Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Yellow Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Yellow Cake

    Average Rating:

    163 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 163

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2009

      This cake was good, but it tasted more like a poundcake than a traditional yellow cake. Not quite what I was expecting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      very nice cake. Not to "flour-y". I will make again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      This was OK, but I was also surprised that after all the glowing reviews I read, it turned out just OK. It was a little rubbery and just didn't taste the way I wanted it to. I will keep looking. But thanks anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      As advertised! Tasty and moist. I used butter, and baked it in two 8" circular cake pans, which it filled just right. About the same cooking time too. 2/03/2009 As an update, I doubled the recipe, and baked it in a bundt pan. It took almost an hour to bake. Still delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I have made this twice (in a week!) and this is a terrific recipe. I used all butter instead of shortening and 2 9" rounds rather than a 9x13. I baked them 27-30 minutes rather than the 35 called for. Next time I might double the recipe to increase the loft. I paired it with "Nana's Chocolate Frosting" # 31114 (which I also changed slightly). Very good, thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      I made a few adjustments. I added a stick of butter instead of shortening. I creamed the butter with sugar and then added the dry ingred, alternatley with the milk ending with the dry. I loved the texture of this cake. It was very delicious. I think i might have over baked it a little as the edges were crusty so I will bake it for maybe 30 min next time instead of 35. I rotated the pan half way thru its baking time also. The surface wasn't domed which I hate with box mixes. It is sooo much better than a box cake mix and better for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      I used the recipe to make 20 cupcakes. They baked for 20-22 minutes. This is OK.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Awesome!Delicious and so so quick!Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I'm reserving my rating until I make this again. 40 minutes baking was too long as it was very dry. Also, I turned it into a marble cake, using 2T cocoa and 2 T coffee to make half the batter chocolate. That was bland, needed much more cocoa. A 13 x 9 pan was way too big for the amount of batter. I used a Wilton pan, about 8 x 11 but it had a darker coating. This didn't work out well; the edges were very dry and dark. The cake was very easy to make but the results were not good. I'm going to try it as pineapple upside-down cake before I make my final determination. Thanks for posting. Perhaps I'll have better luck next time. And yes, I usually make cakes from scratch, and have done so for many years. But I'm always on the lookout for something good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      First time making from-scratch cake. This was very quick and easy to throw together. I halved the recipe and made some cupcakes to satisfy a pregnancy craving for yellow cake with chocolate frosting ;-). Got 11 cupcakes out of the batch. It was nice that I had all the ingredients on hand and didn't have to worry about the fact that I didn't have any butter in the house! Texture is great - very moist and soft (and the texture was still consistent the next day). Used chocolate frosting #83429 to frost these. Thanks for posting - they were exactly what I was looking for and definitely satisfied the craving. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Easy to make and had a great taste! Wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      I added a packages of pudding like I do to all cakes. It came out great. cooked really nice. slightly dry but I used butter because I didn't have any shortening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      This was great,I substituted butter and made a blackberry jello cake. It tasted like blackberry cobbler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out out okay. It was pretty dry and I even took it out early....? My husband thought it was good. I used Kittencals Choc. Buttercream Frosting and it was awesome!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      I made two cakes, one with light butter and the other with short. My toothpick came clean in exactly 26 min. in each cake. My first cake's bottom really stuck in the pan (but I was able to scrape it off in one piece and place it back on, so the second time I line with parchment paper, which didn't stick). Both were very fluffy, just like you'd think of an "old-fashioned" cake. I added about 3 drops of yellow extract and my cake was a natural yellow color. I used Chocolate Buttercream Frosting which I highly recommend, since it spread perfectly, leaving a nice finish (with a great chocolate flavor). This is a wonderful "all-purpose" cake that I'll be sure to make again! Thanks MizzNezz, for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Very good and moist! I made it for a pineapple upside down cake! And It came out amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      So so easy and a huge at the party it went to! I'm going to use this recipe for a wedding cake in November.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      I made this for dessert on the 4th of July and my son and his friends devoured the whole pan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      Wow! I was craving cake and didn't have time to make my usual two-layer Martha Stewart cake recipe, so I gave this a try. It was excellent! My only change was to use butter instead of shortening, which I always do. It was fast, easy, moist and delicious. I think it even gave my Martha cake a run for it's money! Thank you Mizz Nezz. : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      Thank you MizzNezz. Today I was in a rush and did not have time to spend in the kitchen. This certainly filled the bill and used it for strawberries. Do admit substituting half butter because as it stands I thought it might taste of shortening. Other than the above it certainly works and easy to change flavorings. Thanks again for the difference between store bought cookies and homemade dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Yellow Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.6
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    34%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 33.8 mg
    11%
    Sodium 307.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 22.3 g
    89%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites