25 Reviews

I loved this salad! It was easy to make, healthy and hearty. Plus it would transport easily. Strangely, I liked it best when it was freshly made, the nuts were crunchier and the lemon tartness came through better. After being covered overnight, the tang from the sauce sort of disappeared. So if I were making the salad ahead, I might wait to add the lemon and nuts until just before serving.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook May 29, 2011

What a very tasty dish. The lemon, almonds and dill worked it! I didn't have cukes so I used good old zuchini, and I didn't have any raisins. I loved it. I'm sure it'll be my anytime of day eats. Bravo!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjones154 March 02, 2010

Made w/out dill or carrots 'cause I didn't have any. First experience w/ quinoa. Very pleased and picky son even liked it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Ann February 11, 2010

This was my very first taste of QUINOA and it is DEVINE !!! This salad had everything !! A bit tart from the lemon, a little sweet from the golden raisins, a bit of a garlic hit and great texture from the garbanzo beans ... OH MY, it is GOOD !!!! 5 STAR recipe for sure !!! Thank You for sharing :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P May 18, 2011

Excellent! I used the Toasted Quinoa recipe on this website to prepare the quinoa so it wasn't bitter at all. I made it for my vegetarian daughter, but can't quit eating it myself. I get a small bowl, eat that, fill it up again, eat that... Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F September 04, 2010

Delicious! I did not use the beans because I had none on hand. I did end up adding more olive oil to moisten things up. My one point would to be to let this sit overnight before serving; the flavors are very strong at first but mellow out and meld with a sit in the fridge.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buggybears April 16, 2008

Just had this at a work potluck and it got rave reviews from a group of over 30 people. The blend of foods was unexpected and I almost skipped it, but glad I didn't. Never been a quinoa fan. So that in and of itself makes it amazing. Will definitely make it as a go-to staple.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle M. March 14, 2016

This is the second time I've made this salad at the request of my husband and actually the whole family like it. I left out 2 items, only because I don't care for them personally, the dill and the green onion, but I don't think it deterred from the taste. Will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bea Perri September 01, 2014

This recipe is so good. I like to add goat cheese and sierra trail mix for more protein. Rave reviews from everyone who has tried it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie C. August 31, 2013
Quinoa Salad