55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Having grown up lebanese and loving most of all the food, I never cared for tabouli. Yet, I know how healthy it is for you to eat all those things uncooked and I thought I would find a recipe that got good ratings. I am so glad I did! I have added to the my familys lebanese cookbook that has been passed down through the generations and this one will be passed on as well. We added cucumber, pine nuts, cilantro and garlic. Thank you again!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose's Granddaughter October 04, 2011

I had quinoa on my shopping list but managed to get home without it. So I used millet instead. Yummmm! And it hasn't even sat awhile yet.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoThyme2Cook April 02, 2010

YUM!!! Very good, and the only quinoa recipe I could get my kids to eat! The whole family loved it, plus it is very healthy-full of protein and veggies! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie.hurlbut November 06, 2010

This is delicious! Like another reader, I added cucumbers and fresh cilantro. I had also read somewhere to roast the quinoa first, which I did. It was excellent. I have added this to my favorites.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fificusteau August 04, 2014

This was just as expected, which is a taste combination that I love. For me, the full amount of lemon was delicious. Since my husband maintains a gluten free diet, I doubt that I will use bulgar in this dish again. I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GayleofUtah September 22, 2012

I really like this. I double the mint and halve the lemon juice. Thanks for this new version of tabouli!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlaskaStephanie April 15, 2011

This was a hit at our house! I used dried mint and parsley because I didn't have fresh but followed everything else exactly. It was light and refreshing and was a perfect compliment to fish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajean August 26, 2010

It tasted delicious but some people thought it was a bit too sour even though I only added 1/4 cup lemon juice--half what was called for. I also only used a tablespoon olive oil, which seemed plenty and kept the dish light and fresh-tasting. I would also prefer it with more veggies and less quinoa; next time I make this I think I'll add cucumbers and more tomatoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hanna Louise October 22, 2009

Wonderful now we can eat tabouli again! We are gluten free. This tastes fresh and almost exactly like the typical version but its healthier. We like to add a lot more fresh lemon juice than called for. I also throw in a couple pinches of cinnamon as I think Ive heard thats the secret to good tabouli. Make sure to wash the quinoa very well between your fingers while rubbing the grains together. I do not add as much scallions out of preference. I serve this on it's own or I have served it with Chicken With Sumac(Jujeh Al Sammak) and Cucumber Salad With Yogurt (Middle East, Palestine) for a good Lebanese/Palestinian meal. I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat September 14, 2009

Yum! This is mine and my husband's new favorite summer salad. I agree with other reviews that it is delicious hot or cold, with or without garbanzos added. My kids like it best with garbanzos so that is how we usually eat it. Thanks Justcallmetoni for the recipe post!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buschways October 02, 2014
Quinoa Tabouli