Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quickie Hollandaise Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quickie Hollandaise Sauce

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2012

      This was very easy and creamy, a nice texture consistent with hollandaise. However, I personally hated the flavour- way too lemony, not rich enough for my personal taste. And my eggs were definitely at room temperature. I've made hollandaise the traditional way without any problems so not sure what the issue here is, I followed the recipe exactly. Mine did not get curdled or come out too thick or too thin at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      I'm a holandaise lover and this recipe is SINFULLY DELICIOUS!! It's very creamy and has a nice lemony kick. Although, when it bacame too thick I added 1 TBS of hot water and that worked beautifully. This recipe is so simple and quite easy. Definitly a keeper! Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      This was so easy....and delicious. It's almost hard to goof up. I did take the pan off the heat when I added the yolks. What a great find. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      This recipe was easy to make and tasted wonderful! I did not measure the lemon juice and kept adding more to taste (I like mine lemon-y). For Erik, I would suggest making sure the egg yolks are at room temperature. Mine were not, but I put the mixture back into th pan I had heated the butter, salt, and lemon juice in. It was a non-stick pan and it was still slightly hot. It helped to cook the yolks enough to thicken the sauce. The sauce also did get thicker after it sat for a few minutes. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I had never made a hollandaise sauce from scratch before. This was so simple and so yummy. No more packaged ones for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Very quick, very easy, and very flavorful. If I make it again I will definitely up the lemon juice, but we were very satisfied with this. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      I don't even feel right giving it a star rating as it curdled and did not blend in at all. I was very careful about the temp, perhaps its because I used a Le Creuset saucier pan and it retained too much heat but this was a total bust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Very quick, very easy...even easier than the packaged sauce from the grocery store. If you like a little more kick from your sauce, add extra lemon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      The trick to this sauce is to get the sauce right to the almost boiling point (small bubbles). You then add the egg yolks very quickly and it immediately cooks them. Make sure the butter/lemon isn't too hot or you'll scramble it...or if it isn't hot enough, it won't cook and will be very thin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      I have made hollandaise sauce a total of three times in my life. This made #4. I always thought it was too much work. Now, having found this,I will make it often! Served with roasted asparagus!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      Very nice sauce - came out a lovely golden color. I was in a bit of a pinch and didn't have any lemon juice, so I used orange juice and added a tsp of prepared mustard (I like the flavor and I like how the vinegar in the mustard helps the sauce along). I followed step 1 and then whisked the yolks in a seperate bowl, adding one tablespoon of the hot butter at a time, so as not to cook the egg and cause the sauce the fall out. Was a bit thinner than I'm used to, but folks liked the mild citrus flavor the orange imparted. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Excellent and easy! It got a little thick so I thinned it down with just a little bit of hot water, maybe a tablespoon. Just used a small saucepan on the stove, didn't have any scorching.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      I am not sure what Erik did wrong in making this most Delicious Hollandaise sauce, but I just made it for my asparagus and It was just yummy. It was so easy, that now I can make it for my seafood omelets when I make them. When it came to the lemon, it was squirts from a fresh lemon, and I just squeezed until I got just the right flavor for me. No measuring. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      I made this in a double boiler, quick and easy! It came out creamy and perfect! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      I found it just a bit too lemony, but perhaps my lemon was large or overly juicy. A pinch of sugar made it a little less sharp. I also added some dried tarragon leaves which made a nice touch. The sauce was also thinner than I expected; perhaps I should have let it set?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quickie Hollandaise Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 968.3
     
    Calories from Fat 938
    96%
    Total Fat 104.3 g
    160%
    Saturated Fat 62.7 g
    313%
    Cholesterol 742.0 mg
    247%
    Sodium 1123.4 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites