Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quinoa Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quinoa Muffins

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 17, 2008

      JUST WONDERFUL!!! I have cooked and baked with quinoa before so knew to rinse and "massage" ( :) -:) it thoroughly before hand...for baking especially it helps to use the toasting method like in DiB's Quinoa-Toasted ~ the nutty flavor of the grain is improved greatly then...I flavored my cooked quinoa with a cinnamon, salt and brown sugar/splenda mix to prep it as well...I always flavor my ingredients as I go in baking...I added a full teaspoon of cinnamon in with the flour also because I love "spice" :) :) :) & I doubled up the vanilla because I read somewhere to do that for luck :) ??? or something :) ... I have no whole milk in the house right now because we are using soy so I used a mix of vanilla soy milk and vanilla yogurt and added one cup of this mixture...instead of literally using raisins I added over a cup of dehydrated fruit of my own making...I had a lot on hand right now because dehydrating is my new past time (lol) - (a yummy blend of dried berries, grapes, nannas and pineapple) ...also threw in a full tablespoon of flax-seed - this made it all extra yummy and I knew it was going to be good because I could not stop licking the bowl...5 star muffins the hugest hit I have had in forever ...everyone was like "what is this???"...SO YUM!!! ... Nutty, Earthy, Sweet *JUST WONDERFUL* - thanks so much Vino Girl - a fabulous recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      My favorite muffins, and favorite way to eat quinoa. The rinsing really does make a difference in bringing out the quinoa's flavor, so I wouldn't skip that step. I often omit the raisins, double the batch, and freeze most of the muffins individually wrapped in tin foil together inside a plastic bag. Then most mornings I'll pull one out, pop it in the toaster oven at 200-250, and voila! Delicious way to start the day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      Terrific...should really be tried! I normally wouldnt try a recipe with an ingredient I have never worked with before, like quinoa but because it was by this chef, and I really like her recipes, I went ahead and did and very glad too. Directions were very simple, ingredient list was easy too. I had a cup of quinoa that I bought to try but wasnt sure how I was going to try it. My 4 yr old suggested muffins. We used all organic ingredients, subbed white whole wheat organic flour for the regular flour. Had no raisins so put walnuts in walnuts and carob chips. The taste was very unique but not something you have to get use to. The taste was not overly sweet, but was not lacking in flavor. It had an earthy tone to it but not so much that you felt like you were eating something purely for the health aspect of it. The texture was nice too; not spongey at all. I will definitly make these again, and try adding a bit of flax and wheat germ (just to get some of the omegas and more fiber in for my daughter) with the flour part next time. Excellent recipe for a healthy breakfast, snack, etc... Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      These are awesome! I could never get my picky family to eat (and enjoy) quinoa, until now that is! These will be a tasty and healthy breakfast muffin in our home! I did use currants instead of raisins and used a full cup of them. I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon, and added 1 tbsp of lemon juice to my measure of 2 % milk. Thanks for sharing an awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      These were pretty darn fabulous! I followed the recipe but substituted olive oil for vegetable oil, whole wheat flour instead of all purpose flour and used buttermilk instead of whole milk. They turned out nice and light with a crunchy texture similar to cornbread. I will make these again - thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      OMG - These are great! I made mine gluten-free, using a combo of GF baking mix and almond and chia flours and added 3/4 teaspoon xanthum gum. I also used red quinoa. Love the flavor and the crunchiness in every bite. Thanks for posting ~ these are going to be a new family favorite. Made for ZAAR COOKBOOK TAG, May 2010!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Delicious! These turned out moist and are really flavorful. The quinoa adds a nice crunch to the muffin and the texture was cake-like and satisfying. I will make these again and again because my husband and I loved them! Thanks for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      For a recipe using quinoa, this is very good. My husband and I both like it. When I simmered the quinoa until it was dry, I did not sample it to see if it was completely cooked. They were a little crunchy biting into them, but that was my fault. Next time I will make sure they are completely cooked and tender before adding them to the mix. Thanks for posting this recipe. My husband and I are trying to go meatless 3-4 days a week, so this is a good way to get the protein needed in our diet. UPDATE: Had it with sweetened strawberries and Coolwhip last night. It was good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      Tasty and not very sweet. I made ours gluten free by using mainly white rice flour and some brown rice flour plus half the amount of tapioca starch. (I used a bit over 2 cups and increased the brown sugar slightly) I also added 1 tsp guar gum. I used a mix of red and white quinoa which I rinsed well and cooked with more water than called for. I used canola oil instead of vegetable, baking soda and 1 tbs organic apple cider vinegar for the baking powder, sea salt, less currants instead of raisins, 2 % milk as that is what I had on hand and alcohol free vanilla. They were really good when first made but they became too hard after cooking down for a few hours. I'm sure as stated they would still be soft though it's just my gluten free conversions that made them that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quinoa Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 254.9
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    23%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 17.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 257.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 17.8 g
    71%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites