20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The whole family loved this. I added some water and rinsed, uncooked quinoa rather than cooking the quinoa separately. Worked great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingernut July 10, 2010

Glad I found this here so I don't have to type it in myself! We liked it a lot. I'm always looking for quinoa recipes. I used 3 10-oz. cans Rotel tomatoes and left out the raisins. Next time I'm going to add some cubed sweet potatoes or butternut squash. I'll also make it spicier and use ground turkey as others suggested.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fran6 June 22, 2009

We ultimately decided we liked it (much better on the second day after the flavors have melded -- yes you would want to mix this with the quinoa to go for the max blending of flavors), but the combination of flavors does take a bit of getting used to. I would skip the raisins next time -- this recipe is non-committal...either go all out with the sweet (1/2 cup+ raisins) or skip them altogether, because it was weird getting that super-sweet taste in every 3rd or 4th bite...sort of a shock to the palate. Just a helpful hint, 3 cups of cooked quinoa is about 1 cup uncooked (or a bit less). If you can't find diced tomatoes with green chiles, get a 28oz can of diced tomatoes and a small 6oz can of diced green chilies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie F. March 23, 2009

This was lovely. I added four slices of minced jalapeno to a 28 oz tin of diced toms, I also used 1/2 and 1/8 tsp of ground cumin to compensate for a lack of seeds... Anyway, this was awesome - so comforting. The raisins were a delight and the olives satisfying, and there was beef in every bite AND it's amde with quinoa - we love quinoa! Thanks so much for sharing. Going into the five star, make again file!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo June 16, 2008

I was originally intrigued with this recipe, but didn't know how all of the spices plus olives/capers plus raisins would be. I needn't have worried, because this is an amazing dish. It has become a favorite with my family. I generally serve it mixed with brown rice instead of quinoa, and have made it with both lean ground beef and ground turkey. Both versions are delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samara_matheson May 13, 2013

Wonderful! The quinoa makes this a hearty, filling, and healthy stew using relatively little meat, and the spices and the sweet/salty/tart combination of the raisins/olives/capers give it a nice complexity and slightly exotic taste. Definitely a keeper. Thanks, Engrossed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hermetix January 24, 2012

This was so delicious! I used tomatoes with hot chilies, so there was a little kick. The raisins - I used golden - added a perfect counterpoint to the spiciness. I used a chili powder mix that had cinnamon and a hint of cocoa in it. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky October 14, 2011

As most, I was not sure what to think, but this is such a delicious and unique dish. I used basmati rice and half the amount the dish calls for, which really lets you enjoy the variety of flavors. And super quick and simple to make! Plus, just as good the next day for leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blanquita March 20, 2011

Wow, this was a great dish! The flavors just really all sing together. I used 2 red bell peppers, half the meat (actually veggie crumbles), half the salt, and left out the raisins. I followed a reviewer's calculation of 1/2 cup dry quinoa and thought cooked it was the perfect amount for this. Next time I will double the capers. It sounded good, but tasted even better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito April 02, 2010

Made this with ground turkey and barley. Yummy! I made this for the family so I had to leave out the heat for my kids. My husband and I added some peppers to ours and that really made a difference. Will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmaiorana December 07, 2009
Quinoa Beef Picadillo