9 Reviews

OMG this might be the best thing I've ever made, and I'm definitely active in the kitchen. This is so satisfying and such a beautiful fall dish. I made the recipe as directed, with just a couple additions:

- Cooked the quinoa in vegetable broth instead of water
- Added dried cranberries along with the apricots
- Poured a splash of orange juice in the quinoa when adding the fruit and herbs

Also, don't skip the mint--it made me kind of nervous to use it, and I didn't add the entire 2T, but it made for such a unique and scrumptious flavor combo. My husband LOVED it, and he claimed to have never even heard of acorn squash before I bought it at the market to use in this recipe. I served it as a side with roasted Brussels sprouts and a pork loin, but it could also be a wonderful main dish. I plan to serve this again at Thanksgiving for the fam!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caitlin68 September 25, 2011

This was so good! I hadn't used honey before on squash and it was great. The quinoa stuffing is great, and would be good on its own too. I accidentally grabbed cilantro from the fridge instead of parsley and it was actually really good! Otherwise made as listed. Also sprinkled a little goat cheese on and that was also good, but would be fine without it. Will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jswinks January 03, 2015

Very nice. Mild flavors. Next time I'll punch up the seasonings. Thanks for the great recipe brokenburner....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender November 04, 2014

My family really enjoyed this. This was the first time I made a recipe with quinoa. Made with no substitutions and loved it as it is. The savory and sweet flavors blended well together for a very tasty dish. For those who might prefer a more savory flavor you might try adding more cumin or another savory herb or spice. I will try some cranberries next time for color and another layer of flavor. Will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bake-on! November 18, 2013

Definitely a weird flavor combination. It looked good for layering the flavors including toasting the nuts, etc. After reading the reviews I decided to go with the recipe exactly as listed & included the mint, cumin, cinnamon, ginger, apricots...but the flavors didn't seem to develop as a whole dish. Disappointed since I got excited after reading the other reviews. Needs some tweaking...maybe try omitting the above and replace with cranberries & chopped spinach...or olives and sun-dried tomatoes with some thyme and rosemary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vegascooker November 13, 2011

Delicious! My friend and I made this over the weekend, I am vegan so we subbed out agave nectar for the honey and added some mushrooms that we had sitting about and it was simply amazing.

This has to be my favorite quinoa recipe ever. A fab main dish as quinoa is a complete protein!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
H. Unger April 11, 2011

I really enjoyed this dish as well. I found the seasoning a bit on the bland side, so I used 1 cup of stock instead of water for the quinoa, but otherwise made as written. For me, the amount of quinoa was perfect, it's really tasty so could have eaten any extra up easily. The part I would probably change next time is to season the squash a bit before it goes in the oven. The honey just wasn't enough for us. Anyway, thanks for the great recipe, it was simple to make and much enjoyed. (Made for PARTY Dec09).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner December 11, 2009

this was the first time i have been able to get my partner to eat squash :) -- nice blend of flavors, easy to make -- great side dish

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inspiritual December 07, 2009

Gourmet! This is a fairly simple recipe using common ingredients. I would love this with a roasted turkey breast. My only recommendation is to first rinse the quinoa in a fine strainer for five minutes to take the bitterness out of the grain. Thanks for posting this delightful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaJuneBug November 15, 2009
Quinoa-Stuffed Acorn Squash