9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the recipe I've been looking for! I like my grains a little drier so in the future I'll try using less water, but otherwise it was great. The cherries plump up and add such a nice suprise to the pilaf. Thank you Rita!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daphne2002 March 05, 2003

i used craisins instead of dried cherries since that was what i had at home. came out perfect and is now a staple in our home.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adinascotch February 09, 2007

I too agree this lacked flavour, maybe adding some herbs would give it a boost, I used vegetable broth instead of water which I would say helped but still wasnt enough. Has potential though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
N0_0ne February 09, 2010

This was good but seems to need something more, just a bit bland for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma June 01, 2008

I liked this. My DH would have liked it more if there was more flavor. Which I agree with. I made mine with cranberries just because cherries are SOOO expensive. We served it with flank steak in a peanut sauce and sauted veggies. I liked it as a base recipe but felt it needed more flavor. I used chicken stock and also added mushrooms. I would add just more of everything over all, more garlic, onion, salt and pepper. I will use this again though as I enjoyed it and want to play around with it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saylaveev October 17, 2007

We really enjoyed this recipe. After rinsing the quinoa, I dry toasted it in a heavy skillet before adding the liquid. I too used chicken stock for better flavor instead of the water & couldn't help but add some sliced cremini mushrooms to the mix. My only complaint is that the usual ratio for liquid to quinoa is 2:1, and I found that the quinoa was cooked before the liquid had evaporated. Next time I would cut the liquid in the recipe back to 1.5 cups. Thank you Rita for shraing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ October 04, 2007

I really liked this recipe. Next time I will cook in broth for extra flavour. I also used Craisins as I did not have any cherries. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada August 27, 2007

This was delicious with grilled pork tenderloins. I used walnuts. The slight sweet of the cherries complimented the "fire" the pork had. Thanks, Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey August 26, 2007

Excellent!!! I love quinoa and loved the cherries and pecans with the nutty grain. My cooking method differed slightly because I was working with grain that I had already pre-toasted (Quinoa-Toasted)...I had some of this stored in my pantry to use up. I just added my water and grain together and simmered about the same amount of time that Rita suggested. So good...I loved the cherries in particular...I have not cooked with them before but I see a huge difference from the currents/raisins or craisins that are my norm - lovely & plump, with the perfect touch of tartness. Wonderful - Thank you for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free June 23, 2007
Quinoa Pilaf