19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this last night using 95% lean ground beef, light sour cream, and 2% cheese for a lower calorie and lower fat version. It was excellent. Thanks so much for the recipe. A new no guilty comfort food for our household.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cle0369 August 11, 2011

Very good. I used ground turkey and whole wheat rotini....definitely a keeper, the kids and husband loved it!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicagoering July 13, 2010

This was very tasty! I put a little cumin in the ground turkey to give a little more flavor and used stewed tomatoes to keep it a little lighter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandra S. February 11, 2009

Easy and yummy is correct! Few changes I made (just to use what I had on hand): quinoa penne for pasta, turkey for meat, 1/2 cup greek yogurt instead of sour cream and Mexican blend cheese. Thanks for an easy meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfhouser January 24, 2015

Made this today and it was wonderful. I used spaghetti noodles broken into fourths and prego spaghetti sauce. Loved the taste of the sour cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Posiespocketbook June 05, 2013

This was very good, but my one complaint is that there didn't seem to be nearly enough tomato sauce. I'd say only 1/3 of my noodles wound up with tomato sauce on them, the noodles more towards the bottom of the dish just had sour cream. Perhaps the dish is supposed to be like this, but since there was so little tomato sauce it wound up kind of bland to me. I did enjoy it very much so next time I would either use less noodles or perhaps add at least another 8 oz. of tomato sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephanieNS March 18, 2013

ALL FOUR of my family members ate the whole portion they were served... and two had seconds!!! This was really simple but really great comfort food. We have had a rough week, and it was a lovely break for us. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkNMomma January 15, 2013

Tasty! I can see this being a family fav! I did kick it by adding onions, chili, carrot, parsley,squash n basil. I need to get healthy veggies into my guy. I used 4 cups cooked elbow macaroni same amount ground turkey but added all the veggies, twice the amount home grown tomato sauce and used 1 cup strained kefir in place of the sour cream. I should have mixed in some of the cheese with the elbows. My choice of cheese was cheddar and mozzarella using 2 cups.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ September 25, 2012

Was a win at my house! really good... didn't change anything. really simple and mmmmmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shamrockkiss March 20, 2012

OMG! I needed something new to do with my ground turkey. Kudos to this recipe it was a hit with my picky family. I love it, it is a keeper! I used egg noodles instood of macaroni.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TCBrinkley October 26, 2011
Quicky Ground Turkey or Beef Casserole