Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quinoa and Oatmeal Cereal Heart Healthy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quinoa and Oatmeal Cereal Heart Healthy

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2012

      Yum, this is great! I used a Gala apple and the dried cranberry option, and topped with some delicious local honey from the farmer's market. We really enjoyed the blend of oats and quinoa. Thanks for sharing! Veggie Swap 51

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      Most of my family are quinoa lovers. We have a few vegetarians, so we eat it often. That being said-we loved this. I made it with a 12 grain rolled cereal mix, Gala apples and a combination of raisins and dried cranberries-I didn't have enough cranberries. I made a triple batch with our brunch, hoping to have some left over for the rest of the week. If I'm lucky, it'll last till tomorrow morning, lol. Too good and good for you. I had no problems with the amount of liquid BTW.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      I made this as described, doubling the recipe. I think it needed more liquid because within 15 minutes all my liquid was absorbed and the cereal started sticking to the pan. Figuring it was ready, I took it off the stove, but it was still a little crunchy. I like the idea of this breakfast since it is so healthy, but it is something to get used to. My kids are not used to quinoa and the nuttiness threw them off at first. They came back after an hour and ate it, but you could tell at first they were hesitant. I will try this again with more liquid to see if I can get the texture creamier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      I love steel cut oats, so very good for the hearts of the ones I love so dearly. Unfortunately my little clan doesn't like quinoa. I usually substitute it for half the rice in a recipe and they do complain although they eat it anyways. But this was a winner. I will say that I've been experimenting with creamy steel cut oats ever since I saw Alton on the Food Network. I've always made per directions on package and they come out dry needing much more milk and sugar and whatnot. So because I've been experimenting with creamy oats I just incorporated the ingredients of this recipe into what I've been doing. I upped the water to 2.5 c and added one 12 oz. can of evaporated milk. Simmer it all covered for about 35 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes and we are good to go! My family heartily ingested without even noticing the "offending" quinoa-SUCCESS!!! Thanks so much, Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      What a fabulous recipe to elevate my morning oatmeal to a new level. I love the nutty flavor of the quinoa. I never would have thought to add quinoa to oatmeal, and I like it! Just the right amount of cinnamon and fruit. I was happy to see no extra brown sugar in the recipe -- it's not needed. I used steel-cut oats, but this recipe would work equally as well with old-fashioned oats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      I found this recipe the day after I found out my cholesterol levels were high. I have been working hard to bring those numbers down and to lose weight. This recipe is now a staple of my heart healthy lifestyle. Turns out my sons love it also so I double or triple the recipe. I make it as is ~ and enjoy each bite !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      This is healthy and good. I used old fashioned oats as that is what I had. I will try to buy steal-cut oats for this and try this again. I did find sticking occurred like another reviewer I believe we are not meant to cover the pan? I used a gala apple like another reviewer. I used dark raisins and I didn't relies I was supposed to toast the walnuts which I can imagine would be tastier so next time I will do so in a dry pan. I used spring water, and served this with local unpasturised (raw) honey and would like to try this along with banana slices the next time. Made for Veggie Swap 23.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      If you like quonoa as much as we do, I urge you to try this. It is about as good as it gets for breakfast. And healthy--I made it w/dried cranberries and Gala apples. Full of flavor, and hard to believe--it is good for you! Rita, you have made a family happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quinoa and Oatmeal Cereal Heart Healthy

    Serving Size: 1 (214 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 217.6
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    21%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    31%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes