Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Tofu and Cashew Sour Cream (Vegan) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Tofu and Cashew Sour Cream (Vegan)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2011

      This worked great as a sour cream substitute in a pasta sauce I made. I used yellow onion instead of chives and halved the recipe, otherwise I made it as written. I can't say if it tastes good on its own but I'll still most certainly use it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      MMMM!! I'm already vegetarian and am really trying to be closer to vegan and watch what I eat so I can feel better and get in shape. I'm trying to trim out all those little fats that add up, dressings being a huge factor! I made this with walnuts instead of cashews because of the high cost of cashews. I can't wait to catch a good deal on cashews, though, because this is AWESOME, even without them! It also helps to fill you up. Other than the nut switch, I made as directed. I have used this on sandwiches in place of mayo/meat and am eating as we speak on a salad in place of dressing, which is even healthier than the cottage cheese I usually sub for dressing. I can't wait to try on a baked potato! I may toy with adding different spices (Italian, taco, etc) and using in even more! It does have a teeny bit of "tofu" flavor when eaten plain that may be slightly hard for people who fear tofu (as it just doesn't have that sharp, fatty richness), but when mixed with other ingredients that is masked completely. I used quite a bit in a potato salad at a barbeque with some "health food fearing" friends. I didn't tell them and they raved about the salad. Afterwards I told my "if I know what's in it I might not like it but otherwise I'll eat anything" boyfriend and he was surprised! Has kept about a week so far in my fridge and I've been experimenting putting it on everything. VERY good - I will make this often! THANKS for the keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Wow! Yum!! I was surprised by how well this worked as a sour cream substitute. Thanks so much for sharing!!! :O)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      Yummy! This is so nice and creamy. Since I didn't expect it to taste like the "real" thing, I was really pleased. I enjoyed it on a baked sweet potato. I will definitely make this again. Edited 10/8/07: I have been experimenting with this and have found that I like it with lime juice instead of lemon juice and that it is good if you add a pinch of nutritional yeast (but not too much). Thanks for posting this recipe. I have really been enjoying it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      I enjoyed this much better than other sour cream recipes and better than the expensive store bought. My sweetie wasn't convinced enough to eat it alone but I used it in naan and everyone raved about the naan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      This was fan-flipping-tastic! I'm working on becoming vegan and I have always loved dairy and was very skeptical. I was more than pleasantly surprised with this recipe. Although looking at it now, I forgot the lemon juice. I also didn't realize that I had onion salt instead of onion powder (of course I realized it after I put in the salt) so i used 1/2 tsp of onion salt and it was still very good (and I grew up not eating a lot of salt... I'm always accused of undersalting). So if you make that mistake, you'll still enjoy it. Thank you for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Wonderfully delicious and healthy: a great alternative to sour cream, particularly for anyone who is lactose intolerant. We enjoyed this - simply to try it, as I'd tagged it in 1-2-3 Hit Wonders - with bmcnicol's Crock Pot Baked Potatoes 259599 and a mushroom dish. The only changes I made were to add a clove of finely minced garlic and about 1/4 teaspoon of cumin. Thanks for sharing another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      I have tried every vegan sour cream recipe under the sun. This one, by far, is the best. I've made it 4 times in the past 2 weeks. Use it anywhere you would use sour cream. It's delicious. My daughter can't get enough of it! Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      Being dairy intolerant, dips and sauces have become extinct for me. I am attending a new years eve party in couple of days and want something to munch on. This is just great! I put some garlic and 1 tsp of suger in it and will use it as a dip for chips. I can't believe how easy and quick this was. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Tofu and Cashew Sour Cream (Vegan)

    Serving Size: 1 (24 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 20.0
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    41%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 234.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    raw cashew nuts

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes