Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick, Soft, Sexy Grits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick, Soft, Sexy Grits

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2013

      There are everyday grits and there are party grits. These are party grits. I've made this recipe dozens of times over the last five years. Friends and family request them for gatherings. I've doubled and tripled the recipe and they always come out delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      My bf and I were reading this recipe and he said (in a Barry White voiice): "Warning: these grits are so sexy you might find yourself not wearing any clothes by the time they're done." This recipe is very good. We were having breakfast with children so we decided to play it safe and use half the garlic (no getting naked in the kitchen when children are present ;D). I was also out of chicken stock so I subbed it with water. I will make it again using all the ingredients. Super yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Nice!!! mild and delicious flavor. Made it for breakfast today. The cream gave it a buttery taste. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I've lived in GA my whole life, and come from a long line of southerns and I'm ashamed to say I'd been taking grits for granted. Just a southern staple I'd never thought much about until I started experimenting with polenta. As a result, I'd cooked grits in broth before, and I'd tried cream (half and half, actually) but never both together. Made just as written except that I didn't have Tobasco so I used Tapatio. I actually didn't care for the flavor so would either use Tobasco or leave it out next time. The silky texture of these grit s were awesome though. I know bacon, onions and/or cheese would all be excellent but I just couldn't bring myself to add any. The cream already made it seem indulgent. Thanks for sharing and giving me a whole new appreciation for grits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Made this for a quick supper and wasn't sure how it would taste...I make the traditional recipe, but not well so I needed something different. This turned out to be really good. It got a big nod from dh and ds. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      Delicious! Quite a change from, dessert grits I am used to, but a great dish. I added a bit of parmesan to it which really made it yummy. Other than that I followed directions exactly after changing serving size to 1. Had for breakfast, but would be a great side at dinner too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      This is a brilliant idea. I've had and made grits all kinds of ways, but never had added cream. Truth be told, I've never thought I could a afford real cream for any kind cooking till recently; now you can buy it in tiny little one-cup portions that last seemingly forever in your fridge. Use just half of it in this dish and you'll be able to make it twice! The impact of this ingredient on this dish is simply amazing for its consistency and mouth-feel. I wait to add it till the grits are almost finished cooking. This--with the garlic--is wonderful as a side. Some may wish to omit the garlic--maybe even replace the broth with plain old water--for breakfast grits...or brush twice afterwards. ;D Toss in a cup of your favorite cheese just before serving for you quesomaniacs. Scallions, maybe? Excellent recipe, NcMS. TYVM! My grits have never been better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      Having grown up in the south, I have eaten grits all my life. I don't believe that I have ever had grits cooked in broth until now. I reduced the recipe to serve 2, used chicken broth and in place of the heavy cream, I used water mixed with an extra measure of powdered milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      This is so good, just the perfect amount of garlic.My family loved it I think I could eat the whole bowlful. I will be making this again, thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick, Soft, Sexy Grits

    Serving Size: 1 (382 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 622.6
     
    Calories from Fat 364
    58%
    Total Fat 40.5 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 23.9 g
    119%
    Cholesterol 136.2 mg
    45%
    Sodium 375.1 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites