138 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice breadsticks! I definately recommend proofing the yeast before mixing in with the dry ingredients. While rising, I lightly brushed 1/2 of the breadsticks with the following mixture: melted butter, garlic powder and parmesan cheese. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papaya1703 November 16, 2010

Another rave review for a terrific recipe. For the amount of effort required - really, no more than making biscuits - the end result was amazing. I've already started thinking about other possible toppings for the breadsticks, such as sesame seeds, Penzey's Brady Street Cheese Sprinkle, or even cinnamon sugar. I'm sure I'll be making this recipe again and again to try them all. Thanks for a gread addition to my "quick" breads recipe collection.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakingfool May 12, 2010

This is the best bread stick recipe. Remembered I had copied it an hour before supper and since it only takes 20 min. to rise it was ready to bake when the spaghetti was almost finished. They are so soft, just the way I like them. My husband says they are as good as the Italian restaurant's we go to. I Mixed with my kitchen aide mixer until the dough was stretchy and it worked up perfectly. Thanks for a real keeper one I will use often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollymuffin April 08, 2010

These turned out fantastic! So easy and quick to make. I cut my "sticks" in half and ended up with 24 "mini sticks" this recipe is a keeper thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyWeim August 23, 2007

I loved these bread sticks, as did my husband. They were exactly as desribed, SO soft and tender.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danlynclark November 14, 2003

I made these for dinner and everyone loved them! They were fast to make and quick to disappear! Thanks for posting this one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LiisaN October 26, 2003

This is an excellent recipe! I used this for breadsticks last night and pizza dough tonight. The recipe is perfect, but I cut it down to just 1tbsp of brown sugar, because I like my bread salt and savory and the yeast doesn't really need all that sugar to rise. This is my go to, I even wrote it in my cookbook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 01, 2015

My family loved them... I used 2 cups whole wheat flour. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW March 03, 2015

Excellent recipe. These are so easy to make and the dough is easy to work with. I highly recommend this recipe especially when you are in a hurry! I use all purpose flour when I don't have bread flour and they turn out just fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbug81 February 11, 2015

Fantastic recipe, produces great results every time. Everyone whose eaten them has raved about them. I did make a few changes which expands the time, not making them as quick but I have the time. I knead the dough appox. 5 minutes in my mixer with the break hook once all the ingredients are mixed. I turn it out the dough ball into a greased bowl and let rise for an hour. If the kitchen is cold, I start my oven and turn it off when it warms up, then let it rise in the warm oven. After the 1 hour rise, I pull the pan out of the oven dump the dough on the counter top and handle as per the recipe. Once I get the sticks cut and placed on a cookie sheet I lightly spray the tops with oil, cover with plastic wrap and put them in the warmest part of the kitchen. I let rise another 30 minutes while the over heats 375. they turn into soft pillows of deliciousness. Outstanding recipe "LoveBakedIn".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdsplace_6909720 December 25, 2014
Quick Soft Breadsticks