Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Yellow Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Yellow Cake

    Average Rating:

    163 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 163

    Sort by:

    • on July 01, 2010

      So simple and better than cake mixes. You can actually say you made a cake from scratch. Just get the ingredients for this and have it on hand all the time. You won't need to buy a box ever again. I did sub the shortening for butter too like other reviewers because I don't use shortening in anything else so I didn't have that on hand. Very good base cake for your creations!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      First from scratch cake for me. I really liked it, but it didn't puff up as much as a boxed one would. I think I had to take it out a little early because it was starting to brown too much. But I liked the way it tasted, I used Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes) for the frosting. It was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      I tried this cake recipe today. The only change I made was to use margarine instead of shortening and a 9x5 loaf pan. Big mistake! It was cooking beautifully around the sides but taking for ever for the middle to cook. I finally left it in the oven after turning off the oven and about 10 mins later it was cooked through. It tasted a bit egg-y. I will use more vanilla next time, but that didn't bother me as much as the fact that didn't come out of the pan in one piece, but split down the center horizontally. Perhaps I removed it from the pan too soon. I will make this again using the right pan size and a bit more vanilla. Will wait till it cools before removing from pan. It has the makings of a great cake. Will rate when I make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      I had never made a homemade yellow cake before and am really glad I found this recipe! This yellow cake is easy and delicious. I didn't feel it tasted anything like a box yellow cake (and that's a good thing), but more like a bakery yellow cake. I substituted margarine for the shortening and that gave it a bit of yellow coloring. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      My husband has told me I'm not allowed to use a box mix anymore after making this recipe! The only mistake I made was overfilling my cupcake tins :(. I used butter instead of shortening. GREAT RECIPE! I didn't realize making a cake from scratch could be so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Perfect. I made this with canola oil instead of shortening and added some cinnamon. It was easy and quick to prepare and came out moist and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      This has turned out perfect everytime I take it out of the oven when I am supposed to!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Perfect cake recipe. Bakes wonderfully as cupcakes. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Great! Didn't take 5 minutes to put together, baked up beautifully (took a little longer.) was very easy to remove from the pan. Tastes great filled and topped with a milk chocolate ganache.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Delicious Cake! Doubled Recipe for larger pan. Filled with Strawberry Cream Filling. Very thick & dense- yet also very moist. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Great cake! Very moist, but baked a bit longer then 35 minutes, cause the top hadn't browned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Loved this recipe! Almost as easy as a box but without all those unnatural ingredients. I followed the recipe exactly but made cupcakes (baked between 20 and 25 minutes). Next time I will probably throw in a little more vanilla and may sub half of the shortening with butter... Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      I followed the recipe exactly and the cake tasted fair- It didnt rise correctly. I am going to try this again with fresh baking powder ( the date on mine is still good but you never know) Swan's Down Cake Flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I looked up so many recipes for a good yellow cake mix and this one was PERFECT! I didn't adjust a thing and it was quick, easy and the consistency made a delicious coconut cake. Everyone raved over it. I would definitely use this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      This cake was delicious. Next time I will use all butter. It was seriously easy to make :) Update: 12/16/09: Just made this again and another great result. :) Yay! I used butter and made cupcakes. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      This is a good cake recipe. I used it for cupcakes at DD;s birthday party. I frosted it with chocolate frosting. We will make these again. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Unfortunately this recipe did not work with the substitutions I had to make to accomodate for allergies, which is why I am not rating it. I have an order for yellow cupcakes - dairy free and egg free. I used rice milk instead of cows milk and my usual egg replacer instead of the eggs. I really wanted it to work, but I'll have to start from square one. This was the 2nd yellow recipe I tried, and BOTH resulted in a cupcake that sunk in the middle. The flavor, however, of this recipe was really nice. I did add some butter extract. I am looking forward to eating the "damaged" cupcakes, but they are not something I can serve. I will keep this recipe on hand for when I can make it "as-is"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Great basic cake with a few adjustments. I used Cake Flour instead of all purpose flour to ensure a moist cake. I thought the texture was a lot fluffier. Also, I used butter instead of shortening, with the suggestion of other reviewers, came out fine. Finally, I added an extra egg to help with the moisture and taste. Next time when I make it, I don't think I would frost it with butter cream, way to sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      Finally a yellow cake recipe that works!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Great cake. Instead of vanilla, I used 1 tsp orange extract & 1 tsp almond extract. For icing I used cool whip, 1 pkg vanilla pudding & crushed pineapple (undrained). GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Yellow Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.6
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    34%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 33.8 mg
    11%
    Sodium 307.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 22.3 g
    89%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites