23 Reviews

Made this last night using 95% lean ground beef, light sour cream, and 2% cheese for a lower calorie and lower fat version. It was excellent. Thanks so much for the recipe. A new no guilty comfort food for our household.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cle0369 August 11, 2011

This was very tasty! I put a little cumin in the ground turkey to give a little more flavor and used stewed tomatoes to keep it a little lighter.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandra S. February 11, 2009

Very good. I used ground turkey and whole wheat rotini....definitely a keeper, the kids and husband loved it!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicagoering July 13, 2010

I made this with ground turkey as I find myself always using ground beef, so I fancied a change! Can't believe how easy this was to make and how delicious. I kept going back for more and it made for great leftovers the next day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog March 16, 2016

Great recipe and everyone loved it! Even a picky toddler. I used 93% lean turkey and tri-colored macaroni (the kind that adds one serving of vegetables). Next time I will try low fat sour cream and less cheese for a healthier version. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meredithm8119 March 03, 2016

Had to make several modifications, but it turned out great anyway! Used ground turkey and gluten-free penne (quinoa, rice, corn blend) and Ragu for the sauce. Didn't have sour cream, or gf cream of mushroom soup so I just left that out. Topped with 75% cheddar cheese and 25% Parmesan. Since I made a small amount, it only took 20 minutes to bake. Will try again with correct ingredients - Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiffany J. July 01, 2015

Simple, fast recipe that delivers a delicious meal in no time. I made this last night and my boyfriend loved it. Like another reviewed, I also seasoned my meat with cumin while browning it in the pan. I added minced green and red peppers and onions for extra flavour and was generous with the garlic. It's an easy way to sneak in more veggies. I omitted the sour cream as I didn't have much on hand and didn't grease the pan. Turned out great and I'll be making this one again soon

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie Lou Who June 24, 2015

Easy and yummy is correct! Few changes I made (just to use what I had on hand): quinoa penne for pasta, turkey for meat, 1/2 cup greek yogurt instead of sour cream and Mexican blend cheese. Thanks for an easy meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfhouser January 24, 2015

Made this today and it was wonderful. I used spaghetti noodles broken into fourths and prego spaghetti sauce. Loved the taste of the sour cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Posiespocketbook June 05, 2013

This was very good, but my one complaint is that there didn't seem to be nearly enough tomato sauce. I'd say only 1/3 of my noodles wound up with tomato sauce on them, the noodles more towards the bottom of the dish just had sour cream. Perhaps the dish is supposed to be like this, but since there was so little tomato sauce it wound up kind of bland to me. I did enjoy it very much so next time I would either use less noodles or perhaps add at least another 8 oz. of tomato sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephanieNS March 18, 2013
Quicky Ground Turkey or Beef Casserole