Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quinoa Mexi 6-Layer (Ww Core) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quinoa Mexi 6-Layer (Ww Core)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2010

      Very good recipe! This was my first attempt at using quinoa - I want to start using it more, b/c of its health benefits. This was a great first impression!! I pretty much followed the recipe to a T, but I did spice it up a bit by adding diced jalapeno, cumin and ground chipotle pepper when I cooked the onions/garlic. And I didn't have any coriander, but I really wished I'd had some fresh cilantro, b/c that would be really nice as garnish on this. Otherwise, for small changes, due to using what I had on hand, I used diced tomatoes and frozen corn, as well as regular cheese. I don't think I did anything different that changed the niceness of this recipe, as is. Servec w/ a little bit of sour cream = perfection. I like the idea of using it in torts - we'll probably do that w/ the leftovers. Oh, one other thing - I should have used a 9x13, but I used a large casserole (smaller than 9x13) and it took much longer to cook. It definitely needs a 9x13! Thanks for great recipe! It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      My entire family loved this! It's like a taco in a pan. Kids added sour cream to theirs, we tried to hold ours to the 7 pts. Really liked how the quinoa turned out; I'll be toasting first in all my recipes now. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      Very good! I added the cumin as suggested, but I also increased the amount of chili powder that it called for. Then I placed it on a bed of lettuce. It was yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      This turned out great. I used low fat cheese instead of soy cheese. Only complaint is that it was on the dry side but that may be because I drained the tomatoes. May try adding some enchilada sauce next time. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      This was super! Nice take on a Mexican lasagna. I added a teaspoon of cumin and used frozen corn, a small can of tomatoes and regular cheese (but a lot less). Also, I always toast my quinoa dry (not wet) in a pan before rinsing it so it develops those nutty flavors, and use twice the liquid as the dry (ie. 2 cups of water). I think this would also be great without the meat too. The nonfat sour cream on top is a must, yum! Served 6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Even my husband loved it! I used a can of diced tomatoes and ground turkey instead of the beef. Also, real cheese instead of the soy. You can definitely play around with the seasoning to your own liking. We topped with ff sour cream and hubby rolled his in a tortilla. Love the quinoa- so healthy for you too! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      I think my husband may actually be addicted to this... We used ground turkey instead of beef, Herdez' verde salsa, and mozzarella, and it was delectable. Had it as a dip one night (with chips), and as burritos for lunch the next day. My husband also snuck a serving for breakfast, and made it into a breakfast burrito. We will definitely do this again. **UPDATE** Oops, forgot to mention that we topped it with jalapeno slices, which added a great amount of kick to it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      I made this for my family who had their minds made up about them not liking quinoa; but once they started eating this they couldn't stop!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      What a really great recipe this is! I went with regular cheese (sharp cheddar and used a little less to keep the flavor but save on calories) and a little less salsa but otherwise followed this as written, and I loved the flavor so much! It was very much like Mexican food but without the usual guilt. Instead of one large pan, I split this in half into two 9" pie pans, put one in the oven and the other in the freezer unbaked (used hot water on the bottom of the pan once frozen to pop it out and to vacuum seal it). I cannot wait to have that other one that's in my freezer. :) Thank you for a healthy alternative for my cravings!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      This was just OK for us. It definitely reminded me that I'm on a diet. I've made dozens of CORE recipes and many with quinoa. This just needed spicing up a bit. We topped with ff sour cream and that helped. I also drained the corn (not stated), started layering in a large round casserole dish, but found this wasn't big enough. So, I had to carefully re-arrange it into a 9x13" glass pan, which meant I lost the layering effect. Thanks Whirlwind for a healthy dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2013

    • on June 03, 2013

      This went over super well in our house! I had to leave the cheese off this time, but it was fantastic without, and I imagine some Daiya would only make it better! Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      YUM, even my teens gobbled it up! I was not concerned about calories so I did not follow WW suggestions. I used my own taco seasoning in place of seasonings & onion, used navy beans (our preference), no corn, added Rotel tomatoes, regular bottled salsa> more than suggested. I added the drained Rotel tomatoes to the cooked quinoa, beef and then a layer of cheese, salsa, beans, more cheese. Baked @400?F for 30 minutes. Served topped with avocado & cilantro and corn chips. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2013

      I am new to quinoa and have been scouring for recipes that use common ingredients that I have on hand (quite a challenge!) This one hit the mark and was SO delicious! I didn't have the spices called for, so I substituted a pack of low-sodium taco seasoning...worked fine, could use chili seasoning as well. Also, Hubby and I are not Weight Watchers, so I used 2 cups of medium cheddar, added a can of sliced black olives to the layers, used a whole small jar of salsa, and we topped our servings with dollops of sour cream. We used Fritos Scoops as our utensils and it was fabulous! This recipe made so much (be sure you use a 9x13 pan!) that I took enough leftovers to work for me and a friend, who loved it as well. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      This recipe was really easy to make and was really tasty. I didn't have corn so chose to not substitute anything else for it and it still tasted great. I ate it by putting it on romaine lettuce leaves and rolling like a tortilla. Fantastic if you feel like a mexican food night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2012

      This was very excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      This was my first adventure with Quinoa. It was good. I made some substitutions based on what I had on hand, and spiced it up a bit. I'll definitely be making this again, but there is no mistaking that this is a healthy low fat / low calorie dinner. UPDATE: We think this is even better as left-overs on the second day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      Yum! I let my husband talk me into using a couple Costco sized cans of roast beef instead of running to the store to buy hamburger, and am I glad I did. I don't think I'll ever make it any other way. I followed the rest of the directions for preparing the meat layer and it was a fantastic shredded picadillo-style beef. I also added some sliced black olives just before the cheese, and used regular sharp cheddar instead of soy cheese. I assume that makes it non-CORE, but I'm not on the program, so doesn't matter at my house. Served with light sour cream and it didn't taste like diet food to me at all. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      Nice way to use quinoa. Have been using the leftovers in tortillas. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Loved this recipe & the incorporation of the quinoa. I made the dish pretty close to the written recipe, just increased the beef & added abit of essence spice for more flavour. Quick, easy & tasty dish, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quinoa Mexi 6-Layer (Ww Core)

    Serving Size: 1 (235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 303.0
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    19%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 35.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 57.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 22.3 g
    44%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Herdez red salsa

    soy cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes