Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Soft Breadsticks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Soft Breadsticks

    Average Rating:

    134 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 134

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2013

      Coming home on this rainy day, I knew it would be a soup and homemade bread sort of night. However, I didn't have the 5 hours it takes to make my favorite bread recipe. These were a great substitute. I took one star off, not for taste or texture, but because if I didn't have bread baking experience, the directions probably would not have been enough. I proofed the yeast in the water and sugar until foamy. I then added the oil (evoo), flour and salt mixture. I kneaded it the Kitchen Aid for about 5 minutes. The taste and texture were wonderful and I will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2013

      I am a bread addict, so I was excited to try this recipe. I have made these breadsticks twice now. I proofed the yeast and mixed the dough with my kitchen aid. The dough looked and felt perfect. Once baked, they look good too. But, they did not meet my taste expectations. The 1st batch was dense. The 2nd time around, they turned out ok, but are not what I was hoping they would be. When I think breadsticks, I think Olive Garden or Pizza Hut. The texture just isn't the same with these. They aren't as soft and flaky. They are bland too. Even with butter and garlic. I wanted to love this recipe, but it fell flat for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      The flavor and texture of these breadsticks is excellent. I don't buy bread flour so substituted 3 cups all-purpose flour and 3 tablespoons vital wheat gluten for the 3 cups of bread flour. I added about 2 tablespoons more flour while kneading the dough in my stand mixer because it was a little too sticky. I got 18 breadsticks, about 44 grams each, out of each batch of dough. I served the breadsticks with olive oil dipping sauce with garlic and herbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      Geez I hate to be the bad guy here, but I followed this recipe exactly, including the use of the correct flour. I had to add almost a full extra cup of flour because the dough was like soup. I realize climate can affect this, so that was ok. Once made however, I found these breadsticks to be very dry and bland. I make a lot of my own breads and this just didn't match up. I gave it 1 star, my Dad gave it 2.5, so I gave this a 2. I would rather take the time to make real bread than make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      Love them! Quick and easy! The dough was so easy to roll out. This will be used often, for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      Great recipe! Dough is soft and easy to work. My granddaughter and I made breadsticks and pepperoni rolls and they turned out great! Thanks for a great, easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      Great recipe! My kids RAVED about these, and I will definitely make them again. I did knead mine in my Kitchenaid for a few minutes, mainly because the dough seemed too sticky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      These are excellent bread sticks. Easy to make and quick! I've made them at least a dozen times, they take 21 minutes in my oven, when they are done, I brush them with 1/2 cup of melted butter, then sprinkle generously with garlic salt and Parmesan cheese. My kids claim they are better than Pizza Hut and Little Caesar's bread sticks and are a must have when we have pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      These turned out so soft, light and tender and so much like Olive Garden's breadsticks that I love. Not sure why mine took so long to rise. But when they did...boy are they good. After baking, I brushed them with olive oil and sprinkled garlic powder on them...So good. I can't make these a lot because I will eat them all up. LOL.. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2011

      I made these tonight to go with a crockpot ratatouille and they were wonderful! I had made them before but had forgotten about them, then looking for somehting to dip inthe juices i refound this recipe and knew i HAD to make them! I love these!!! I made them with all white AP flour last time, but this time i made with half AP and half whole wheat and they were still so soft and fluffy... tho the 2 hour rise could have helped there, wheat flour needs time to soften! Still faster than most of my bread recipes lol.
      I baked them at 400, and brushed with olive oil and garlic powder after baking. i think i used teaspoons instead of tablespoons on the sugar (using white) but they browned nicely and had a crisp bottom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      Excellent and so easy!! This recipe is going into my best of the best cookbook file. I put the dry ingredients into my Kitchenaid mixer (with the yeast on top), then added the oil to the side and poured the warm water directly over the yeast. I don't know if that makes a difference but it worked for me. Then used the dough hook on the mixer and "kneaded" the dough for about 5 minutes. These breadsticks are wonderful and I will be making them again and again. So easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      Great recipe! I make mine by hand and brush with olive oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      Really easy and tasty. Made just as written in mixer, rolled out, let rise for 20 minutes, brushed with butter & sprinkled with garlic salt. Super yummy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      Wonderful recipe!! First time I've ever attempted breadsticks and they were a huge hit at our playgroup party (moms and kids loved them!). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      We loved these breadsticks! They were extremely easy to prepare and were soft and tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      This is a great recipe! I cook for a sorority and this is fast, easy to double the recipe and the girls love these bread sticks. I also make croutons out of them, if there are any left!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      This recipe is delicious. I was craving breadsticks this evening, and I was able to eat them within the hour! I used 1 c. whole wheat flour, 2 c. bread flour, and a little extra water. I'll be making these again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      Oh yes...these are most excellent....I will make these often....Thank you so much for your recipe......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      I really have minimal experience with yeast breads and doughs, so I was a little nervous with these. I mixed the dough in my Kitchenaid. I followed the lead of another reviewer and first proofed the yeast, brown sugar, and water. I used 2 cups AP flour, and 1 cup white whole wheat. I did have to add extra flour, and still needed to knead in flour because the dough was just too wet and tacky. That probably made me more nervous, but you know what? They turned out perfect! They were so soft and tender!! I will definitely be making these again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      This is the first time I have ever made any kind of dough. Seriously. And these were so easy to make and so delicious!! I am addicted. And even better, my husband loves them too!! Thank you so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Soft Breadsticks

    Serving Size: 1 (723 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.1
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    26%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 130.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes