9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for lunch for my family as we didn't have any boxed mac n cheese...I used about half the onion because I read that the onion was too strong. My dad loves it! ****

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrstylynn August 14, 2008

The first time I made this dish, I felt the onion was overpowering, and I'm a serious onion lover. I made it again for DD, leaving out the onion and doubling the roux, but cutting back on the cheese, that made it just right for us. Thanks Raspberry for a great idea. Made for Cookbook Tag, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup August 02, 2008

This is really good. I've always used Kraft Easy Melt Cheese to make quick stovetop mac & cheese, but I can't find it any more. This was very good. I'll most definitely make it again. Thanks Raspberry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft August 18, 2007

thanks this was really tasty, I halved it and I used the substitute for heavy cream that recipezaar lists and it came out good. Will add some chopped broccoli to the onions next time

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sakeenah August 07, 2007

This was a good quick mac and cheese dinner. I had to add about another 1/2 cup of cream to the sauce and it was still really thick and cheesey. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 July 09, 2007

This was so easy to make and infinitely better than the boxed mac&cheese! I used mini penne instead of elbows and mild cheddar. I also used fat free milk instead of the cream, mostly to see if I could but also because I didn't have a chance to go to the store. It actually turned out well, although my dish probably wasn't as rich and creamy as everyone else's. But that made a significant dent in the calorie and fat counts, which means I will be able to make this more often. I think I would agree with the previous reviewer who mentioned that more cream than was called for is needed. I only used 1 cup this time, but I might increase that next time. I will likely also cut back the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp. and hopefully use a sharper cheddar. Thanks so much for posting this simple comfort dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksduffster July 08, 2007

Lovely, tasty and very easy to make. Its so much better than the boxed stuff and certainly healthier! But the next time I'll add two cloves of garlic and cook the onion for 3 minutes longer cause it wasn't soft enough. I used light cream 2% fat and the result was still so tasty. Thanks so much for posting. Made it for ZWT 3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia July 06, 2007

I doubled the recipe and it worked out just fine! A little less onions, cuz I have one who doesn't like them. I didn't put in oven, cuz I didn't want to heat house, but still was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 July 05, 2007

i actally needed alot more cream for this recipe, the original 3/4 c barely made sauce- i wound up using over 2 cups of light cream in addition and the sauce was still thick. i added a few drops of hot sauce for our tastes and it was thick and cheesy, very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia April 22, 2007
Quick Skillet Macaroni and Cheese