168 Reviews

The cake was OK but I had expected more after all the glowing reviews. Kind of heavy and a little "rubbery". It was done in a jiffy and baked for exactly 35 minutes. Be sure to preheat the oven well in time since the cake is ready for the oven real quick! Pity the structure was not to our liking. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo March 17, 2007

Well, I tried it and it's great!! I made it for dinner at my Mom's house yesterday and there was barely a sliver left!! I made homemade cream cheese caramel frosting that I got from another recipe that was posted on this website. Wonderful combination! Went over great!! Very moist. Screw the box cakes, I've got this! Thanx for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ITRIEDIT March 29, 2004

This was too easy! I halved the recipe and it made 9 full cupcakes. The only ingredient I altered in the recipe was the milk. I used soy milk instead, as my son is allergic to cow's milk. The cupcakes turned out great. Thanks for a super simple, but great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gapeach March 13, 2004

I was in the mood for pineapple upside down cake, and this recipe was on the home page so I used it for the cake portion. Great pairing. This cake worked very well in that way - not too sweet and very moist. This got two thumbs up from everyone in my family.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tierney's Mom March 04, 2004

This is great and simple. Snuck a taste of the batter before baking it (a necessary step in the baking process haha) and was surprised that it tasted so much like the boxed cake mixes! But this is a lot better and a lot more rewarding than those are. I substituted margarine for the shortening b/c it's what I had and it turned out moist and tasty. A good recipe to have on hand. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
_Ally_ March 04, 2004

Great recipe. I used gluten-free, rice based flour, and while it was a tad bit crumbly that is often the case with gluten-free flours. Excellent flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foleysp August 24, 2015

Fast to mix, turned out perfectly. Icing went on beautiful with no crumbling. (Cake was still slightly warm when iced). Everyone loved it. My favourite part was the corner that got a wee bit crispy. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NataliaBC April 28, 2015

My son needed to make a cake for a school project. This turned out perfectly despite some errors in the order in which we added the ingredients. It turned out fluffy and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PistonsFan March 23, 2015

This makes a very mild and tender cake. Lightly sweetened and fluffy. I used it to make a pineapple upside down cake. I replaced 1/2 the milk with pineapple juice. It wasn't sweet enough or dense enough i for this, in my opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hrbps17 December 04, 2014

Very nice. Easy process and it made a huge cake. I accidentally botched the directions and added the eggs all at once and it baked up just fine. That cake layer on the top, that little film of golden yumminess, was extra tasty. Thank you! A!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TKN March 31, 2014
Quick Yellow Cake