15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I didn't add the cumin, vinegar or sugar and put a little extra red pepper. This recipe was very good, my family loved it. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
letuseat May 26, 2010

Super tasty, fresh chili recipe. I agree that the flavors had to be doctored up a bit though. I followed your recipe exactly, then added: an additional 2 tsp of chili powder, 2 tspp of ancho chili powder and about a tbsp. of cayenne pepper. The end result was delicious. Thanks for sharing a really healthy version of chili. Perfect for WW! and only 1 point per serving!!! Can't beat that!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyfrolly January 06, 2010

I'm also a personal cook. And this recipe fit the criteria for low fat, high fiber. I made a few adjustments to suit my client's needs.I made half the recipe, and left out the sugar and also vinegar, and substituted cannellini (white kidney beans)for the pinto beans, but did add red kidney beans also. I also added 1 cup of low sodium chicken stock, and used mexian stewed tomatoes. Added half a jalapeno, minced, and used some fresh salsa. I think this recipe lends itself well to playing around with it, but was a quick recipe that tasted delicious and was healthy! Loved the bright flavor that the fresh salsa adds to this dish! Thanks erin for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imatrad October 28, 2009

I have to second the confused recipe review, but expand on that at the same time. While it did end in a tasty meal, it took a little changing to get there. Starting with the original, we came out with a very bland sort of a chili soup that needed much more flavor. With a lot more chili powder, cumin, and a little cayenne, this had more of the flavor we were looking for. Overall, I'd say this is a good base that can be played with to meet your tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allisondicicco December 06, 2008

This is a confused recipe -- not red chili, not turkey white chili, and not light. But it was tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roy J May 06, 2008

Yum! I brought it to work and was asked for the recipe more than once. Only variation was omitting the vinegar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmkga January 22, 2008

This is a great recipe! I like to add additional bell peppers (orange and yellow) for the color. I also like to add black beans as well. This recipe can be stretched pretty easily just by adding more veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
colinj May 27, 2007

I've been wanting to make chili for a while now and didn't have much time today so decided to try this quick recipe. This was very easy to make and didn't take long at all. I didn't have peppers on hand, so I had to skip those. I used a little extra chili powder. I used crushed tomatoes instead of stewed, and black eyed peas and great northern beans instead of kidney (because kidney beans have sugar in them and I didn't want the sugar). I also used stevia instead of sugar. I served it with some shredded colby cheese on top and a dollop of reduced fat sour cream. Thanks for a quick and easy meal that tasted really good. My fiance really liked it too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharbysyd February 22, 2007

delicious! omitted the white vinegar and used some beer instead. used 1/2 rotel tomatoes and 1/2 stewed as recommmended by one of the reviewers. omitted pinto beans and just used kidney. couldn't open the salsa jar so i couldn't use that but expect it would make it even tastiers. served with corn fritters. really enjoyed and am eating it again for lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teriw November 28, 2006

This was a delicious version of chili and very healthy. The only changes I made was I used chunked turkey thigh meat, which I browned first with the spices (I added some ground oregano)and the onion, garlic and peppers. Then I simmered the meat for about half an hour in some chicken broth, just to cover, then added a 14 oz can of Rotel tomatoes and a 14 oz can of regular chopped tomatoes, adding the beans in the last half an hour. Altogether I think it simmer for about an hour or so. It really was delicious. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarieRynr February 19, 2005
Quick Turkey Chili