144 Reviews

Very nice breadsticks! I definately recommend proofing the yeast before mixing in with the dry ingredients. While rising, I lightly brushed 1/2 of the breadsticks with the following mixture: melted butter, garlic powder and parmesan cheese. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papaya1703 November 16, 2010

Another rave review for a terrific recipe. For the amount of effort required - really, no more than making biscuits - the end result was amazing. I've already started thinking about other possible toppings for the breadsticks, such as sesame seeds, Penzey's Brady Street Cheese Sprinkle, or even cinnamon sugar. I'm sure I'll be making this recipe again and again to try them all. Thanks for a gread addition to my "quick" breads recipe collection.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakingfool May 12, 2010

This is the best bread stick recipe. Remembered I had copied it an hour before supper and since it only takes 20 min. to rise it was ready to bake when the spaghetti was almost finished. They are so soft, just the way I like them. My husband says they are as good as the Italian restaurant's we go to. I Mixed with my kitchen aide mixer until the dough was stretchy and it worked up perfectly. Thanks for a real keeper one I will use often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollymuffin April 08, 2010

These turned out fantastic! So easy and quick to make. I cut my "sticks" in half and ended up with 24 "mini sticks" this recipe is a keeper thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyWeim August 23, 2007

I loved these bread sticks, as did my husband. They were exactly as desribed, SO soft and tender.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danlynclark November 14, 2003

I made these for dinner and everyone loved them! They were fast to make and quick to disappear! Thanks for posting this one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LiisaN October 26, 2003

I have been trying different recipes of breadsticks and this one is the best and yummiest. My two 5 and 7 boys just love it so much. I made it twice and it never failed me. I added different ingredients on top and even stuffed it with cheese, Thyme and hotdogs. You just need to be creative! Thank you so much for sharing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yaqut H. July 24, 2016

overall tasty breadsticks that we enjoyed and i'll likely make again. i docked a star for two reasons: 1. i'm still on the hunt for a squishy, chewy breadstick, for lack of a better term. something with a really thin & not crisp outer shell and stretchy chewy insides. (like the bread part of pizza hut garlic knots without all the sticky glop they put on them!) again, these were really good (even cold out of the fridge the next day!) just not quite what i was expecting. they were still nice and soft inside and not too dense. but do not skip the topping - i tried one without just to check doneness & it was really bland, despite adding a teaspoon of garlic powder and a teaspoon of italian seasoning to the dough as some others suggested. the topping totally transforms them imho. 2. this is not a "good recipe" in the strictest sense because it lacks instructions. listing ingredients and then saying essentially "now make it" is not a recipe. the directions for the yield are also a bit wonky. if you cut a 12" rectangle into 3/4" strips, you will get 16, not 18. (this is a quibble, but...come on, math.) i did end up with 18 breadsticks, but this is because after i rolled out my rectangle, i cut the whole thing in half across (use a pizza wheel!), and then cut it into 9 "half" strips - think cheesy bread size. managed to fit them all onto a half sheet pan. anyway, thanks to the other reviewers & my limited experience with yeast, i was able to work out the other steps for making the dough by hand, included below. even for a novice like me these were easy & forgiving so i encourage others to try them. i combined one packet of yeast (which is 2 1/4t even though the recipe calls for 2 1/2t - all i had & it still rose beautifully) with the brown sugar & warm water, left it to proof for ten minutes. then i added 3 cups of AP flour, salt, & seasonings and mixed with a rubber spatula, then stirred in the oil (i used half olive & have veg). the dough forms immediately. i dumped it out onto the floured counter and kneaded for a few minutes, then put it back into the bowl which i had oiled. left it to rise for an hour (it got huge!), then punched it down, rolled it out, cut it into sticks & put those on a foiled baking sheet sprayed with pam, and let them rise again for another 30-60mins. baked for 20mins at 375. (note that you aren't looking for them to brown.) i did a double rise because i saw that in some reviews and several other recipes, people seemed to favor it and also mostly because it was hot as hell in my kitchen yesterday and i wanted to make these earlier in the day and then hop in the shower before dinner! we had them with steak tips and a green salad. (i put a handful in a foil packet on the table so they stayed warm, and we devoured them, and my partner repeatedly said how good they were and wanted to know how i made them!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hobag, M. July 06, 2016

LOVE THIS RECIPE! I just made some slight changes and boy did it make a difference. First, I warmed my water to 113 f and then added the yeast and the brown sugar to the water. I only used 2 tablespoons sugar and this was good enough for me. I let the yeast and water sit for about 8 minutes then added it to my flour mixture. I then added my melted butter instead of oil and added a sprinkle of garlic powder into the flour mix. WOW, I'm not sure if the substitute of butter made the difference, but after making this multiple times but this time using butter instead of the oil, my bread came out soft, chewy and oh so flavorful. Even when I was kneading my dough, I noticed a difference in texture versus using the oil. The butter dough was soft and moist, the dough made with oil was more dense and hard. I will definitely make this again using butter for that perfect, chewy breadstick! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmartin1022 January 29, 2016

I made this tonight and it was delicious. I baked half with nothing just buttered them when they came out of the oven and the other half I put shredded cheese on them before I baked them(I used Kraft shredded cheese from the freezer) Wow..they were delicious...Thanks for the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tanstacey November 04, 2015
Quick Soft Breadsticks