Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quinoa Stir Fry With Spinach & Walnuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quinoa Stir Fry With Spinach & Walnuts

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2011

      Not seeing it mentioned by anyone else, but I soaked my quinoa for about 18 hours before use (1 cup quinoa to 3 cups water & 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar for better assimilation of nutrients) and per other reviewer's recommendations, I used 4 times the minced garlic & added in diced onions & mushrooms when I put the garlic in. Used 2.5 cups of spinach & could have used another cup or two I think without it being too much. It was *fantastic* we absolutely loved it! This was my first try with quinoa & I think this recipe will become a staple- my picky DH really liked it, as did I & our 2 yr old. Our 5 yr old twins were harder to convince, but once they gave it a try they did like it as well. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      Love. It. This has become one of my regular go to recipes. I usually use a bit more garlic and include onions. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      Before today I had only tried quinoa with fruit - I was never very impressed. This recipe was the perfect combination of flavors... A definite must try if you are quinoa shy. The tomatoes and baby spinach give it a delicate sweet flavor and the cheese a mild salty flavor. Toasting the walnuts in advance enhance their nuttiness and make this recipe... well... perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      I've never tasted or eaten quinoa before but this was yummy! I did toast the quinoa first, as per recipe 16399. This recipe doesn't mention how much salt to use, so I went with about a teaspoon. Also it does not say how much spinach, so I used about two cups. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Toasting the quinoa is key and I will do this for all quinoa recipes in the future because otherwise I find it to be "raw" tasting. You can toast it in bigger batches ahead of time in a dry pan also. I used toasted pine nuts in place of the walnuts and I think it was a great flavor combination. I loved it, a friend of mine loved it, kids were lukewarm and husband also liked it. I will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      Loved this. I have never eaten nor used quinoa before. Made the mistake of soaking already cleaned quinoa - they sprouted! Decided to start again. Lost the walnuts in the kitchen and had to substitute with pecans. Yum but I think the walnuts would be even better (I found them when I was cleaning up after the meal so maybe I will make this again today!).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      May have enjoyed more with Feta cheese instead.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      This recipe won approval from all at my house. My husband used to be wary of vegetarian dishes. He's come a long way, but even I was surprised how he said how good this was several times. It was very satisfying and filling. The toasted almonds really make the dish in my opinion. I used mozzarella cheese in place of parmesan because that is what I had at the time. It was very good and I will be making it again for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      We loved this. The walnuts are important for a nice crunch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      A very substantial and healthy dinner tonight! I used cut up roma tomatoes since I was out of the little ones; seemed to work out just fine. Next time I would use less quinoa as there was quite a bit. Fresh basil is a great addition!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      Really loved this and so did DH! I added mushrooms to mine and served it with grilled chicken. Toasting the quinoa really added to the flavor, I also loved the walnuts. We'll be makng this again. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      I can't believe how much I loved this recipe. To be truthful I wasn't expecting much since last time I made Quinoa I came out to be glob of mush. The recipe is by far the best thing I have made on zaar (and I use zaar all the time). I used 3 large cloves of garlic and didn't use any basil. I sprinkled the cheese and walnuts on top instead of mixing them in. I didn't think the dish lacked in flavor like some reviewers said. The flavors were nutty, sweet from the tomatoes. YUM YUM! I sauteed some cubed chicken breast in Trader Joe's 21 Seasoning Salute for my husband to sprinkle on top. Thanks for a great dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      We love quinoa and I'm always on the lookout for new ways to make it. This was a great side and my son who always picks the tomatoes out of everything actually ate these. The next time I make this recipe I will use less cheese - it was a lot and made the dish a bit on the "gooey" side - the flavors were great - just didn't like the texture so I will cut back some on the cheese or just have it sprinkled on at the table. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      This was my first recipe using quinoa. It's definitely different, but we enjoyed it. We used feta cheese and canned diced tomatoes because that's what we had on hand. Don't leave out the cheese--it gives it much-needed flavor. Will be making again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Loved this! Toasting the quinoa first was really key. Dh hasn't had quinoa before and he was oooohing and aaaahing all through dinner. He said he wants it twice a week now. It's great because I get it really cheap in bulk at the health food store....shhhh...not many people know about this so it's not over priced!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      i used red peppers rather than tomatoes. and pecans because i had them on hand.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      Ok. I'm trying to not be so liberal with my 5 star ratings, but this is the best quinoa that i've ever had, and I've made LOTS and LOTS of quinoa. This is just filled with delicious flavour. Yum! I left out the cheese and I added some finely chopped mushrooms to the mix as well. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      This was really delicious! I only had red quinoa on hand, but it was great. Thanks!<br/><br/>I can't emphasize enough the importance of the step of rinsing/rubbing the quinoa in water before cooking it in any recipe. Quinoa is a seed that has a waxy outer coating, which comes off easily with a little water and rubbing it between your hands for a moment or two. If you don't, the wax has a bitter taste to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      This was delicious! I didn't have fresh basil, so I added a 2 Tbsp. of pesto that I had in the freezer with the quinoa. I can't wait to make this in the summer with garden goodies. Walnuts add a great crunch too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      Sorry, we didn't like this. It was very bland. Might be better if I used broth instead of water and seriously bumped up the seasonings. Also the recipe says to add salt but doesn't list it as an ingredient or say how much. I used about 1 tsp as another reviewer suggested. Wish I could rate this higher but I expected better after all the rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quinoa Stir Fry With Spinach & Walnuts

    Serving Size: 1 (111 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.4
     
    Calories from Fat 195
    54%
    Total Fat 21.6 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 7.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 174.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes