89 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love Quinoa, but never thought to toast it. One suggestion though. When you are rinsing the quinoa, save the rinse water. Pour it into a spray bottle and you have an organic liquid that repells insects. Use it on your vegetable plants. I wouldn't recommend using it on culinary herbs though as it could affect the taste. The coating of the quinoa, saponin, a resin-like substance is extremely bitter and forms a soapy solution in water.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deborahrah September 11, 2007

the best! you'll swear you added butter or chicken broth because the flavor is so rich and complex.... it should be noted that to cook the quinoa you should use two cups water to one cup quinoa. add salt to the boiling water. simmer with lid on for twenty minutes. remove lid and remove from heat, let cool for five minutes. could not be more simple or delicious!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neona503 September 14, 2007

I can't give this any stars (as I haven't tried it yet), but I noticed from a lot of the reviews that people were getting a bitter taste by cooking their quinoa without this method...? I wanted to mention that I buy Bob's Red Mill organic whole grain quinoa at Costco, and it says right on the package that it has been "thoroughly rinsed and air dried to remove the bitter saponins, so it can be used without rinsing". I was at Sam's Club the other day too, and I checked a bag of quinoa they sell there (also organic), and it said it had been rinsed as well. I don't rinse before I cook my Bob's RM, and it always tastes great. Maybe it's just the organic ones that rinse it first before selling it in stores. I don't know. Regardless, I do still plan to try your method of toasting, to add another depth of flavor to the quinoa. UPDATE 12/7/10: I was looking for a way to jazz up my quinoa, and I came back across this recipe/method. WOW, does it ever change the texture and flavor for the better! My quinoa started to smell like, hmm... popcorn-y almost, and I was worried I overtoasted it, but it came out really good. I was seriously thinking of finding random recipes to just use up my quinoa and just buy whole grain couscous after that, but this method has pulled me back in! I can definitely say I am a quinoa fan, and I will be using this method again and again. Thank you for posting it!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 December 07, 2010

I used this recipe to make WicklewoodWench's Wicklewood's Butterscotch Quinoa and it was fantastic. It made the grain nutty and so flavorful. I was amused while I was toasting the grains that they started "popping" like popcorn, although on a much smaller scale. I have cooked with unrinsed/untoasted quinoa, and while it was not bitter it had a sort of "healthy" taste to it. Eating quinoa after it has been toasted does *not* make me think "I'm eating health food", and that, my friends, is a very good thing. Thanks Dib!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two April 30, 2011

Really adds to the depth of the flavor of quinoa. From now on I will be making all my recipes with toasted quinoa.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbblampwork November 30, 2010

Be careful not to OVERtoast the quinoa! I left mine on too long attempting to get it "golden brown" and it tasted like burned nuts. LOL. I'll be more careful next time! Thanks for sharing! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessbride029 April 13, 2010

WOW!! :) Really does make all the difference in the world. Has such a beautiful flavor without the bitterness. I'm now in love with this grain and even my kids love it! Thanks for sharing, this is absolutely 5 STAR's!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dojochef August 09, 2010

Here's to a healthy New Year! I'm weaning off the calorie laden holiday food fest .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng January 04, 2015

dibs... I used your technique to make Debbwls Plain Quinoa and then went on to use it to make my Beef and Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers. Fabulous way to get the most out of your quinoa! Thank you for sharing this. Made for Culinary Quest 2014 / Suitcase Gourmets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 August 22, 2014

Thanks for posting!! I used my cast iron pan and used red quinoa. It was great! Thanks Dib's!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Goodall August 22, 2014
Quinoa-Toasted