167 Reviews

Quick AND easy! Tasted great, too! I added chocolate chips and made mini cakes (baked for 12 minutes), and they tasted like yummy chocolate-chip muffins. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whitneyinnz June 16, 2011

Chose this recipe because it looked quick and easy. Taste was not bad but..... it was VERY dry. It split in half horizontally down the entire cake, so on top of the dryness-induced crumbling, I wasn't able to cut a whole piece from the entire cake... this has never happened to me before with a cake. I see others have had this problem too, so maybe the suggested cooking time is too much? I'm not sure that it tasted good enough for me to try making again. but if you make it, err on the side of caution with the cooking time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paperklutz June 15, 2011

this is the quickest cake i'd ever made and so moist too. i used butter instead and turn out great. did a small cake and cupcakes with it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosamna83 May 08, 2011

I wanted an alternative to a box mix. Made this cake for my co-workers and they are giving rave reviews. I used organic sugar and home-made vanilla with chocolate frosting and it turned out well.
I left off 1 start b/c I didn't find it very moist and I like a moist cake but it is still very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenEyesCO May 06, 2011

I Made cup cakes and my Boys loved them thank you so much!:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candeemg February 19, 2011

So simple and better than cake mixes. You can actually say you made a cake from scratch. Just get the ingredients for this and have it on hand all the time. You won't need to buy a box ever again. I did sub the shortening for butter too like other reviewers because I don't use shortening in anything else so I didn't have that on hand. Very good base cake for your creations!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paagiela July 01, 2010

First from scratch cake for me. I really liked it, but it didn't puff up as much as a boxed one would. I think I had to take it out a little early because it was starting to brown too much. But I liked the way it tasted, I used Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes) for the frosting. It was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KinMa June 13, 2010

I tried this cake recipe today. The only change I made was to use margarine instead of shortening and a 9x5 loaf pan. Big mistake! It was cooking beautifully around the sides but taking for ever for the middle to cook. I finally left it in the oven after turning off the oven and about 10 mins later it was cooked through. It tasted a bit egg-y. I will use more vanilla next time, but that didn't bother me as much as the fact that didn't come out of the pan in one piece, but split down the center horizontally. Perhaps I removed it from the pan too soon. I will make this again using the right pan size and a bit more vanilla. Will wait till it cools before removing from pan. It has the makings of a great cake. Will rate when I make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy-O June 03, 2010

I had never made a homemade yellow cake before and am really glad I found this recipe! This yellow cake is easy and delicious. I didn't feel it tasted anything like a box yellow cake (and that's a good thing), but more like a bakery yellow cake. I substituted margarine for the shortening and that gave it a bit of yellow coloring. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hungrymama May 17, 2010

My husband has told me I'm not allowed to use a box mix anymore after making this recipe! The only mistake I made was overfilling my cupcake tins :(. I used butter instead of shortening. GREAT RECIPE! I didn't realize making a cake from scratch could be so easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa823 May 16, 2010
Quick Yellow Cake