19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The best french toast I've ever made. I loved it. :9 But it is Brazilian, so I really shouldn't be surprised. lol. If you're looking for a pastry to eat with your morning coffee, this is it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashlie Elizabeth Moore August 28, 2011

This was a really good recipe; it is very rich and delicouis. The only thing I really wasn't a big fan of was the spicy mixture; I thought there was too much cocoa powder (but then again my wife thought it was just right, so adjust according to personal taste). We are having some people over for b-fast today so I'll make a follow up and let you know what everyone else thinks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin_QC August 23, 2009

this was the best French Toast recipe ever! DW thought it would taste great with fresh berries. We used raw sugar (did not coat the toast like white would have), skim milk and egg beaters. These subs did not seem to change taste! I love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ScubaBrynn May 31, 2009

WOW!! This is the best French toast I have every tasted. I really cant say enough about it. My mother even told me this is the best she has ever had.....Will be keeping this one for sure. Thank you so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Oregon July 13, 2008

Made & reviewed for ZWT 4 ~ Kumquat's Kookin' Kaboodles! Oh wow! These are really too delicious! I wanyed to try these as they look so similar to a favourite Portugese recipe of ours...this is now on rotation for Sunday breakfast! Thanks Sue for another super recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia June 17, 2008

This made for a delicious and sweet breakfast. This was the perfect French toast! Made for ZWT4; for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 15, 2008

Sweeeet! :) I made this ahead of time and brought it to a Cub Scout camp out! The kids LOVED it! I used thickly sliced sour dough baguette and had no problem with the bread falling apart. It also soaked for a bit longer then suggested. I had a hard time regulating the heat over the campfire and had to switch to a Coleman stove. It was more like dessert then breakfast, but there was not one complain from the Cub Scouts. I loved the textures. It was nice and crisp on the outside and custardy on the inside. Zaar World Tour 4. Whine and Cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper June 09, 2008

Where I come from this is the sort of sweet sweet fried food you would get at the State Fair, not something you would make in your home! I had some problem with the bread being too soft. I think probably a sourdough or egg-based bread would be best, something with firm texture that will hold up when soaked. I just panfried in about 1/2 inch of oil, instead of deep frying, and just sprinkled cocoa and cinammon rather than dredging in granulated sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
realbirdlady June 08, 2008

LOVED IT! Sue, this is a terrific recipe! It tastes like a beignet, but it's way easier. I made it with leftover Psomi - Greek Bread (also Sue's) and served with whipped cream and chocolate sprinkles. Also, I cut the recipe down to 1.33 servings which was enough for hubby and I, and I reduced the frying oil down to just a bit in the bottom of the pan. Thank you for posting what is sure to become a keeper in our house. Made for ZWT, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup June 08, 2008
Rabanada (Brazilian-Style French Toast)