoyed this special-treat breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Wow! Delicious and decadent. You definitely don't need syrup or any other topping. I used nonfat condensed milk/milk, and pan fried these like a lot of other reviewers did. You do need probably 3 tablespoons of oil though, otherwise they will stick. I also doubled the liquid milk and halved the sugar, which was just right for us. The texture of these are wonderful, crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      No photo, cause I didn't read the instructions carefully lol Before putting the slices in the oil, I coated them with the sugar cinnamon mixture. Error loll I saw that too late. Once they were crispy and brown, I put them on paper towel. Error again. It was stuck to it loll I was able to remove a few pieces of paper towel. It was still delicious. My baby of 2 years liked it so much. My BF also, I was surprised cause he doesn't like fried things. Thanks Lorie :) Made for 123 hit wonders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      Delicious and rich. No toppings necessary. A rev-ed up pain perdu, quite luscious. It is (and all arteries are grateful) possible to make this on a non stick griddle--it is still delicious and sinfully rich but at least you've reduced the oil used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      Delicious!!! Not for regular breakfast rotation, but wonderful for special day. I cooked mine in my electric skillet in order to assure appropriate tempature, but I ended up turning it upto about 375 degrees. Thanks for a wonderful recipe Lorie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      PAC (Fall) '07 Absolutely fabulous and worth every diet breaking bite! It's probably a good thing that the nutrition facts are not displayed. ;-) Both Gato (big sweet tooth) and I (no sweet tooth) agree that these are 5-star, which means we'll make it again! Thanks, Lorie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rabanada (Brazilian-Style French Toast)

    Serving Size: 1 (216 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1844.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1559
    84%
    Total Fat 173.2 g
    266%
    Saturated Fat 26.1 g
    130%
    Cholesterol 161.2 mg
    53%
    Sodium 436.4 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.5 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 57.9 g
    231%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites