Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Spanish Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Spanish Rice

    Average Rating:

    215 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 215

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2002

      This was very easy and very delicious. I also made "Salsa Chicken" (#27475), sliced it, and fanned it over the top. Tonight with the leftovers I will make burritos. I'll bet there's a delicious soup waiting to happen in there too. Oh, how I love meals that turn into other meals. I will use this recipe from now on, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      This was a fantastic rice recipe!! I didn't have stewed tomatoes on hand - so I used diced and it worked out great. I increased the chicken broth by 1/4 cup - to make up for the stewed tomatoes. My rice was cooked in 20 minutes. I tossed it with the grated cheddar cheese and placed it on a platter and sprinkled it with the green onions. WONDERFUL!!! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2002

      I sauted some green onions in the butter and then browned the rice some before I added the other ingredients. I used diced tomatoes with green chilies and cut the chili powder to 1 tsp. I also used a little less cumin and oregano than the recipe called for. But all in all, a very easy and tasty recipe for Spanish rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2003

      Yummy! Much better than the boxed "Spainish Rice" you buy in the store. The chunks of tomato might not settle well with those who aren't huge tomato fans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2002

      Very tasty and easy! I also added cumin as well as a small can of diced green chiles. The water had cooked away after 25 minutes but the rice was still a bit crunchy and underdone so I stirred in a half cup water and cooked for another 10 minutes. Maybe my heat was too high. Still, an excellent and easy recipe for a yummy side dish! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2002

      So good and so easy! My husband loved it also. From now on, I'm never making spanish rice out of a box. I added a teaspoon of cumin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2003

      This was great! I found that the rice cooked perfectly as directed (I used basmati rice). It was both quick and easy to prepare. I did up the seasoning just slightly, and added some chopped jalapeno to the rice for an added kick (it didn't turn out too spicy, but just right!) I would definitely make this again! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2003

      Excellent tasting rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2002

      Thank you for giving my husband the "best rice he's ever tasted!" I used tomatoes with green chiles added and it came out great. Again thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      December 17, 2007: Fabulous recipe. I blended the tomatoes as suggested and followed the recipe as written otherwise. I gave a big scoop of this to my Dad who always skips the Spanish rice and he ate the entire thing, raving about how good it was the entire time. Even the babies loved this rice as it is not hugely spicy. Easy and delicious means this recipe will become a regular in our family! November 8, 2010: I have tried other Quick Spanish Rice recipes but NONE as good as this one and it continues to be my "go to" recipe for Spanish Rice. I now start with 1 tablespoon of butter and 1 tablespoon of oil and saute the rice first which
      keeps the grains separate and prevents the rice from sticking to the pan. Then add the rest of the ingredients and follow the directions. Try this rice.... you'll love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2003

      I loved this because there are no onions to chop, and it makes a generous amount. Once the cooking time was up, I left it alone (covered) on the stove and didn't bother it until I served dinner - just stirred once to put it in the serving dish. I think that made it fluffier! Great side dish for our taco dinner - tasty and not overpowering. And leftovers will be delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      This is by far the best rice I've ever made. However, I did toast the rice in the butter before adding the rest of the ingredients. I was out of oregano, so of course I had to leave that out. Still, It was fantastic!

      Thanks Sharlene~W!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      What a surprisingly amazing recipe! Made it as an accompaniment to a Mexican chicken dish (Mexican Chicken "parmesan" (Minus the Parmesan)). I left out the butter and added carrots and beans. The cumin does make a huge difference. Thanks for the amazing recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      Really liked this recipe. I used brown rice & canned crushed tomatoes instead of stewed. I also added some cumin as well as a small can of diced green chiles after all was complete, I thought it needed a little "more punch". So much better than the boxed variety. You're also able to manage the sodium which is a plus. FYI- This makes a lot! Thanks for sharing, we'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2003

      This was very easy! I did everything the way the recipe said, except I added about 3/4 cup of frozen peas and diced carrots. I really like that you just put it all in one pot at the same time and let it cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      Quick, easy and most importantly DELICIOUS! I halved the recipe but did not change a thing! Thanks Sharlene!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      Very easy to make. Was in a hurry to find something that required little chopping to go along with my chiles rellenos. It did need a little more seasoning and was a tad bit dry. The chopped green onions and cheese (we used monterey jack) definitely improved the flavor. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      This was very easy to make and the flavours all came out in the rice individually, but worked together so well. I left this with the lid on the pan so the rice came out in a creamy consistency.

      Will definitely be making this again, especially when the money is tight - the ingredients are basic pantry items! Yay!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      I did not like the oregano in this at all. Ruined the whole dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2011

      This turned out ok. It was very thick. I used japanese rice and brown rice mixed together. The rice didn't cook through and it was just not what I was looking for. I'm sure the mistakes were my fault. I was also trying to make a large amount, so I probably didn't add enough liquid. Maybe I'll try it again in a smaller batch and see how it turns out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Spanish Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 157.1
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    13%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 5.1 mg
    1%
    Sodium 215.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites