53 Reviews

Very light and fluffy rolls! I doubled the recipe and made the dough by hand. I did halve the sugar and didn't brush them with honey butter because I wanted to use them as sandwich buns, rather than dinner rolls. I used bread flour, and needed about 1 cup less for the double batch. Having just finished a sandwich made with one of them, I can tell you I'm very happy with the recipe. I did notice that the amount of salt called for is a bit less than usual in bread recipes. I think that those people who complained that there was no flavor would be happy if they doubled the salt. I'm quite pleased with the present amount, though. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe with us. Oh, the double recipe yielded 17 60-gram rolls.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao October 29, 2011

I really LOVE this recipe...it's my "go to" recipe when I want really good, fail-proof dinner rolls. My whole family LOVES them!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQSooner September 05, 2010

These were the largest, fluffiest yeast rolls I have ever made. I did not need to adjust the wet or dry ingredients for the bread machine. I used exactly what the recipe called for.I divided the dough into thirteen 2.3 ounce rolls. After the first 10 minutes of baking, I brushed them with melted butter and then continued baking. Great, great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon July 23, 2014

I have been making these for about a year now and they are the most requested bread I make. Easy dough to work with and the results out of the ABM are always great I could make them every day and never have leftovers. I use this to make my burger buns also, brush with egg and sesame or poppy seeds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djbigdonna_4263644 July 22, 2014

I am fairly new to bread making. I've tried this recipe a few times with varying degrees of success. But I'm pretty sure that has more to do with me getting the hang of bread making than the recipe itself. Tonight, I mixed everything except for the flour and, instead of measuring the flour, just added enough to form a decently non-sticky dough. Then, I kneaded the dough with just enough flour to not stick to my work surface, just long enough to not be too sticky. Since I used rapid rise yeast, I let the dough rest, covered, for ten minutes. Then, I shaped the dough into balls and let them rise in a greased cake pan, covered with a damp hand towel, for about 30 minutes. I brushed the tops of the dough with melted margarine and baked them at 350 degrees to an internal temperature of 195 degrees (about 15 minutes). The only thing that could've stopped me from thinking these were really Quincy's type rolls was that they were very pale. But they tasted great! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire May 22, 2013

I loved the recipe. It didnt' involve any crisco which is really messy to work with! It was easy and rose well from the bread machine. I didn't worry too much about time--just cooked them when they looked big enough. Problem is...I love bread, and these had no gratifying satisfaction. My cravings weren't fed. It's certainly worth a 2nd try though & maybe I'll double the salt as one reviewer suggested or add more sugar as someone else said they did. The one change I did make on first try was having one cup of wheat flour. I thought that substitution turned out well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em February 17, 2013

I have made these several times for my family. They are light and fluffy. I even used AP flour because I did not have any bread flour on hand and they still came out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deme_32127_11395914 November 29, 2012

I've made these many times and as I type this, I have a batch on it's second rise,,they are TOTALLY AWESOME !!!!! Thanks Very Much for this recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeep65 June 18, 2011

This was good! I wish I had honey butter for the roll. I did use more sugar - 1/2 cup total. It was sweet! If you put bread crumbs on the top, it is very similiar to Pan De Sal-Filipino bread! :) I'm giving this 4 stars, because every bread recipe should recommend to proof your yeast before starting, that way you are sure for success!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoraGregory January 12, 2011

Best rolls I ever made. I did make a few changes. I did a recipe and a half with only one egg, and a bit more sugar than it called for. Thanks for sharing an incredible recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tugar357 December 24, 2010
Quincy's Yeast Rolls