40 Reviews

This tasted absolutely fantastic! It was not as creamy as (like a rice pudding) as you would expect and I didn't get that custard layer at the top like the photo shows. That's the only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars. Don't let the lack of creamy/rice pudding texture stop you from making this it's is REALLY REALLY good! Don't get me wrong, despite it having a different texture than expected, the texture was still quite good. Make it, you won't be disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joskid June 13, 2010

I tried this recipe tonight as a dessert and it turned out really well. I didn't use powdered milk and substituted 2% with a little half and half to make 1 cup. It didn't turn out as creamy as I had hoped, but I may not have cooked the quinoa enough before baking (I've only made quinoa one other time, so I wasn't entirely sure when it was fully cooked). The taste was really nice, however; just like rice pudding my mom makes. I'll definitely make this again as a way to get more quinoa in my diet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlboyle June 06, 2010

I LOVE quinoa and have been looking for yummy recipes. This was quite good. I didn't get the custard/quinoa in layers like in the photo. Mine looked like the bottom part only. The taste was really good, a little sweet for me personally. My eldest son loved it, my husband and the other two didn't care for it, but they don't like rice pudding or anything like that. I used 3 eggs (no egg whites) I used 1% milk (no dry milk.) I used chopped pecans instead of almonds and no currants. I will definitely use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ezri_B April 22, 2010

My first time ever making any kind of pudding. I give this 5 stars even though mine didn't come out like the pic i.e. with the custardy top. No doubt because I tweaked the recipe a bit. I used 2 whole eggs, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup mix of almond and soy milk and no sprinkled sugar on top, just cinnamon. I liked it when it came out but loved it for breakfast this morning - heated up. Thanks for the easy to follow recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rejuve March 18, 2010

This was a wonderful treat. I used fresh currants instead of dried because I had some. They gave a nice tartness to the sweet dessert. This was my first time using Quinoa and so far I am liking it. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wobin August 30, 2009

This is certainly not healthy. With only 1 cup of quinoa the rest is mostly sugar, eggs and milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canthelpmyself July 31, 2009

Healthy and nutritious! I enjoyed it. I added a half-cup of Splenda instead of sugar, which I prefer. I will add this recipe to my cookbook and will make it again. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Healthy Debbie March 29, 2009

Super delicious! We came across quinoa after reading Eat This, Not That and we gave it a try. Tips: Wash very, very well. Then toast it using the recipe for toasting quinoa on Zaar. This was sweet and I might try a little less sugar next time, but my 12 y.o. son loved it as is and ate the majority of it. I will definitely be making this again and again!! Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill M. March 12, 2009

This was a great dessert! I tweaked the recipe a bit, but stayed mostly the same. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
silversmile120790 February 24, 2009
Quinoa Pudding