Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quinoa-Toasted Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quinoa-Toasted

    Average Rating:

    88 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 88

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2007

      I love Quinoa, but never thought to toast it. One suggestion though. When you are rinsing the quinoa, save the rinse water. Pour it into a spray bottle and you have an organic liquid that repells insects. Use it on your vegetable plants. I wouldn't recommend using it on culinary herbs though as it could affect the taste. The coating of the quinoa, saponin, a resin-like substance is extremely bitter and forms a soapy solution in water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      the best! you'll swear you added butter or chicken broth because the flavor is so rich and complex.... it should be noted that to cook the quinoa you should use two cups water to one cup quinoa. add salt to the boiling water. simmer with lid on for twenty minutes. remove lid and remove from heat, let cool for five minutes. could not be more simple or delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      I can't give this any stars (as I haven't tried it yet), but I noticed from a lot of the reviews that people were getting a bitter taste by cooking their quinoa without this method...? I wanted to mention that I buy Bob's Red Mill organic whole grain quinoa at Costco, and it says right on the package that it has been "thoroughly rinsed and air dried to remove the bitter saponins, so it can be used without rinsing". I was at Sam's Club the other day too, and I checked a bag of quinoa they sell there (also organic), and it said it had been rinsed as well. I don't rinse before I cook my Bob's RM, and it always tastes great. Maybe it's just the organic ones that rinse it first before selling it in stores. I don't know. Regardless, I do still plan to try your method of toasting, to add another depth of flavor to the quinoa. UPDATE 12/7/10: I was looking for a way to jazz up my quinoa, and I came back across this recipe/method. WOW, does it ever change the texture and flavor for the better! My quinoa started to smell like, hmm... popcorn-y almost, and I was worried I overtoasted it, but it came out really good. I was seriously thinking of finding random recipes to just use up my quinoa and just buy whole grain couscous after that, but this method has pulled me back in! I can definitely say I am a quinoa fan, and I will be using this method again and again. Thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      I used this recipe to make WicklewoodWench's Wicklewood's Butterscotch Quinoa and it was fantastic. It made the grain nutty and so flavorful. I was amused while I was toasting the grains that they started "popping" like popcorn, although on a much smaller scale. I have cooked with unrinsed/untoasted quinoa, and while it was not bitter it had a sort of "healthy" taste to it. Eating quinoa after it has been toasted does *not* make me think "I'm eating health food", and that, my friends, is a very good thing. Thanks Dib!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      Really adds to the depth of the flavor of quinoa. From now on I will be making all my recipes with toasted quinoa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      Be careful not to OVERtoast the quinoa! I left mine on too long attempting to get it "golden brown" and it tasted like burned nuts. LOL. I'll be more careful next time! Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      WOW!! :) Really does make all the difference in the world. Has such a beautiful flavor without the bitterness. I'm now in love with this grain and even my kids love it! Thanks for sharing, this is absolutely 5 STAR's!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2014

      dibs... I used your technique to make Debbwls Plain Quinoa and then went on to use it to make my Beef and Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers. Fabulous way to get the most out of your quinoa! Thank you for sharing this. Made for Culinary Quest 2014 / Suitcase Gourmets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2014

      Thanks for posting!! I used my cast iron pan and used red quinoa. It was great! Thanks Dib's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2014

      That was fun! I rinsed the quinoa and toasted for exactly 15 minutes. I'm loving the taosty smell and hope that this will take me from a Quinoa 'meh' to an 'OH BOY QUINOA!' Made for Culinary Quest 2014

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2014

      Whoever thought of toasting quinoa is a genius and Dib's also a genius to posting this recipe. I have been eating quinoa for years without toasting, but toasting it makes it nutty and rich and extra delicious. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      I buy my quinoa at Costco, I've never rinsed it because it says on the package that it's already been done, I've never had a problem with it tasting bitter. This was, however, my first time toasting it, and I was really pleased. It tastes wonderful! BTW, I cooked the quinoa in my homemade chicken broth for extra flavor. This is the way I will make it from now on. Very good! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      This was my first time making quinoa. Even though the bag said it was already pre-rinsed, I rinsed it anyway. Toasting it really made a difference. The nutty flavor and healthy nature of this grain is going to give me an incentive to cook it again and again. I made pilaf with this batch but can't wait to be creative and use it in other recipes. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2013

      Gives quinoa great depth of flavor and takes away any bitterness. It smells great while its toasting...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      I've neve used Quinoa before but wanted to give it a try and sure glad I found this before I tried it, The hardest part for me was just draining the water off as I didn't have a fine enough strainer, the toasting went fine though I worried about over or under toasting. Used it to make a Spanish Quinoa and it tasted great and was DH approved so it most have worked. Now that I've tried this will have to use this wholesome grain in a lot more ways. Thanks for the information.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      Love this method - I have never had bitter quinoa but I have never had it taste like this either!
      Yummmmmmy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2012

      my quinoa doesn't need to be rinsed but i did anyway just in case the toasting wouldn't work. i noticed the temp was too high and it ended up sticking. i had to nurse it the whole time. i lowered the temp to low and it seemed to be ok. i did notice less bitterness and it seemed to taste better. i'll be doing this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2012

      I have never purchased or ate Quinoa before. I followed this recipe to a T. My son and I both loved it. I think I am going to try this sprinkled on things! No bitter taste at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      I tried this and it really did make a difference! I agree with the rater who said it starts to smell like popcorn when it's getting nice and toasty!! Thanks for posting--I'm just starting to make recipes with Quinoa....which I still can't stop thinking is quin-oh-ah instead of keen-wa (the proper pronunciation)!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      What a great, ingenious idea! Thanks so much for sharing, my first experience with quinoa has been heavenly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quinoa-Toasted

    Serving Size: 1 (170 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 625.6
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    14%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 109.0 g
    36%
    Dietary Fiber 11.9 g
    47%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 24.0 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites