44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Not seeing it mentioned by anyone else, but I soaked my quinoa for about 18 hours before use (1 cup quinoa to 3 cups water & 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar for better assimilation of nutrients) and per other reviewer's recommendations, I used 4 times the minced garlic & added in diced onions & mushrooms when I put the garlic in. Used 2.5 cups of spinach & could have used another cup or two I think without it being too much. It was *fantastic* we absolutely loved it! This was my first try with quinoa & I think this recipe will become a staple- my picky DH really liked it, as did I & our 2 yr old. Our 5 yr old twins were harder to convince, but once they gave it a try they did like it as well. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cartertimesfive May 23, 2011

Love. It. This has become one of my regular go to recipes. I usually use a bit more garlic and include onions. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TallaMarie February 24, 2011

Before today I had only tried quinoa with fruit - I was never very impressed. This recipe was the perfect combination of flavors... A definite must try if you are quinoa shy. The tomatoes and baby spinach give it a delicate sweet flavor and the cheese a mild salty flavor. Toasting the walnuts in advance enhance their nuttiness and make this recipe... well... perfect!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene July 10, 2010

I've never tasted or eaten quinoa before but this was yummy! I did toast the quinoa first, as per recipe 16399. This recipe doesn't mention how much salt to use, so I went with about a teaspoon. Also it does not say how much spinach, so I used about two cups. Will definitely make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jujubegirl April 28, 2010

Toasting the quinoa is key and I will do this for all quinoa recipes in the future because otherwise I find it to be "raw" tasting. You can toast it in bigger batches ahead of time in a dry pan also. I used toasted pine nuts in place of the walnuts and I think it was a great flavor combination. I loved it, a friend of mine loved it, kids were lukewarm and husband also liked it. I will definitely make it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kandc88 March 21, 2010

Loved this. I have never eaten nor used quinoa before. Made the mistake of soaking already cleaned quinoa - they sprouted! Decided to start again. Lost the walnuts in the kitchen and had to substitute with pecans. Yum but I think the walnuts would be even better (I found them when I was cleaning up after the meal so maybe I will make this again today!).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen May 14, 2012

May have enjoyed more with Feta cheese instead.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IndyEater August 11, 2011

This recipe won approval from all at my house. My husband used to be wary of vegetarian dishes. He's come a long way, but even I was surprised how he said how good this was several times. It was very satisfying and filling. The toasted almonds really make the dish in my opinion. I used mozzarella cheese in place of parmesan because that is what I had at the time. It was very good and I will be making it again for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F April 03, 2011

We loved this. The walnuts are important for a nice crunch!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue October 09, 2010

A very substantial and healthy dinner tonight! I used cut up roma tomatoes since I was out of the little ones; seemed to work out just fine. Next time I would use less quinoa as there was quite a bit. Fresh basil is a great addition!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI May 12, 2010
Quinoa Stir Fry With Spinach & Walnuts