12 Reviews

I also did not have all ingredients but it was still pretty good. It isn't easy to make quinoa taste good, in my opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrew'sMom April 15, 2014

First time making quinoa. Will make it again. I didn't have the pepitas or fresh cilantro. Or green chilies. (Don't you hate it when people review recipes but don't have key ingredients!). Will make it again. Our quinoa package said it was pre-washed, so I just toasted it. Fun to try something new!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 July 09, 2010

I loved it, DH loved it. I did have to sub seedless jalapenos for the chili's (had none in the house) Will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChiefCook&BottleWasher May 17, 2010

Really good! Simple to make and flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikey & ev February 22, 2009

Delicious!! This was my very first quinoa dish, and wow, am I impressed! (and my roommate, too!) I added mushrooms and substituted jalapenos for the chilies. I am officially sold on quinoa now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s.elizabella February 16, 2009

This is the best quinoa recipe I've ever found! I made a couple variations by using a sweet vidalia onion, and adding chopped mushrooms and it was amazing! Thank you so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissHayley May 06, 2008

I served this quinoa with a pork loin for the meat-eaters, and a hefty serving was a good dinner for me (the veggie). Leftovers were tasty wrapped in a tortilla. It was a bit salty for me, so I'll omit the salt all together next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JocelynV February 13, 2008

Delicious! No bitterness at all. A great recipe for people trying quinoa for the first time. I have never used the method of toasting before the rinsing, or adding so many ingredients to the quinoa, but boy did both of them work, and well! I love pepitas, and can't imagine it without them. I forgot to put the salt in, and we didn't even miss it. The only thing you could possibly say this is lacking is color. It looks like from the photos that redsie added red pepper (?) to it, I think that would make it perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito July 15, 2007

This was delicious! I reduced the amount of cilantro to about half a cup because it can easily become too much for me. It turned out perfect and it was very easy and quick, not to mention healthy! I'll be making this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetySJD June 27, 2007

This was my first time trying out quinoa - followed your instructions - and it turned out delicious!! Will be making again for sure!! Used sunflower seeds instead of pepitas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie June 12, 2007
Quinoa With Latin Flavors