Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quinoa Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quinoa Pudding

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2009

      Very very good.. I FELT like I was eating something more healthier, but need to cut down the sugar IMHO. Oh, my fault, but WASH THIS GRAIN VERY VERY WELL.. I could still taste an off flavor from it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      This was very good, but too sweet for my tastes. Next time, I will take your suggesting and reduce the amount of sugar. I did use a Splenda blend and omitted the currants. The currants would be a tasty addition, however. I thought the quinoa was a chore to clean and will look for an easier way to do this in the future, if there is an easier way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      Thank you for this recipe. I have made it twice now, and it is easy and tasty. I use craisins and walnuts. I like it cold for breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Finally found quinoa in a health food store, so this was an easy recipe to make! I do like sweet so included the full measure of sugar, & also increased the amount of cinnamon to a rounded 1/2 teaspoon ~ Ended up with a GREAT TASTING DESSERT, & one definitely worth making again! [Made & reviewed while on tour in South & Central America with the Zaar World Tour 4]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      Yummy! I didn't change much, just used 4 whole eggs instead of separating them, fat free half & half instead of nonfat milk and 1 teaspoon cinnamon instead of 1/8 teaspoon. I got the nice custard layer on top and the extra cinnamon really added a great flavor. Thanks for sharing this unusual recipe. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      This was very good. I really like quinoa, so it was nice to find a dessert that uses it. This pudding had a very nice texture and flavor. My pudding didn't form a custard layer on the top; I was a little disappointed, but it was good without it, too. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      This was my first quinoa recipe. My husband absolutely loves rice pudding, so I thought I'd try this. He did really like it. One thing though, there was no nice creamy layer on top of mine. Any ideas why that might be? I think I may have liked it more had it had that layer. Another thing, the brand of quinoa I bought (Bob's Red Mill - Organic whole grain quinoa) says, "...has been thoroughly rinsed and air dried to remove the naturally occurring bitter saponins, so it can be used without rinsing." So I skipped that step.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      This is a very interesting recipe, I have to agree. I found it okay, but my husband just loved it. It's a bit hard to find quinoa where I live, but I ended up finding it. Hubby added honey on top and just loved it. So I am giving it five stars. Thanks for a very different dish to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      Really interesting recipe! I love quinoa but I've never tried it in a dessert before; on one hand I thought it lent a slightly odd earthy flavor to the dish, but on the other, it was a really interesting substitute for rice, and it made me feel better to think about how much healthier this was than rice pudding. I must also say that I really appreciated Narshmellow's review... I was curious and tried to replicate it (in my case, 6 oz quinoa but double of everything else, using 2 c whole milk, 6 whole eggs, and ground almonds), and sure enough, the quinoa practically absorbed every drop of the custard during baking. (I did let it cool in the fridge for a few hours before I baked it, which might have given the quinoa more time to absorb.) I think you could add even more and be okay, particularly if you like the custardy top layer (my quinoa absorbed so much, the dish barely had any on top!). To accommodate the extra liquid, I baked mine in a 9 x 13 pan, and had to add about another extra 30 min cooking time (the refrigeration might have been a factor here too). Oh, and I put a bit of nutmeg in the cinnamon-sugar topping... yummy. Definitely one I'd make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      This was pretty good. I halved the recipe when I realized I only had 1/2 c quinoa. My sister and I ate it all because it was healthy tasting and delicious, but our husbands were not interested. If I make it again I will probably cook the quinoa until overly soft, but I may just switch it for the less health white rice which would be ohhh so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      This was really good. I had it for breakfast almost every day for a week. I put dried cranberries in it and used 1/2 cup of sugar. I think next time I will make half the recipe as I was the only one eating it, but not because it wasn't tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      This came out more like a corn bread than a pudding. If I were to make it again I would increase the amount of the liquid ingredients, I would probably add 1 egg and 1/2 cup of cream. My youngest 2 kids really liked it s is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This was really good, but a little different from what I was expecting. I was expecting a little more custard like I know rice pudding should have, but the quinoa part was pretty dry. Sweet, tasty, but not "pudding like" Does anyone have a solution to make the quinoa slightly creamier? Otherwise tastes really great even when made with Splenda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      I um... I sorta messed up when I made this and it still turned out wonderful. I used half the amount of quinoa (I was planning to half the recipe to see if I liked it) but I put in the full amount of everything else. I thought there would be a ton of custard (which would be fine), but the quinoa just soaked it in. I used whole milk as suggested in the recipe, 3 whole eggs (no egg whites), and honey (halved it because it's sweeter than sugar). I also used a baking spice mix recipe, found on Zaar, in place of the cinnamon and put in 1/2 tsp. This was a sweet, creamy, alternative to rice pudding that I just loved. Next time I make it I'm going to put almond meal in place of the chopped almonds. I loved the almond taste but I like a creamy pudding not with a crunch, and the chopped almonds were not my favorite thing in this. Thanks for a fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      This was super-yum! I'd never had quinoa before and was a bit skeptical. However, my husband and I were thrilled with how it came out. The only substitution I made was using soy milk instead of the non-fat. The hardest part of the recipe (I think) was cleaning the quinoa. Other than that, it was very easy to make. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • I loved it! It was yummy nice and hot out of the oven, and it was yummy cold the next day too! I'll deffinately bake this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      I'm sorry - I really wanted to like this but I couldn't eat it at all and the whole thing went in the bin. I've given 3 stars because, in the recipe's defence, I've never tried quinoa before I tried this recipe so it may be simply that I don't like quinoa, period, rather than I just don't like this recipe. I made the core version. Perhaps it just wasn't what I expected but I really struggled with the flavour - sort of overly eggy. It also tasted a bit burnt, although I didn't burn it (if that makes sense). It's not very sweet (it's probably better with the fruit and nuts), but that's not really a problem, and it didn't come out looking anything like the photo for some reason so perhaps I did something wrong. Anyway, I won't be having this again I'm afraid, but I still have half a bag of quinoa left so I'll try a savoury recipe with it next time and will re-evaluate whether my distaste for this recipe is due to a general dislike for quinoa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      YA! I've found a quinoa recipe that I LOVE! This is a keeper, a must try. I rinsed the quinoa 5 times before the water was clear. I didn't have non-fat milk powder on hand so I just used the nonfat milk and thought the end result was still very creamy and rich. I also chose to only use 1/2 cup sugar and felt it was plenty sweet for my own taste. I think the "brulee" type topping and the addition of almonds adds interest and a nice crunch. I didn't add raisins because I don't care for them. Thanks, Toni, for the terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      I like rice pudding and I loved this quinoa pudding recipe. The quinoa has a nice chewy texture. If you like rice pudding, you'll like this recipe - great for something different. I didn't use nuts or raisins - I used dried cranberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2006

      I'm new to quinoa and I really like the idea of using it in a sweet dish. I used whole milk and mixed dried fruit includ some citrus peel which gave it a lift. My almonds floated to the top and formed a rather lovely layer on top of a slightly custard-y layer above the quinoa and raisins. Its very compelling to eat (on my second helping...).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quinoa Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 204.4
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    16%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 42.2 mg
    14%
    Sodium 86.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 23.2 g
    92%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites