166 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The cake was OK but I had expected more after all the glowing reviews. Kind of heavy and a little "rubbery". It was done in a jiffy and baked for exactly 35 minutes. Be sure to preheat the oven well in time since the cake is ready for the oven real quick! Pity the structure was not to our liking. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo March 17, 2007

Well, I tried it and it's great!! I made it for dinner at my Mom's house yesterday and there was barely a sliver left!! I made homemade cream cheese caramel frosting that I got from another recipe that was posted on this website. Wonderful combination! Went over great!! Very moist. Screw the box cakes, I've got this! Thanx for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ITRIEDIT March 29, 2004

This was too easy! I halved the recipe and it made 9 full cupcakes. The only ingredient I altered in the recipe was the milk. I used soy milk instead, as my son is allergic to cow's milk. The cupcakes turned out great. Thanks for a super simple, but great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gapeach March 13, 2004

I was in the mood for pineapple upside down cake, and this recipe was on the home page so I used it for the cake portion. Great pairing. This cake worked very well in that way - not too sweet and very moist. This got two thumbs up from everyone in my family.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tierney's Mom March 04, 2004

This is great and simple. Snuck a taste of the batter before baking it (a necessary step in the baking process haha) and was surprised that it tasted so much like the boxed cake mixes! But this is a lot better and a lot more rewarding than those are. I substituted margarine for the shortening b/c it's what I had and it turned out moist and tasty. A good recipe to have on hand. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
_Ally_ March 04, 2004

My son needed to make a cake for a school project. This turned out perfectly despite some errors in the order in which we added the ingredients. It turned out fluffy and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PistonsFan March 23, 2015

This makes a very mild and tender cake. Lightly sweetened and fluffy. I used it to make a pineapple upside down cake. I replaced 1/2 the milk with pineapple juice. It wasn't sweet enough or dense enough i for this, in my opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hrbps17 December 04, 2014

Very nice. Easy process and it made a huge cake. I accidentally botched the directions and added the eggs all at once and it baked up just fine. That cake layer on the top, that little film of golden yumminess, was extra tasty. Thank you! A!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TKN March 31, 2014

Very quick, very moist. Excellent with a good fudge frosting. Made it for my 2 year olds birthday. Only reason it is getting 4 stars is because the flavor was a bit mealy...not soft and sweet. It was a bit like a Moroccan cake, porous, and semolina tasting. A bit of grit, if you will, even though the actual consistency of the cake was fluffy and moist. This is purely a taste issue. I would make this again, just with different expectations. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel March 10, 2014

Made this for my son's birthday today. Quite the quick and easy recipe. And has a good flavor. I don't think the cake rose as much as a cake mix would have, and it was dry and lacked structure. I tried to follow the recipe exactly, but may have done something wrong, or perhaps my baking powder was limp. I did bake the cake for 35 minutes, next time I will only let it go 30 minutes, see if that helps the dryness. I topped the cake with Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing . All in all, I loved the ease and taste, and will make again. Thanks for sharing MizzNezz

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sloe cooker November 15, 2013
Quick Yellow Cake