Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quinoa Banana Bread, Regular or Sugar Free Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quinoa Banana Bread, Regular or Sugar Free

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2011

      So far, so good! I have very picky two year old twins, who like banana bread, so I'm giving this a whirl to try to get some more whole grains in them. I kept to the recipe with the following modifications: 1/3 c. brown sugar 1/3 c. white sugar (I like the moistness), added 1 tsp. vanilla extract and 1/2 tsp. almond extract. And, I couldn't tell if you meant 2/3 c. cooked quinoa or 2/3. dry, cooked, so I added 1 1/3 c. cooked quinoa just to make sure. (Figuring the dry would double in volume as it cooked.) Seems to be good. I also omitted the nuts. I just put the loaf in the oven and I'm pretty excited! Thanks for a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      This was delicious! First time I have cooked/baked with quinoa. I doubled the recipe, added sugar free applesauce to equal 4-1/2 cups of mashed banana, as I didn't have quite enough ripe bananas. Also added 1 cup of dried cranberries as suggested in an earlier review, and 1 cup of toasted walnuts. I used a blend of splenda/splenda blend, xylitol and sugar to equal the 1-1/3 c of sweetener to double the recipe. The bread was nice and sweet. Made 3 standard loaves, that all rose evenly when baked 45-50 mins. @350. Moist and delicious. On to the freezer with two of them! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      This is the first time I have ever baked with quinoa and it was so easy! I made this recipe wheat/gluten free by omitting the wheat flour and replacing it with quinoa flour. I did not have enough bananas and had nothing else to add to make up for it. I have just taken them out of the oven and tasted them and they taste pretty good. It definitely needs that extra mashed banana is my version bit that's obly because I was short of it originally. Maybe next time ill swap the quinoa grains for chia and add extra banana or some other fruit for more flavour. Definitely a keeper though as it seems you can change the variations here and there, thanks so much for posting! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      This was phenomenal! Very moist and lovely, it is absolutely my new favourite banana bread :) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      I made these egg-free by using flax seed and water in place of the eggs. I also made the recipe into 12 large muffins. It was delicious. You cannot tell that they are whole wheat & quinoa. This is going to replace my stand-by banana muffin recipe (white flour) from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      We enjoy quinoa and I try to use it often. This bread was nice, but did not slice very well and cooking time was much longer than stated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      Very good!!!!! I used about 1/4 cup of regular white sugar but it was so good. :) Thanks for the awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2006

      This was delicious! I am always looking for recipes using quinoa, so I was thrilled to find this one. The loaf turned out very moist with a wonderful flavor. I did add 1/2 tsp. banana extract to the batter (I do this anytime I make banana bread). Also, I baked it in a cast iron loaf pan. The recipe did not state how long to bake, so I baked the loaf until it tested done (1 hour & 15 minutes). My family really enjoyed this and I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

      I just made these in muffin tins and they are delicious! My husband loves them (I did not tell him they were made w/ quinoa or whole wheat flour until he had tried them because that kind of thing might have put him off). They only took 25 minutes in the muffin pan before they were golden-brown and ready. Substitutions: I only had 3 bananas so I threw in a ripe nectarine too. Also, I didn't have very much white sugar so I added brown sugar and date sugar to bring it up to 2/3 of a cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      All I can say about this recipe is WOW! I'm not really fond of banana bread, so I really made this for the family. I figured I needed to taste it, and was so happy with it. The quinoa and the whole wheat flour gives it an extra-nutty taste. It was not too sweet and not to banana-y. I omitted the extra egg-yolk, and was a little short on the bananas; and used butter-flavored crisco rather than butter....trying to cut cholesterol a bit. This took quite a long time to bake. I lost track of time, but I kept checking and baking 5-10 more minutes..I must have done that enough times to get my back time to around 60 minutes maybe. I'm not sure, I lost track. I'm so happy with this recipe, and am thrilled that you posted it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quinoa Banana Bread, Regular or Sugar Free

    Serving Size: 1 (1113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3432.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1429
    41%
    Total Fat 158.8 g
    244%
    Saturated Fat 68.4 g
    342%
    Cholesterol 782.0 mg
    260%
    Sodium 2703.1 mg
    112%
    Total Carbohydrate 464.8 g
    154%
    Dietary Fiber 47.6 g
    190%
    Sugars 178.0 g
    712%
    Protein 72.3 g
    144%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites