23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this yesterday and haven't even been able to make garlic bread out of it yet!!! First tried it on crackers; yummy, garlicy, addicting. Then I used someone elses suggestion and mixed it into my meatloaf mixture. The whole house smelled wonderful - my DH even said he could smell it at the end of our street! He thought that was the best meatloaf he ever tasted, even better than his mothers - now thats saying alot! I quartered the recipe since there is only the two of us. Thank you for posting! Can't wait to try it today as garlic toast and leftover meatloaf. 10/20/06 Finally made the garlic bread and it was wonderful. Baked it then broiled it so the cheese was a little toasted. Great garlic recipe.11/15/06 Last night I put this on top of some canned spinach and broiled it, awsome!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zeph's Wife November 15, 2006

Yum! This is so easy and so tasty! I only made 1/4 of the recipe for 2 of us, but now I think that I'll make it again and always have on reserve. Thanks C in PA. Made for Cookbook Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme April 09, 2010

OK, I know how to keep the vampires away! LOL This stuff is great! I reduced the recipe, but I could see making the full recipe up, serving for a dinner with friends and handing them a jar of this on the way out the door! I enjoyed the flavors, and think that the lemon added a bit of brightness. Thanks so much for sharing, C in PA.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl December 09, 2009

This is so easy to make and tastes delicious! It stays great in the fridge and I think it gets more flavorful the longer it sits! But don't expect it to last very long. It doesn't have to be just a bread spread..try it on veggies, omelets, tortillas, soften it a bit in the microwave for a quick appy to spread on crackers. Thanks for sharing your recipe C in PA!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug June 14, 2005

Very very good. Great combination of cheese flavors, but I will cut back just a little on the Romano cheese next time as I personally thought it was a little stronge. I made only a third of the recipe and have plenty for lots of bread. Thanks for sharing. Made for Best of 2011 tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ January 20, 2012

Wow!! This was awesome. I made one pint as there is only 2 of us. I made it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. It was perfect. Next time I plan to make more so I can share with friends. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY December 27, 2011

Wow is this garlicy (not that that's a bad thing!) I quartered the recipe and had enough for 2 mini baguettes. I had to use shredded romano not grated so added a little extra. I also used half fresh garlic and half pickled garlic (it was from Dill Refrigerator Pickles - I didn't want to waste it and wasn't sure what else to do with it!) Went great with the black bean soup I had for dinner. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 December 07, 2011

I can't believe I forgot to review this. This is really awesome. My kids love it. I make it every time we have spaghetti or lasagna. I've even made one night while watching a movie. It reminds me of the Rockefeller bread that the Fish House Vera Cruz in San Marcos, CA serves minus the spinach.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Mom of 7 April 08, 2011

Definitely very yummy. I used a coarsely shredded mozz, I think it would be more spreadable with finer shreds. That won't stop me from using up this original batch, and going on for more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
All Thumbs March 20, 2011

What a great bread spread!!! I made this, only to realize I only had half the amount of mozzerella called for so added monterey jack cheese also. Great recipe!!! I loved this as did my family. I will make this bread many times.....thank you so much for sharing this with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 29, 2010
"You Like Cheese?" Garlic Bread Spread