Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Sour Cream Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on August 11, 2009

      This recipe was the first one that I tried from Joy of Cooking book. After hearing people praising the book, my expectations were very high, I guess. I agree with Aunt Cookie. It did take 55 mins for me to bake this cake. I even raised the temp. to 375 in the middle. It was moist and good, considering the time that I spent to prepare(5 mins!), but it was less sweet than I thought it should and smelled like an egg(I should've known when recipe called for two eggs and no vanilla extract..). Next time I will try with more sugar and 1t of vanilla extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      Seriously EASY. Seriously DELICIOUS. I used plain Greek yoghurt instead of sour cream. More protein that way! I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all-purpose flour. And I doubled the streusel topping! YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      Tis was a good recipe. I have company coming today, coffe cake sounded perfect, but i didnt want just a plain square coffee cake in the pan so i used a greased round pan and put the topping in the bottom, when it was done i inverted it onto my cake plate and sprinkled with powdered sugar, Perfect!!! thank you for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2014

      I like this coffee cake because it uses so little butter, and it is simply delicious!<br/>Ernestine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2014

      Quick, easy, and delicious. Perfect for whipping up on a Sunday morning. I added vanilla extract and 1 1/2 cups frozen berries (blueberry, raspberry, and blackberry blend). I also cut out some of the sugar (maybe half). Turned out fantastic!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      what a fantastic coffee cake! My family loves it and I love it because it's so quick. I baked it in a 9x12 glass pan and it came out perfect! <br/><br/>I also doubled the recipe (tripled the streusel!!) and placed it in my big size Pyrex. I also used 1/2 white 1/2 brown sugar & a bit of vanilla in the cake to give it a little ooomph. YUMMMM<br/><br/>edited 04/04/13: Used 1 cup of plain, non-fat Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. WOW! Light & fluffy cake!! I will do this every time from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      Wow! Loved this recipe! I was a little short on sour cream so used a little less than 1/4 cup of vanilla yogurt to make up the difference. Baked in 4 cupcake tins and a pyrex dish...I over filled and they oozed out the top, but were still delish! Can't wait to taste this recipe when it's done right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

    • on January 18, 2011

      Loved this coffee cake! It was easy and delicious. When I was looking for a plain cinnamon coffee cake, I was appalled at the amount of butter in most recipes! Don't get me wrong, I love me some butter, but I wanted and everyday sort of coffee cake, not a special occasion one. This one really fit the bill. I will admit like to making 1 1/2 times the topping : ) 'cause I'm like that. and it is a coffee cake I wouldn't hesitate to serve to guests. I would like to try it with light sour cream and see how that goes; has anybody tried that? Anyway, this is best eaten in the first couple of days as it gets kind of chewy after that though the flavor is still good. Thanks, pattikay, for a recipe I will be using again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      One of my favorite cakes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      This was great! Came together quickly, I loved the fact that there was no butter in the batter, and it was perfect for breakfast or a snack. I doubled the streusel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      So my cake might not be as pretty as the others but I'm sure it tasted just as wonderful!! ;) I love this cake. I can't wait to make it again. I never have a lot of butter (or real butter for that matter) so this was perfect. I always have fat free sour cream. I used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour bc I ran out of white and added walnuts to the topping. I'll be making this again and I'd like to try splenda for baking instead of sugar. I hope it tastes just as good I know the smell of the cinnamon will still be heavenly. I'm making myself hungry...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      After seeing Ernestine the 1st's photo of this, I knew I had to make it.So make it I did, on 10/14/08. It was so quick to make, just like the title of the recipe says.The recipe was made as written and I even topped the streusel with a few chopped pecans.You weren't kidding about the texture being wonderful while warm. But I did have to do a "quality taste test " on a piece of the cake at room temp.to see if was as good, and it was .This will be made again. Thanks for posting and, "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      I spoil my family with baked goodies on Sunday mornings! I found this recipe when I hadn't prepared anything in advance and it WAS quick and delicious! I mixed everything together by hand and loved the consistency. Like another reviewer, I added vanilla to the batter as well. A great recipe!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      This was really simple which is a plus for me-I hate making cakes and become quite lost in the kitchen!! It's nice and moist, I used the nuts and for any Aussies, it worked fine with just self-raising flour (no baking powder and soda).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      Made for March, 2008 Aussie/NZ Swap. Followed the recipe exactly and ended up with a moist, delicious coffee cake that you can make in a snap. Thanks for another great recipe, pattikay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      Made this exactly as written except I just added about 1 tsp. of vanilla to the batter and no nuts. I am basing my review on the comments I received from the family I made it for. I made this little cake for my good friend and neighbor who had some minor surgery and thought I would send this over to help her out. Her family said it moist and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      This was a GREAT quick coffee cake! In the cake: I used whole wheat flour, 3/4 cup Splenda granular and 2T of Splenda brown sugar blend. In the streusel: I used 2T Splenda brown sugar blend and pecan chips. This rose very nicely and was soft with a mild coffee cake flavor. I would have preferred double the streusel but then I can never get enough of it. Made for the Please Review game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      This was excellent! Very moist and it was eatten in less than a day by my Thanksgiving guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      This was great and nearly all gone despite DH turning off the electricity while it was in the oven - so it needed a bit of extra time and I covered the top with foil so it did not burn. I returned from the gym to find only 1/2 a cake - consumed straight from the tin by DD and her friends so success all round - thanks pattikay in L.A.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Sour Cream Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (873 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2555.6
     
    Calories from Fat 719
    28%
    Total Fat 79.9 g
    122%
    Saturated Fat 44.5 g
    222%
    Cholesterol 552.6 mg
    184%
    Sodium 2472.4 mg
    103%
    Total Carbohydrate 428.5 g
    142%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 271.4 g
    1085%
    Protein 38.6 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes