14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Your flavourful delicious salad was my dinner tonight and I absolutely loved every spoon of it. I did not use even a pinch of salt in this because the flavour of the lemon juice seemed to be perfect on the taste buds and to me, salt was just not necessary. I did sprinkle some black pepper on top and mixed together all the ingredients. THANKS A ZILLION for an awesome simple QUICK salad!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani July 14, 2002

this was much better than i anticipated!all i changed was the addition of a little garlic salt, and white pepper. the flavors go very well together, and now i have one more recipe for tahini. we only get it in big jars here, and hummus doesnt take that much. thanks alot!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melany * November 22, 2002

I love chickpeas and this salad was delicious, quick and using foods that I always have on hand. Not a thing to change.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie May 21, 2003

YUM!! I used a 15.5 ounce can of beans and some fabulous cherry tomatoes fresh from the Farmer's Market (I had a ton so I used about 2 dozen... and then some!!) I added about 2 cloves of chopped garlic, sea salt, coarse pepper and a teaspoon or so of raw sesame seeds...I also used probably more than twice the suggested amount of lemon juice (I love lemon!!) So good , so easy and as promised - SO QUICK!!! Great recipe, loved it, Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free August 24, 2007

I made this for a portluck barbeque this weekend (I doubled the recipe). At first, I made the recipe exactly as posted, and then found that the tahini flavor was overpoweriing for me (I guess I don't like it as much as I thought!). So I made some changes: added 1 choppped cucmber, fresh parsley, green onions, and LOTS more lemon juice. The result was quite nice, it was well received at the barbeque. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne June 16, 2003

I can see how tahini is almost an acquired taste. But I acquired it before making this recipe. (I used to be a tahini hater) This is yummy for chickpeas which I haven't liked in salads. DD1 (4 years old) liked it too. I used nice plum tomatoes, a better tahini than some but not the best, sea salt and the freshly squeezed lemon juice. No additional seasoning. I want to try it out on DH sometime and update.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat June 16, 2012

I didn't find this to be particularly good. The same ingredients go well in hummus, but that's cooked. I tried adding pepper flakes and garlic and such to give it some flavour, but it was overall very uninteresting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoName12345 January 26, 2010

I made this last night to go with the Moroccan chicken recipe on the homepage. It was ok, but I added some cumin and some red pepper flakes... My husband liked it, I didn't. Today I tried it warmed and it was much better. I also think it needs some fresh herbs... parsley would probably be good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adopt-a-pet January 05, 2010

After reading all the great reviews on this salad, I had to make it. I love chickpeas, tahini, tomatoes and the taste of lemons. But to be honest, it looked terrible when stirring it as the tahini does not mix well. It didnt taste too bad (I added garlic and cumin), but noticed that after it sat in the fridge for a while, it went all watery on the bottom and looked even worse! Recipe wouldve been better omitting the tahini and using plain olive olive oil instead. Sorry but I had to be honest here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delilaah in Nanaimo, British Columbia July 22, 2009

Awesome, simple, quick, healthy and yummy. The blend of flavors rocks. I just made it for a side-dish tonight, but whatever is left tomorrow is going on a pita as my lunch. I only had 2 tomatoes, and it's still fine. I did add a little cumin because this recipe is versatile that way. Next time maybe a little garlic. Oh, the possibilities.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie, Cooking June 15, 2009
Quick Tahini Salad