Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quinoa Tahini Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quinoa Tahini Cookies

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-28 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2008

      I made a batch of these this morning. Oh my they are tasty little morsels. I used a teaspoon to measure each cookie and they came out the size of one of those vanilla waffers you buy in the box. I used peanut butter and used agave nectar instead of the honey. I used earth balance margarine instead of butter. I also used flaked Quinoa instead of the little round Quinoa only because I didn't have any of the grains on hand. I also used vanilla and put in about 1/2 cup chopped pecans. These hold together very well unlike regular peanut butter cookies that can be crumbly. I live up here on the mesa at 5,000 feet so I used all your high altitude suggestions. I'm very pleased and will give the tahini a try next time. You could probably add raisins or other dried fruits in these as well. Even chocolate pieces for something different. Thanks for this unusual cookie, I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      I tried these because they sounded so unique. And they are - and this is a good thing! I could really taste the honey and vanilla coming through in the cookie. I did not miss the eggs at all. In fact, these are a great recipe to do with kids because you can safely taste the batter. I soaked and toasted my quinoa first (I just used regular quinoa - not the flakes) and I did not find the cookies bitter. In fact, the quinoa added a nice crunch to an otherwise soft, slightly chewy cookie. If anything, the most different-tasting part of these is the tahini. It's not overpowering, but it gives the cookies a distinct flavor, which some might find on the bitter side. Next time I'm going to experiment with dipping or drizzling them in chocolate as I tried one while eating a piece of chocolate and it was soooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

    • on February 10, 2008

      The quinoa in this recipe is talking about the Quinoa FLAKES not the actual seed looking part. That is why is says like delicate oatmeal. Quinoa flakes can be found in the cereal section of your healthfood store (usually). Also, vanilla is only gluten free if it says it is gluten free!! As for the cookies, I have a similar recipe off my Quinoa Flakes box only it uses 1 cup rice flour, and 3/4 cup quinoa flakes. In fact this recipe is EXACT except for the high altitude changes. I made mine with peanut butter. I am the only one allergic to wheat and my WHOLE family (7 kids) loved these and so did I! I got 24 cookies out of it which lasted only until they cooled enough to touch. You have to let them sit on the cookie sheet about 5 to 10 minutes or they are too delicate and fall apart. I used parchment paper so I wouldn't have to deal with sticking. Also, we cooked ours for 15 minutes on the West side of Washington state. But it is raining right now so that most likely didn't help. The peanut butter covers the ricey and quinoa flavors. BTW, if you use whole quinoa you need to rinse it and toast it or the saponin will make them bitter and awful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I just used the quinoa straight (no rinsing), and substituted barley flour for the rice flour. I also added a bit of cinnamon. They are so delicate and flavourful! A really nice treat for our lower carb diet. I made the cookies small, about 1-1/2 inch diameter, which produced about 80 cookies!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      This is a really different recipe, but we loved it!! I love anything with Quinoa in it. I used peanut butter and whole wheat flour (didn't have rice flour) and they came out great. We loved the crunch of the toasted Quinoa (I followed other reviewers suggestions and toasted the Quinoa first). I will try them with the tahini and rice flour as well!! Great cookies, if you are on a restrictive diet or just like to try something different :):)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      My new favourite cookie. That is all I have to say about this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      These biscuits have an interesting flavour and texture and given I've moved to such a restrictive diet it was pleasing to know I could still have something sweet. They're definitely not the choc tim tams I used to enjoy but they're pretty good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quinoa Tahini Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (833 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 118.7
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    40%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 8.1 mg
    2%
    Sodium 92.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites