15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very easy and creamy, a nice texture consistent with hollandaise. However, I personally hated the flavour- way too lemony, not rich enough for my personal taste. And my eggs were definitely at room temperature. I've made hollandaise the traditional way without any problems so not sure what the issue here is, I followed the recipe exactly. Mine did not get curdled or come out too thick or too thin at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodieBrowser May 30, 2012

I'm a holandaise lover and this recipe is SINFULLY DELICIOUS!! It's very creamy and has a nice lemony kick. Although, when it bacame too thick I added 1 TBS of hot water and that worked beautifully. This recipe is so simple and quite easy. Definitly a keeper! Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Breemend May 15, 2010

This was so easy....and delicious. It's almost hard to goof up. I did take the pan off the heat when I added the yolks. What a great find. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judyme April 18, 2010

This recipe was easy to make and tasted wonderful! I did not measure the lemon juice and kept adding more to taste (I like mine lemon-y). For Erik, I would suggest making sure the egg yolks are at room temperature. Mine were not, but I put the mixture back into th pan I had heated the butter, salt, and lemon juice in. It was a non-stick pan and it was still slightly hot. It helped to cook the yolks enough to thicken the sauce. The sauce also did get thicker after it sat for a few minutes. Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justharping March 10, 2010

I had never made a hollandaise sauce from scratch before. This was so simple and so yummy. No more packaged ones for me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingfor1 February 20, 2010

Very quick, very easy, and very flavorful. If I make it again I will definitely up the lemon juice, but we were very satisfied with this. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rob30316 November 26, 2009

I don't even feel right giving it a star rating as it curdled and did not blend in at all. I was very careful about the temp, perhaps its because I used a Le Creuset saucier pan and it retained too much heat but this was a total bust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan October 10, 2009

Very quick, very easy...even easier than the packaged sauce from the grocery store. If you like a little more kick from your sauce, add extra lemon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clb2n July 19, 2009

The trick to this sauce is to get the sauce right to the almost boiling point (small bubbles). You then add the egg yolks very quickly and it immediately cooks them. Make sure the butter/lemon isn't too hot or you'll scramble it...or if it isn't hot enough, it won't cook and will be very thin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mortinus April 13, 2009

I have made hollandaise sauce a total of three times in my life. This made #4. I always thought it was too much work. Now, having found this,I will make it often! Served with roasted asparagus!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom March 23, 2009
Quickie Hollandaise Sauce